Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Puerto Vallarta
    5. Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta
    6. Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    J

    Paradise anyway you look at it!

    Reviewed by JerryNJ on Jun 17, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2014

    Trip Type: Couple

    We stayed a week at VDP in May of 2014. We loved everything about it. Friendly and accommodating employees. We ate at the restaurants a few times and enjoyed the food and drinks. We had a studio room on the 3rd floor with a beautiful view overlooking the pool. Everything in the resort is incredibly clean! Walkin distance to many places to eat and have drinks. There's a bus stop right out front so getting around is easy. A large grocery store is a 10 minute walk to stock up on snacks, water and other essentials. The resort is beachfront on Banderas Bay with spectacular views of the mountains and bay with many water activities available. All this for a very reasonable price. I highly reccomend Villa Del Palmar to anyone visiting Puerto Vallarta. I am looking forward to returning to PV someday and will be staying at VDP for sure!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    W

    Comfortable and Relaxing Pleasant Surroundings

    Reviewed by WinnipegWay on Mar 21, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    We had a comfortable vacation at this resort. It was not great or fantastic or exceptional but it was comfortable. We stayed for two weeks. March 2 to 16 It rained for the last 2 days of our stay. *The check-in process was smooth and quick we arrived at approx.11:00 AM We were given our AI wristbands by 11:20 AM and informed that our room would not be ready till 3:00 PM. Okay; no big deal we'll go and catch a bite at the restaurant Patron . But before that happens we are met by the concierge to go over the hotel welcome package. Nice thought; but in reality it was a timeshare pitch; which for us was okay since we bluntley told him that we were not interested in timeshares. *The room when we finally got our cards was a delux studio with a small kitchenette. The decor was not mexican in my thinking but some gosh awful post modern pastel pinks and blues with two double beds instead of the king size we had requested!!! Our vacation provider does not seem to have much pull in the type of representation they have for meeting their clients requests at this resort. The room was 3227 2nd floor located in building 3 and the room was facing the distant main highway for Puerto Vallarta we were never bothered by traffic noise as we were far enough away from the street We at this point made up our mind to stay put and get on with our vacation. LIKES: The staff who checked us in, the maid who made our room, the waiters and pool boys who served us; were what made the stay pleasant. The evening entertainment had some really good performances along with a few mediocre acts. But a good balance of entertainment. Place overall was clean; DISLIKES: AI does not mean all food and spirits available to us during stay only beer available Corona ACK!!ACK!!GAG!!GAG!! , Pacifico others extra; bailey's extra. Very small beachfront. The insufferable SPRING BREAKERS whose behaviour mimics morons . If they were in my hotel I would kick them out so the rest could enjoy their vacations.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3637 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Oldie but a Goodie

    Reviewed by Judy H(Victoria, British Columbia, Canada) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This is our third or fourth time at Villa Del Palmar/del Mar. We generally stay for 8 or 9 weeks and really enjoy our stay. If you want 5 star, this is not the place; however, if you want a comfortable, friendly place to stay, this is it. There are time stay guests and all inclusive guests. The staff are exceptional. Friendly and always smiling. The Activities Staff give their all to make your stay an enjoyable one. Abraham, Osvoldo, Jair, Monse, Karen, Kari and newcomer Armando all do an outstanding job. Osvoldo is now making costumes and doing choreography and does a great job. Luis has left dancing to be the pool concierge and next year I expect he will be at the check in desk - he is so personable. On the last day we learned that our always smiling maid Ernestina is actually called Tina. I'm sure she will be there if we are able to return next year.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Great place, staff is wonderful, but in serious need of updating and furnishings replacement

    Reviewed by sarahrose0413(Scottsdale, Arizona) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We have been to VDPF many times over the last few years..... and the reason we go back is because of the staff. All the 7 gentlemen when you first arrive are amazing and helpful on giving recommendations on where to go for fun, dinner, shopping, and tours. They remember us by name every year and remember our kids as well. Housekeeping is fabulous, and always willing to deal with our teens who lay in bed sometimes past 12. The restaurant on the property is decent, but pretty boring and basic, along with the other couple eatery places they have on site.... nothing too outstanding.... just average. We went next door to Estancia for dinner at least 4 times during our stay, which had much better food choices in my opinion. Property is fairly nice, but the rooms and furniture are in desperate need of replacement.... we were on the penthouse on the 7th floor, room 1704A and most of the outdoor cushions had large rips and scratches that exposed the inner stuffing..... lots of mold on the outdoor cushions, and lots of bird dropping all over the furniture, which I suppose is to be expected on the ocean, but gross never the less. Pool was very full of kids, and one day had to be shut down due to a child pooping in it.... gross, and we did not go near the pool again after that happened.... ewww!! Overall this place isn’t the worst, but by no means the 4 star resort it used to be.... maybe 3 stars....but this is just my opinion. Again, the staff is the reason we return each year, however, next year we will not be staying here.... we upgraded to La Estancia instead even though the smell when you walk in the lobby is enough to knock out a bull elephant...think Macy’s perfume section X 100...... it’s pretty bad..... but hopefully the rooms don’t smell as wretched as the lobby..... they are considerably nicer and actually have full sized fridges and working ovens and things to cook with. We will still be going to VDPF to visit our favorite bellhops as well.....:-)) Great beach to pick sea glass and small shells, walk, and at night, see shooting stars and possibly a wonderful starfish wash up on the beach!! ( we returned it to the sea after realizing it was still alive and well). Lots of dead puffer fish washed up on the beach this trip..... not too sure why, but we did attempt to save a few who looked like they were still struggling to live...... enjoy a massage on the beach for 400 pesos, and don’t forget to tip the people as well.... tipping the staff and service people makes them happy, and it’s nice to see people smile..... Sarah, Tim, Karen and Jared.

    Great vacation.

    Reviewed by maria R() on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Great family place. Local stores near. My concierge Faviola and Ramon, Jose, Hugo and Joel from the agency where a lot of help everyone in the concierge and cleaning staff were very helpful and attentive. The staff was was also very attentive and friendly. Security was always observing who came in and our of the property. Pools where clean and beach area was accessible.

    Staff

    Reviewed by John V() on Apr 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Miguel what a server. When you ask for a drink he will remember every detail. Right too the salt in the drink not on the rim. Family guy unbelievable hands down Joel our front guy around getting us the best driver too go get the best sea food. Treat you like you where family ...abraham our entertainer manager. Asking him any question and getting the best asnswer he can give you and take your comments on how too better your stay. Monsea and kari. Doing there alitmate best too keep you entertained and making your stay feel special. ... And the lady that makes the bracelets and necklaces , hair brades , painting clay figures for the kids. Feels like your family member too a tee. ... Cant say anything bad. Famillee a. Very special people that make this all work

    Nice spot on the beach

    Reviewed by Scott B() on Apr 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We enjoyed our time at Villa Del Palmar. The rooms were very clean, maybe needing a little updating, but we didn't go to Mexico to stay in the room. The staff was great. The guys getting us taxis were great, the staff was always smiling and saying hi as we walked by. We were beyond happy with the service we received from Alex. So much, that we found out which part of the beach or pool he was working and moved into his area. He was the best. If you stay here, you get a clean pool, clean rooms and a nice beach. The food is good and the staff is very attentive. I would stay again.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX