Handlery Union Square Hotel

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    M

    Choose the Handlery, you'll be glad you did! LOCATION, SERVICE & VALUE

    Reviewed by Maddie on Sep 26, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: September 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    I took my dad here for his 65th Birthday and it will be a memory to cherish for a lifetime! Great for families, singles, couples and guy/girl get-a-ways. LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION. This hotel is perfectly situated in Union Square and is popular for it's location, historic and premier rooms and onsite breakfast that is included in the rate. The concierge, front desk and dining staff are super friendly and helpful. This hotel is 'One of a Kind'! Clean rooms, exceptional service, VALUE and so much more.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4559 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Convenient location

    Reviewed by Reena P(Walsall) on Aug 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    This hotel is a little shabby chic. We stayed in three rooms over a two week period. All the rooms were small -in particular the bathrooms were super small and hard for two people to use. All but one person on the desk were helpful and polite. The hotel rooms were all quite noisy -even the ones supposed to be quiet and looked out onto a wall. The hotel was in a good location -handy for most things. There was a large queue for breakfast in the diner attached to the hotel every morning. Wifi worked well.

    Disappointing place to stay.

    Reviewed by Spinny77(Ipswich, United Kingdom) on Aug 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Booked in February and paid online, then 6 months later they took money off my credit card as they said I hadn’t paid enough without even telling me ! Hotel is dated and looks tired. I certainly would not stay there again, nor recommend to a friend either. It is quite expensive for what it is.

    Disappointing and overpriced

    Reviewed by Judi P() on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    We booked 2 nights at the end of a coach tour and heartily wished we'd stayed at the same hotel we began the tour at. While the Handlery might be in a great location, that was the only redeeming feature. The room was old, the bed uncomfortable, and our view from the 2ND floor was of scaffolding. There was a really weird smell in the hallway. The included breakfast was pretty average. You couldn't have juice and coffee. One or the other only. I realise it was peak season but we paid $943 for 2 nights! I would have expected 6 star for that price. I doubt we'll ever be back.

    Great location

    Reviewed by Angelah1974(Lincoln, United Kingdom) on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Great Hotel in a brilliant location not far from the Center of union Square. Trams 5 mins walk away and also buses. Car park wow $58 dollars a night just getting over that now thankfully we only used it for one night. Breakfast was ok but not anything special. Pool area small and was a salted pool and had a strange smell but was ok for a quick dip after a long day site seeing. Room was ok nice and clean nothing special, but we was out all day so only needed it to sleep in.

    Tired hotel in need of updating

    Reviewed by Nicko662(Penrith, United Kingdom) on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Just spent four nights at the Handlery. Location is decent but rooms are extremely disappointing. Air con is non existent and evidently doesn’t work in the older rooms you can feel the difference as soon as you leave your room. My room was stuck at 80 degrees for the entire stay. The front desk pretended to have someone look at it whilst we were out however given the amount of feedback about non working ac they were just going thru the motions. Just as well no resort fee as I would have wanted it waived. My travel agent recommended this place I will be having words when I get back.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX