Iberostar Bella Costa

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    W

    I would never go back to this resort. It needs serious upgrades.

    Reviewed by WEN68 on Mar 26, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    Upon arrival we were given no information or map. I would have expected more from a Westjet destination. The rooms were a disgrace, from mold, broken furniture and toilet, pelling paint on the tub. The beach was very nice, but not even close to enough chairs for patrons, activities were a night show only, internet connection took 4 days to get an access card. Food was average. Most complained and had their rooms changed.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    M

    Garbage

    Reviewed by Mister Tobin on Jan 04, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    What a huge piece of junk. Absolutely garbage, A Home Depot Nightmare. Broken elevator, broken full pool liner, broken door slammers- all night people mistakenly slamming doors and waking the guests due to broken door pressure closers. Broken kitchen exhaust, the entire buffet was always smoggy and smelly due to the hanging fog. Broken toaster. Broken patio door locks, broken tiles, all broken exit doors. On the last day our bathroom flooded from the ceiling. The gym had three leaks and both treadmills, the rowing machine were broken. The universal weight machine had the main bar 'tied' not fastened to the machine. Broken walls everywhere. All balcony planters were broken and really just ash trays. Not three square feet in the building that was not damaged in someway. The entire property should be leveled. The food was terrible almost always. ** People were great!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    C

    GO ELSEWHERE!!!

    Reviewed by Cher on May 23, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2016

    Trip Type: Friends

    My sister & I were very much looking forward to our 4 day vacation in Veradero. The 'transfer' situation from the airport to the hotel was deplorable, & we didn't arrive at the resort 'til 4pm, but should have arrived at 2PM. When we got to our room, I was sadly disappointed. The curtains were missing a few hooks, resulting in the curtains not hanging properly. The refrigerator was dirty on the inside, but we only kept our bottled water in there. Over the beds there was some sort of orange coloured thing, & at the left end of it, threads were broken, therefor this 'thing' was hanging by a thread. We found the bathroom not to be as clean as we'd liked. In the shower stall, the towel rack was so loose, that if you touched it, even accidentally, it came crashing down & landed in the shower, or hit the edge of the tub, & bounced out onto the floor. On the bathroom floor was some door stopper that was not movable, & we found this a rather dangerous item. A door stopper was not at all necessary, as the bathroom floor scraped along the floor when opening or closing. There was a very frequent noise..slamming of doors. Food in "Jimmy's" buffet was mediocre to ok.Remember, this is Cuba, but I always managed to find something. Beware though, the food is lukewarm. The Italian restaurant served excellent food,but reservations are required. Bar staff are a little standoffish. Nightly entertainment in the Lobbybar was quite good. Staff on the front desk were cold. If they were talking to each other, you were kept waiting 'til they finished their conversation, AND they were a little rude. Don't bother paying for wi-fi. It's awful & you likely won't get connection even if you're told to go into the Lobby where they "say' the connection is ok. It is NOT! There's a computer room with 2 computers...don't bother. Connection is terrible, & the computers are slowwwwww. I would NOT return to this resort, & I'm very surprised that WestJet is at all associated with it.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    k

    Will not be going back to Hotel Bella Costa

    Reviewed by kelman on Apr 17, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    The hotel is dated and needs updating. The beds are uncomfortable, curtains and furniture are old.We had problems with the electronic cards for the room locks and spent two hours having technicians reset our electronic lock as the front desk people did not believe us each time we had an incident. The following day water was dripping from the bathroom ceiling near the toilet, presumably from the toilet above us. We were moved to another room only after we insisted and spent one of our mornings packing, moving and unpacking. The new room was an upgrade but only modestly so. Half of the cardio equipment in the fitness room does not work. The nightly entertainment was often short 40 to 60 minutes , some of it was good, some of it not so much. Generally most of the front desk staff were not friendly and would make you wait until they finished the conversations they had with each other. The bar staff were not much friendlier. The restaurant staff were the friendliest and offered the best service, the cleaning staff were okay but gotten significantly better after being tipped. Tipping the bar staff does not result in better service. There was one employee at the Delicatessen store shop in the hotel who continuously provided the incorrect change on four occasions , we found out on the last night there she was also overcharging on some items as there was another employee who provided the correct prices on some of the items we purchased.The weather was fantastic and the beach was great, food at the open grill was good. The al carte restaurants are good. Hotel would not provide one peso denominations so you could tip, so you had to buy items to get change or tip at a higher rate than required. The hotel displays the exchange rate for foreign currency that the bank will pay but not what they will exchange it for, which was a 7 dollar extra charge for each hundred dollars charged for their tourist currency. Do not bother with purchasing time on a computer it is painfully slow.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    W

    Already planning a return trip!

    Reviewed by Well travelled Calgarians on Feb 01, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    Traveled with my family husband and 9 and 7 year old boys for one week in January. Absolutely loved our stay. The room on initial entrance was a little disappointing, as it was a little tired and could use a few touch ups, but most importantly it was clean. After the first 20 minutes the thoughts on the room vanished and we immediately fell in love with everything else. The service and the hotel staff were above any thing we expected. So friendly and always smiling and willing to help. We enjoyed the buffet restaurant over the a la cartes, and there was always plenty of variety. Food was much better than we expected as we had heard numerous stories about food in Cuba. My boys couldn't stay away from the pasta station, the chef was so entertaining! Great location to head into town, always felt extremely safe. Overall this was Cuba, we weren't looking for a 5* and were more than happy with this property!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3911 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    15 times and counting

    Reviewed by Cubagirl03(Pointe-du-Chene, Canada) on May 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Just came home from my 15th visit to this amazing resort and already looking forward to my next visit. It gets better every visit. The staff is absolutely amazing, beginning with the top management down everyone greets you with a smile, hug and a kiss. It feels like coming home. A big shout out to the most helpful reception worker Dairon and to the the kindest waiter Albe. They always make you feel welcomed and at ease. The renovations are coming along nicely and have made a big difference. The food, which has always been good is even better then before. Looking forward to another visit soon to see how much progress has been made. Til next time my friends take care??

    Just keeps getting better

    Reviewed by Jvienn(Moncton, Canada) on May 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This is my 7th time here and it just keeps on getting better each time. The people are great as always, Dairon at the reception is amazing and knowledgable in answering questions. Hanoi makes the best cappuccinos and other specialty coffees,since the resort is run by Iberostar, the buffet is superior. Please try the international a la carte, you won't be disappointed. The rooms are still outdated but very clean. They are constantly working on renovation/upgrade but in no way did it affect daily activities. The beach here is the best I've seen so far, a few rocks here and there but no problem. I need to thank all the staff for a wonderful time at Iberostar Bella Costa. See you soon again

    DO NOT STAY IN HERE!

    Reviewed by MMSegui() on May 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    If you do not mind to sleep without A/C, with mosquitos and have your bathroom flooded because toilet is broken even if you do not use it, this is the right place for you. People is lovely and food is great.

    Very Satisfied

    Reviewed by tates87(Nipigon, Canada) on May 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Got a great deal for 5 days. In no way disappointed. This resort is a gem in Cuba. Slightly older but updates will address that. Unreal set up between room to pool to beach. Buffett in hotel and at beach were good, certainly satisfied. The beach restaurant is unbeatable as very few other resorts have a beach front restaurant and have direct beach access. Came for the beach and was not disappointed, spent as much time in the ocean as possible. Staff, excursions and taxi drivers were wonderful. We ate at two a la cartes, Italian & international. Both were good, but you won’t be disappointed in buffet for any meal. Will and cannot wait to return.

    Beautiful resort

    Reviewed by Stella M(Charlottetown, Canada) on May 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Transferred to Bella Costa from another resort. Staff, food and cleanliness was the best I’ve seen in the 7 resorts that I’ve been to in Varadero. Very efficient and helpful. Beach and pool werekept very clean and lots of loungers. No need to go down early.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX