Fairmont Grand Del Mar

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    J

    Amazing girls weekend!

    Reviewed by JR on Jul 25, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    This hotel is a little out of the way but it's so worth the drive! I felt like a princess the entire weekend. Everything is so fancy! The attention to detail is superb. From the scented candle in the lobby to the chocolate covered oreo at bed time, all of your senses will be delighted. The staff is very friendly and accommodating, even anticipating our needs. They noticed that we had purchased two bottles of wine and brought an extra ice bucket to our room! I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a relaxing, luxurious getaway.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 2034 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Wonderful local getaway!

    Reviewed by theholisticjourney(Coronado, California) on Mar 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We had an excellent stay at the Fairmont Grand Del Mar. Great local stay-cation. The staff is super friendly and go out of their way to make you feel welcome. We recommend this hotel to couples, friends or for business.

    Beautiful Elegant and Peaceful Resort - 5 Star

    Reviewed by StephanieGeoLin(San Marcos, California) on Mar 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed at the Grand Del Mar a few times and it has been one of the most peaceful, elegant and enjoyable locations we have experienced. We have traveled the world and it is wonderful to have found this gem in San Diego that compares to European elegance. The grounds are breathtaking, the service is impeccable and the rooms are elegant. A very peaceful place.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Amazing property, Excellent Service

    Reviewed by Chaz4449(Rochester, Minnesota) on Mar 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My wife and I stayed at this hotel for a conference that we were helping direct. The conference went well, and the hotel did an outstanding job hosting and the food was great! The property is built in a grand Tuscan style. Quite over the top in some ways with regards to decor. The staff were excellent. From check in to interactions with the concierge, they were all quite friendly and attentive. Housekeeping also did a thoughtful job cleaning the rooms. The location is a bit remote. That’s the only down side. If you’re a golfer, that shouldn’t matter.

    Grand Indeed

    Reviewed by J_and_A_1(Los Angeles, California) on Mar 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    As more and more hotels embrace modern décor, what we really appreciated most about this hotel is its grand architecture of an Italian palazzo including opulent interiors full of marble and beautiful coffered and painted ceilings. Some might say it is a little over the top or even too opulent, but we enjoyed it and took it all in. This was our fourth stay and besides the impressive ambience, we enjoy the large spacious and comfortable rooms with full luxury bathrooms, two big zero edge pools, and a decent gym where you can get a full workout. There is also a spa, but we have never gone and it cost $40 to visit if you are not getting a treatment. Breakfast at Amaya was always delicious and the staff throughout the hotel was very friendly. Outside gardens, courtyards, and fountains complete the package. Golf and tennis court are also on site. Between the $45 resort fee and valet parking at $40, costs can add up if you are staying for a while. You can self-park but you have to ask about it as there are no signs directing you to this cost saving location which is not too far away. There is not much happening within the immediate area of the hotel, but downtown Del Mar and La Jolla are close enough and this is really a destination type of resort where you can just hang out, relax, enjoy the amenities, and pretend you are somewhere in Tuscany.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Fantastic hotel! Amazing staff!

    Reviewed by Guillaume_ca_43(West Hollywood, California) on Mar 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The hotel is fantastic, lot of outlets, wonderful garden, pool and jacuzzi area is nice and calm! The rooms are great, spacious, comfortable... The staff is amazing, genuine. Every interactions with staff members were great. Oriane at the check out was really kind and professional.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX