Iberostar Cozumel

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    C

    Great resort, food needs improvement!

    Reviewed by Cozumel chill on Apr 28, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    I have been to Iberostar in Jamaica and really enjoyed the accommodations and food. I was expecting similar in Cozumel. Unfortunately it did not feel like it was the same chain/resort. I have been to Mexico at various resorts over the years at least 7 different resorts . Experience has always been good. Not sure why Iberostar Cozumel failed to feel like Mexico ? Grounds are nice and well maintained. Rooms are decent, good size and sound proofed. Only issue we had is there was absolutely no humidity control. The bedding and our clothes felt wet to the touch for the entire week. As my wife would say "Ew!" Staff is wonderful, cheerful and always helpful. That's the good. Now the not so good. Food, all the meals got old quick from the buffets to the a la cart restaurants. The steak house didn't have a charcoal grill, all was cooked on flat iron soaked in corn oil. Italian restaurant meals were bland almost no spices/flavour. TexMex restaurant had nothing remotely close to Mexican flavours we were in Mexico right ? In closing, we will not be going to this resort again. Mostly because of the food. It's tolerable but not enjoyable for a 4 star rated resort. Nice beach but shallow sand. Careful when playing volleyball, you're playing on top of a giant rock.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6010 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Second time just as good!

    Reviewed by jen1jmu(Virginia) on Aug 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This was our second visit to this resort. We went last August for 3 nights and loved it so much that we came back this August for 7 nights with our two kids (10 and 8). There were a couple issues, but overall it was a wonderful vacation and we will return! The first problem was with check-in. We had booked an oceanfront room and they told us they were overbooked and did not have one available. To make up for it, they upgraded us to an oceanview suite. I was hesitant to accept this because we really wanted the oceanfront view and to be right on the beach. The only other option they provided was to stay in the suite for two nights and then move to an oceanfront room when it became available. Without any other option, we headed to the suite. The view was still pretty, but it was only a partial view and sat back farther from the beach. The suite itself was really nice and gave us two rooms, a walk-in closet, and two balconies. My husband and kids loved the room so we decided to just stay there the whole week. The second problem with the room came on our second day when I noticed some ants. We had noticed some ants the previous year and knew to not leave any food or drinks in the room. The problem quickly got worse as I noticed them in the master bedroom above our bed and all over the walk-in closet where we had put our clothes on shelves. This grossed me out so I took all of our clothes and put them back in the suitcases in the other room. We called the front desk and spoke to them in person 5 times about the ant problem before they finally sent people to spray our room. We had to move everything away from where they sprayed. I didn't know they would move the bed and furniture and spray everywhere and they ended up drenching our chargers in whatever they sprayed. Two chargers stopped working completely. I complained at the front desk and instead of an apology, the lady just shrugged her shoulders. She gave me a new usb cord (not a full replacement) and that was it. Thankfully, we never saw the ants again after that day. We did get a couple of phone calls later in the week to make sure everything was ok. I appreciated this, but just wished they had responded promptly the first time we went to them. Now for the good things (which far outweigh the bad)! The food was good, if you manage your expectations. It wasn't amazing, but we always found something to eat that we liked. We ended up liking the buffet better than the restaurants. Of the three restaurants, the tex mex was our favorite (food and service). The restaurants are hot, but oh well. I think this resort could definitely take things up a notch by adding another restaurant and improving overall food quality to keep competitive with other all-inclusive resorts. Drinks were good and we found the servers and bartenders offered good service. We didn't feel the need to tip every time, and instead gave tips when we felt it was really deserved. One of our favorite things about this resort is the kids club. I was amazed when we showed up the first day and Ismael remembered our kids and us after being there a year ago for only 3 days! Our kids had a great time with them and spent a good chunk of each day with them. I love how they don't just stay in the kids club but get the kids out and around the resort doing different activities and contests. My one suggestion would be to follow the schedule on the app. Our kids were a little disappointed when they didn't follow it and they didn't get to do a particular activity that sounded fun. Each evening, the kids club would offer some sort of pre-show activity for the kids (pinata, modeling on the catwalk, talent show, etc.). The entertainment staff is awesome! We really enjoyed participating in activities during the day and watching the shows each night. The beach is beautiful and the snorkeling by the dock is great for kids and beginners. Walk to the left and you'll come to some places where you can wade in and find small shells. Late afternoon is a good time to spot stingrays under the dock. The pool was a fun place for activities but was very warm in August. It also stained all of our suits with white parts yellow. I'm not sure what caused that (sunscreen, sweat, ????) because we've never had that problem elsewhere... The pool could use some work both in water clarity and fixing the appearance (it's looking old). I preferred going in the ocean to cool off. We used the catamarans and the kayaks. One suggestion would be to offer stand up paddleboards. In addition to the natural beauty of this resort, there are so many animals to see. We saw barracuda, coatis, flamingos, cats, peacocks, starfish, armadillo, turtles, stingrays, a giant slug, tiny geckos, snails, snake, parrots, and ducks. We went on a snorkeling trip with Dressel Divers (see review on their page) and it was fantastic! We saw stingrays, turtles, barracudas, and lots of beautiful fish and coral. In my opinion, this resort could easily go from 4 to 5 stars if they improve their customer service, up their food game, and renovate older areas like the pool.

    Quiet resort, Perfect for snorkling.

    Reviewed by Snoose_adventures(Kings Lynn) on Aug 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Our visit was in September, this must be off season for this resort as it felt mostly empty. No crouded bars and pools. Easy to get reservations in the restaurants. This made our stay extra relaxing and laid back. The food was great, good choice of ala carte restaurants in the evenings, buffet lunch was okay, as good as buffets are going to get. Breakfast had a great selection of different foods. Bar staff were happy to make anything you asked for and seemed to enjoy choosing my drinks for me! Rooms are spacious and comfortable, a bit dim lit in the evenings but wasn't a problem as we didn't sped much time sitting around. One of the highlights of this hotel for me was the crystal clear sea to swim and snorkel in. There is a jetty near the hotels dive centre that was full of life. We saw starfish, annemones, urchins, crabs, rays, eels, barracuda, octopus and hundreds of species of fish just off the beach. We took our own gear but you can use the hotels snorkel gear for free. The hotel has a concierge that you can book adventures and car rental desks if you would like to go for a drive. Overall I was happy with this hotel and would recommend a visit.

    Love the Property, Hate the Sickness

    Reviewed by Jess W() on Aug 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    We did get a room like I wanted. This was our second time at this property. We went there the first time for our honeymoon and then the second for our 5th anniversary. The level of service was good, but the food quality has gone down. My husband and I both got sick. He puked liked never before and I was sick on a different day. You spend money on these vacations, if you're even sick one day because of the food why would you ever come back to that place again? I ate fries or bread or sealed yogurt from then on. Every Canadian we met got sick too (thanks nurse who had gravl?) I wish I could give a good review, but the sub-par food and the sickness resulting from it means we are looking elsewhere for our next vacation this winter. FYI: guy doing your eggs shouldn't touch raw egg and then give your plate back to you(with raw egg on it).

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-1

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-2

    Nice, quaint smaller place

    Reviewed by Lori M(Glenwood) on Aug 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I really enjoyed staying at the Iberostar Cozumel once we figured out everything. What I liked: Authentic Mexican village feel, friendly staff, animals on property, good buffets, comfortable beds, good A/C in rooms, good shower, good beach that was not too crowded, dive shop on the resort. What needs improvement: Our check in gave us no explanation of dining, what activities there were, times of restaurants being open and other things you don't know about to even ask. They did tell us we could have two nights at the restaurants that take reservations when we checked in but that seemed very limiting. And the only restaurant that we ate at that had A/C was the Mexican one. Otherwise dining was a pretty warm experience. We were there in August. Not enough staff. (Most of the staff was very friendly and helpful but I think they just didn't have enough) I think that might be why you are limited in your dinner reservations and why we got no explanations or much of a welcome when we first checked in. Overall, My husband, daughter and I enjoyed our stay very much and would consider staying here again. My daugher is a scuba diver and that was why we chose this resort. It is very handy to have the dive shop on premises. This did seem to be a little less service and quality for our money than what we have experienced in Cancun, but maybe the airfare is more to Cozumel. (I'm not sure as we usually book as package deals) We felt very safe here and even when we took a cab into the city to shop, which was very fun.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-3

    Beautiful ocean and nice resort

    Reviewed by kyliebear08() on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Iberostar in Cozumel was a great stay for our family! The rooms are set up in huts that hold 4 separate rooms and 2 stories. The food is amazing and there are 3 different restaurants including Tex-me, Asian, and a steak house. We ate at all 3 twice and loved it all. Dressel Divers can get you set up onsite for diving/snorkeling and the resort is only a short boat ride from the world famous reefs. Hevik is an AMAZING bartender! Everyday at the pool bar he had the biggest smile on his face and the best attitude. He made our pool bar experience!! If you're a member you won't see the extent of amenities you would at other Iberostars. Another heads up is no room service or disco, as we have experienced these at every Iberostar until this one. Food/limited alcohol is still available until 6am at Marias (Tex-Mex). It's a smaller resort (with smaller rooms) so it's understandable. Over all a good stay for our family!

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX