Barceló Ixtapa

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    V

    Love this resort!

    Reviewed by Vic on Nov 19, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    Loved this resort. Staff are all very friendly with great food and drinks. Loved walking on the beach first thing in the morning. The evening entertainment was great. Within walking distance to the dolphin exhibit and tons of little shops and restaurants. The only downfall is you have to be up before the birds to save yourself a pool chair. The resort say they do not allow you to put your towels out to reserve a chair, but everyone does it.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4327 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Grandma with daughter and grand-daugther

    Reviewed by FrequentFlier648507() on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Excellent service. Magnificient view. Beach is on site. Food was really good in buffet and restaurants. Drinks did not have real juice that's the only down side. I recommend this resort to anyone, single, couples or families.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Le caracol restaurant et Barcelo

    Reviewed by AlineV240(Sherbrooke, Canada) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We spent a month in Ixtapa and went every afternoon to the beach restaurant at the Barcelo le Caracol, we experienced one of the Elder Gutierrez servers. Elder's service was fantastic, fast and always responsive to our needs. In addition, always in a good mood, we had a lot of fun with him. Thank you Elder and see you next year. Daniel and Aline.

    Perfect resort, amazing staff, and a beautiful beach!

    Reviewed by Robin K(Vancouver, Canada) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This hotel was beyond incredible. We've stayed at Barcelo resorts in other areas of Mexico, and Barcelo Ixtapa lived up to its reputation. The resort is not too big, but has everything you need and is situated ON the beach. The pools are clean and ocean front, and open early morning till late at night. The pool bars are always open and available, and the bartenders are prompt in preparing your drinks. The hotel is stunning inside, and majority of the rooms are ocean front, making your view spectacular. Rooms are clean and comfortable, and the housekeeping staff do an amazing job to have your room clean quickly. Restaurants have a big variety and the 4 à-la-carte restaurants were very elegant. The food was delicious and well cooked. The hotel entertainment staff do an exceptional job of running activities on the beach and in the pool, and there are shows and fiestas held in the resort's theatre every night. Mexicana fiestas on Fridays is absolutely life changing - so much entertainment and good food. The resorts is in a great location - right across the street from a marketplace and from an outlet shopping area. Resort beach is clean and the water is turquoise and crystal clear. Beach chairs and pool chairs are easy to find and don't need to be reserved. We'd like to give a HUGE shoutout to Laura (at reception), Renel, Salvador (and Soline), Jorge, Christian, Luis & Mary (Air Canada representatives), the staff in Kyoto, the housekeeping staff, and everybody else whose names we unfortunately could not get. The staff were all exceptional and made our stay beyond memorable. Thank you for everything! 10/10 recommend this resort.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Good Resort, Great Beach

    Reviewed by ToddErin2013(Alberta, Canada) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Barceló group of resorts are always a consistent class of resorts. This one is more of a hotel complex than what we usually go to for the jungle/palm tree atmosphere. The location is top notch. Nice flat beach for walking and of course the sunsets on the pacific side can't be beat. We like the sun and shade but if you're a shade type person you have to move around a little to find it we usually sit on the beach but by 11am there is very minimal shade available thru the palm trees, no palapas anywhere. 5 min walk into the little tourist town Ixtapa is which fun to explore and pick up the typical souvenir stuff. We were there the end of March into April it was not busy at all during the week but on the weekend it filled up with locals with alot of kids. Its nice to see the Mexican families in and using such a beautiful area of their country but its a little overwhelming at times. Make sure your at least 4 floors or higher on the ocean side for the sunsets and away from the Ixtapa side noise. This is also the theater side of the complex and can get pretty loud with the shows. Mexican Fiesta night and buffet on Fridays is a must its probably the best Mexican show we have ever seen. Our room just plain but its really only for sleeping anyways. The buffet food and A la cartes is typical of the price range of this resort. Can't comment on the Premium level which we passed on.

    Wonderful Staff

    Reviewed by marcela b() on Apr 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Last month, my husband and my self stay in this hotel for 5 days, we loved it. We took the premium package and for us was worth it. Premium drinks, premium restaurants and ocean front room. The size of the hotel is the perfect size, I hate the hotels that are super big and you have to walk a lot to go to the beach or pool. I feel super safe all the time and the staff were wonderful specially I am very thankful with the life guards and the security staff because the four day my husband got very drunk and went for a walk in the beach, after 3 or 4 hours passed I was very concern because he was not coming back and I was afraid that something happen to him because he was drunk and I was afraid that start getting dark. I talk to the life guard and he call the head of security and all of them start moving to locate him, I show them a picture of him and they start communicating with the other life guards and security of all the other hotels. The nice part they were always reassuring me that they were going to find him and after 1 hour they did. From now on my hotel will be Barcelo, I highly recommended. Thank you Barcelo staff for all you did for us.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX