Samsara Cliff Hotel

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    R

    I loved Jamaica so much! My Trip was IRIE <3

    Reviewed by Rhonda on Feb 08, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Single

    the hotel is definitely weathered and the location is off the beaten path, but the staff from the front desk all the way to the maintenance staff are so incredibly friendly and happy to serve you in any way, it was so refreshing to be treated so well. I was fortunate to have a cottage which included a nice sized porch to retire to after a HOT day in the sun, HOWEVER!!!! there are three (medium to large sized) dogs that bark all night long. the big dog lives on the compound on the other side of the resort and as I was informed, belongs to the resort owner. Terribly inconsiderate if that's the case. The sister resort, Legends, that the shuttle goes to every morning at 10a.m. is packed like sardines so kudos if you're able to grab a lounge or two...and if there is no place to park on the beach, you have to pay to get back to Samsara. OMAR, the shuttle driver is an absolute doll. He is a very safe driver and has the best disposition ever. Love you O!! Latoya, who is the WestJet representative for the Resort is a wonderful, happy lady who has an incredible memory for all the names of her clients! It was such a delight to see her every morning, whether it was just to stop for a chat. Her recommendation to go to YS Falls & Appleton Estates was very well received and the tour guide, Nicola and Jimmy the driver were an absolute hoot as well as informative! :D Would I go back? that's all I can think of is how to get back there!!! I have been many places and these people are just the happiest people I have ever encountered! The restaurant across the road - Ciao Jamaica's food was fabulous, but cost me aprox. $50USD every meal (salad, beer, entr?e) which is a bit much, but worth a couple meals for sure!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    K

    We loved it so much we are making this our annual vacation!! All around fantastic!

    Reviewed by Kim on Nov 09, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    If you are looking for a 5 star deluxe vacation, you are looking at the wrong hotel. If you are looking for a completely relaxing, fun Jamaican experience then you are looking in the right spot. The cliffs are spectacular with the sunset making them extra gorgeous, The grounds are kept well groomed and clean with a variety of vegetation. The rooms are just perfect and kept clean by a staff who are cheerful, helpful and very personable. There is not a staff member there that we did not get along well with and have a good time with even the bartender who has had previous bad reviews, well I can't wait to go back to see her and get another of her fabulous hugs. Sasha in the spa is the most darling lady and the rest of which are too many to name are just as great. The food is not the greatest but is ok but the staff in the dining area make you feel pampered as all get out. Don't forget to visit the island by using one of Peter's recommended taxis Garry especially for a personal tour of the island that your safety is guaranteed. I can't wait to go back again and again!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    Loved our stay at this resort!!! The people were amazing... cant wait to go back!

    Reviewed by Lorie on Mar 07, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2016

    Trip Type: Friends

    Loved the location, it gave us an opportunity to meet the REAL people of Jamaica!!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 1546 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Diamond in the Rough

    Reviewed by hilbery() on Apr 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    "Jamaica me crazy" SamSara - has provided us, first time "sun seekers", exactly what we wanted, a semi-private oasis on the sunset edge of an ocean wilderness... the terraced shoreline provided a unique and challenging experience of the ocean- we don't walk in, we dive! We have shared the landscape with the wilderness of Jamaica, palm trees in the ocean breeze and waterfront luxuries with friendly happy people,,, we didn't want the beach! - sweet smelling, relaxing, fun, stress-free, comfortable, undemanding, calming, carefree, awe-inspiring (sting ray and coral wonders- although in distress!) 'Jamaica time' is the way to measure our expectation, let go and be happy!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    A hidden gem

    Reviewed by Tickeymaster() on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was our second stay and although we thoroughly enjoyed the first we were pleasantly surprised on this trip how much the resort had been upgraded, including the landscaping and over all attention to detail such as fresh paint and more friendly staff than I recall (that's you Jenique,Danielle & my man Mo!) along with friendly bartenders and groundskeepers. Oh, and even Ari who is part of the family could be seen inspecting projects and free to chat with. That matters. The West End has also seen some changes with some exciting new restaurants in the area. The rooms were clean and refreshed properly every day. The patio views are amazing. To wrap it up this is an inexpensive hidden gem in a very relaxing part of the world. It is also very inexpensive which will keep us coming back. We can get to beaches anytime, The Samsara offers pure tranquility! Hope to see you all next winter! PS I trust Super Chris the owl is still around and watching over the resort. Somebody let me know if he's still around!! 'Nuff respect, Christopher J.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Laid Back

    Reviewed by Daniel M() on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Excellent laid back vacation.Great secluded spot on the cliffs. Resort needs upgrading but the food, service and people were great!! Might have been 50 people there, met some great folks. Best spot for sunsets. Jumping off the cliffs into the water was great. Access to 7 Mile Beach at their sister resort Legends. Access to food and drinks down their with your all-inclusive. If you don't like crowded fancy resorts this is the place for you!!

    Never stayed here? READ THIS REVIEW!

    Reviewed by marknjules1997(Caledonia, Wisconsin) on Apr 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I am sitting on my patio here at Samsara waiting for our shuttle to leave. Always a sad thing! We had a girls trip with zero plans & we are so relaxed & LOVED Samsara! We knew EXACTLY what to expect our first time staying here (but had stayed at Legends)...... and our expectations were far surpassed. Yes, your bedding is circa 1980, but they are clean! Housekeeping is amazing & the a/c works great! Can’t ask for any more from a room! This property is so quaint & pretty. The best thing is you truly get to know the staff & all the guests. The guest “caliber” is just our type. Mostly working class from all over the world. If you are picky or high maintained- do not stay here, it will not be your thing. If you are looking for resort activities like volleyball or beer drinking contests- you won’t find it here! You will find people just coming & relaxing, enjoying the sun & the fabulous views! This is not the party property. It is peaceful, quiet, & serene. We did not do the all inclusive cause we love to get out & enjoy the local fare. It forces us out of our sun loungers. Lol So here is a final list of do’s & dont’s: Do: -Bring a few thin beach towels, they do not provide & you will want something that dries easily -Do pay to reserve a refrigerator in advance- worth every penny! -Do bring a water kettle or coffee maker & buy some coffee here for chill time on your patio -Do go out & try some local food. So fresh, so yummy, & so cheap to eat around as far as cost -Do pack some late night munchies in your luggage as food times are limited here -Do know prices for just about anything is negotiable within reason -Do bring floating rafts for the pool or ocean as they do not sell or provide them here Don’ts: -Be rude or disrespectful to the staff. They are all so lovely and hard working. Make sure to tip for amazing service you receive! They are so grateful for our business. We are visitors in THIER country. -Make sure to bring a min of SPF50 for sunscreen. It is the Jamaican sun & it is STRONG! -If you are not all inclusive, expect to pay a high price for drinks. They are $8-$10 per tiny cup & not top shelf -Don’t go into areas of Negril or Jamaica not knowing the area or without a guide who says you are safe there -Don’t expect a pillow top mattress at the resort. They are probably the firmest mattress you will have ever slept on in your life.

    Home away from home!

    Reviewed by briana_lacey(Cleveland, Ohio) on Apr 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My first stay at Samsara was in May 2013! From that first trip, I knew that this place was special. Over the last 6 years, I have only stayed at Samsara or their sister resort Legends and I am never left disappointed. Friendly staff, clean rooms, amazing views and truly the best hospitality. I love the laid back vibes of the resort and home cooking from the talented chefs! If you are a traveler who is comfortable without all the frills -- Samsara is the place for you! It has everything you need for a comfortable and authentic time in Negril. I will be back later this year and cannot wait to be at the place I call, "home"!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX