Fairmont Grand Del Mar

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    J

    Amazing girls weekend!

    Reviewed by JR on Jul 25, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    This hotel is a little out of the way but it's so worth the drive! I felt like a princess the entire weekend. Everything is so fancy! The attention to detail is superb. From the scented candle in the lobby to the chocolate covered oreo at bed time, all of your senses will be delighted. The staff is very friendly and accommodating, even anticipating our needs. They noticed that we had purchased two bottles of wine and brought an extra ice bucket to our room! I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a relaxing, luxurious getaway.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 2075 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    3rd time and it will not be our last

    Reviewed by kristenk696(Rochester Hills, Michigan) on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My family and I stayed here for the 3rd year in a row for the 4th of July week. Grand Del Mar is hands down our favorite hotel. The rooms are very luxurious and really make you feel like your home away from home. The hotel is filled with so many details that really make you feel like it is someplace so special. We were happy to see the healthy fresh food options the cafe is now serving. The ladies working at the cafe were efficient, quick, accurate and polite, which I appreciated. The housekeeper we had did an exceptional job and was easy and pleasant to deal with. The turndown service was timely and done well. The grounds of the hotel are something spectacular too! I used the gym which was nice and my husband went to the spa which he gave a positive review. The things lacking....the pool service was flat out bad. I wish the hotel would try and improve the pool service process. Put a flag on the chairs so people can raise it when they need something. Also the chairs at the pool were a situation and not enough for everyone. I have actually seen some hotels adopt a chair policy that works really well during busy times (two chairs per family and signage that prohibits saving chairs and leaving items on it and not occupying the chair). I was left very unimpressed with the concierge and actually a situation that occurred with reservations was handled very poorly. I felt disappointed. Altogether we love San Diego and my kids are already wanting to go back again next year....although I prefer to only travel to the same place twice Grand Del Mar will probably keep breaking that family rule!

    Excellent Stay

    Reviewed by ttran2005(Houston, Texas) on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We decided to away from the super busy beachfront this time and choose the Fairmont. This hotel is beautiful and clean. The service is excellent. The amenities in the room were wonderful. The only complaint is it is a bit too quiet for our family. Of course, this is not fault of the hotel in anyway. It would a great couple getaway.

    Deceptive

    Reviewed by carlv888(Seattle, Washington) on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    How did I end up at the "#1 hotel in California" instead of the #1 hotel in California? Because I had a great experience at the Fairmont Austin recently and a poor experience at the Park Hyatt Aviara last year. And because I got an "attractive" rate as an Amex Biz Platinum card holder. The staff at the Fairmont Grand Del Mar went out of their way to make our stay pleasant and comfortable. Hamid in Amaya and all of his colleagues were outstanding, to name but a few (save for the waiter who didn't show up after Hamid went on his legally scheduled break). The concierge, on the other hand, apparently missed the most recent sensitivity training. Yes, the blonde haired woman whom my wife asked for directions to the Adult Pool because she wanted to know if there was a shortcut apparently thought my wife's Brazilian accent automatically classified her as a worker rather than a guest - and failed to own up to it when we asked for clarification. Pros - great food, very attentive service in the restaurant, valet, front desk, housekeeping. Beautiful, rich decor inside. Perfect air conditioning. Very quiet room (we had an upgraded king size overlooking the tranquility area aka the Adult Pool). Facilities in near perfect condition. Great golf course and very helpful staff in the Pro Shop. Cons - Take your GPS: lack of consistent signage seems to imply some of kind exclusivity yet results in extra long walks, at least for the uninitiated. Indoor to outdoor access appears to be extremely limited. The "Tranquility area" (to enjoy a bit of sunshine and relaxation after a spa treatment) also has the resort's only lap pool - in a courtyard. Yes, the sound of all that water splashing, the "tranquil" music and the occasional water class given by someone with a very loud voice can get a bit much. Room towels seem to smell "not fresh" and seemed to have too many stains from, for example, cosmetic products. By accident, housekeeping delivered us several sets during our three night stay and they all seemed to smell the same - as if they didn't use enough laundry detergent. Not pleasant. Our room had toiletries sufficient for one person though some items (such as mouth wash) appeared missing. Our welcome letter incorrectly identified me as an Amex Centurion member and indicated I was entitled to an additional room credit. This was, as I expected, not reflected on the final bill because I am only a Platinum Amex cardholder. While Fairmont has a non-smoking policy indoors, we were very lucky this time as no guests try to spoil the healthy ambiance by lighting up outside. However, it was very quiet during our stay - no conference, wedding or other major event - which seems to have contributed to the non-smoking oasis of our stay. The Fairmont Del Mar offers great activities and a beautiful, tranquil setting overall. We did not experience any disruptions during our stay and overall felt very welcome. If you are a bit like me and have taken a 50-question exam at one point in your life where the maximum score was 10 and they took one full point off for very mistake, then the score for my visit results in 2 points only, unfortunately. The higher the price point and the prestige, the higher the expectations are that management gets everything right. Maybe next time.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-3

    Fantastic Hotel

    Reviewed by psdiane1942() on Jul 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The hotel gets an excellent rating from me for superior accommodations, cleanliness, friendly staff who accommodated our every need. *I Would definitely stay here again and certainly recommend this hotel to friends.

    Exceptional!

    Reviewed by michaelP3855FS(Encinitas, California) on Jul 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Everything here is first class! Perfect relaxing weekend retreat for me and my wife! Enjoyed the hikes, food, spa services, pool area and restaurants. The hotel is immaculate and the service was nothing short of perfect!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX