Royal Kahana Maui by Outrigger Condo

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    K

    In love with Maui!

    Reviewed by KMyers2014 on May 14, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2015

    Trip Type: Honeymoon

    We stayed in room 816 for our honeymoon. The view was wonderful; we enjoyed watching the humpback whales perform in the distance even though it was the end of the season there were a few remaining in the area , watched beautiful sunsets, watched turtles swim near the shore and even take a rest on the beach. The beach was quiet, which we liked as most of the others had 100's of people on them, but not this beach - maybe 5 people; very private. The view from the beach was amazing; could see Lanai and Molokai. This hotel is not far from amenities and has a fun pub near by called Dollies. Cab rides into Lanaia are reasonable. The only downside was that our hotel room was not ready for when we checked in and had to wait a few hours, which was exhausting considering we had been up since 4AM. Staff were friendly and the concierge were helpful, sometimes they worked a little too fast at booking you in on excursions, without letting you ask many questions, but in the end they were helpful. Would highly recommend this place. In Maui you must rent a vehicle; there are so many natural wonders to see of this island.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 1180 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Maui vacation

    Reviewed by GrandTour10599() on Mar 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Highly recommend royal kahana ??nice to have a kitchen and washer and dryer in unit go to Maui Brewery for food and drink next to Macdonald, can walk Great value?? the sunoco gas station next door has souveniers and a small mini mart no beach but a heated pool!!!

    Great ocean view studio

    Reviewed by Craig H(Thunder Bay, Canada) on Mar 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We just completed a three week stay in an ocean view studio. Nothing but positive things to say. Everything was as advertised, our condo was super clean and had lots of amenities (towels, kitchen utensils, paper towel, tissues). The icing on the cake of course is the ocean view. It far exceeded what we were expecting. You could sit on the balcony and watch the whales jumping in the distance and the sun sets were spectacular. The beach is seasonal, but there is a large grassy area in front of the condo where you could relax in a lounger and take in the view. Never set foot in the pool (not our thing) but there were always a lot of people who were enjoying it. The staff at the front desk were always friendly and helpful as were the concierge staff. We are already thinking about returning next year and would not hesitate to stay here again. Thank you Royal Kahana

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Amazing views from unit 608

    Reviewed by shendrix(Scottsdale, Arizona) on Mar 04, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This is a great little condo to rent! Just super attentive owner and really clean and updated. The views are killer from the ocean front units. there’s zero beach here..it got washed away, but I’m 50+, so playing in the sand isn’t really my drill anyway. Pool is just small and so-so...we spent our time exploring and hiking and eating out in the great restaurants nearby. Really affordable for what you get. Just if you are that person that wants to be right on the sand and all that, this area is not for you. All the condos in this area were built too close to the ocean and all have this issue. But for us, it was great.

    Roaches! The pics on this lie!!!!!

    Reviewed by bigmanak() on Mar 04, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    This place is a blast from the past.... an not in a good way. This has to be the dumpiest hotel I have ever been in. First off we started off on the second floor when we found roaches in our room. Was soooo gross! We found them in the bed an coming in under the doors an the trash shoot. That’s when I too the pic. They moved us up to the fifth floor thank god! After that I didn’t see any. The pictures are a compleat lie tho there was no bar by the pool that was gone an blocked off. The beach was completely gone an beach was closed.... every other hotel we walked by I wish I would have went to they was way nicer! Also the tennis court is gone too that’s now a parking lot.

    A kids hard ship

    Reviewed by markmetro() on Feb 27, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    The staff was wonderful very nice and understood our situation , First when we got into the room it was leaking from the fridge and sink then we had roaches in the bathroom and in dining room , so they moved us at 9 pm with $250 worth of groceries we had to move too. Then we wake up too construction from the window it was so irritating so then we informed Costco and they said not too worry we will handle every thing so they moved my family and I too a different hotel. Oh yeah there is no beach access at all from the Hotel they said go next door and we did which was chained off . We will probably never go back or recommend this Hotel .

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-1

    Service

    Service-3

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX