Samba Vallarta Hotel

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    K

    ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!

    Reviewed by Kris on May 01, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    We just came back from Samba, we travelled April 21-28, myself, husband and 2 boys ages 5 and 3. I don't even know where to begin. We loved every single minute of this vacation. I read so many great reviews before I booked and I can tell you that this resort did not disappoint. I work in the travel industry and have been to many resorts of all categories all over the Caribbean and Mexico. I can probably say that this was my best vacation yet! There wasn't one thing I can complain about. We were given a room on the 2nd floor facing the pool. I booked a room with a balcony and I would highly recommend you do so. The room was spacious and clean and the maid service was great. We only ate at the buffet and the beach grill and my husband is quite a picky eater and I can tell you that he ate well! There was plenty of selection. Everything was flavourful and he was very satisfied. Also plenty of choices for the kids. The wait staff were very attentive, friendly and efficient. Even if we weren't sitting in their section, we would have some of the wait staff come over to our table to say hi and make sure we were ok. Every single employee at this resort ALWAYS acknowledged us with a "Hola" and a smile. The grounds are immaculate at Samba. The pool is amazing, the kids loved the pirate ship and water slides. The beach was amazing and clean, beautiful views. The nightly entertainment was probably the best I've ever seen. Very professional shows. The magic show was absolutely incredible and I've never seen a better magic show, even here in Canada. The wifi was free and worked EVERYWHERE. I was 20 feet into the ocean and I was still receiving a connection. It was always consistent and fast (sometimes even better than home lol). Honestly, there isn't a single thing to complain about. Can't wait to go back!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    Don't be fooled by the three star rating. It was an amazing experience. We will be back.

    Reviewed by Sylvia on Nov 18, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    I was a little nervous about staying at a three star resort but it was an amazing experience. The staff were helpful and friendly. We enjoyed the beach area. It was large and clean with plenty of deck chairs. We spent hours swimming in the ocean or in the resorts pool. The pool was very large and had various depths to accomodate people of all ages and swimming ability. The D.J. was great. The food was more of the Mexican variety which we greatly appreciated. It felt more like we were getting a Mexican experience. There was lots of variety at each meal. We never went away hungry that is for sure. The drinks at the bars were excellent although I would suggest having a menu up so that those of us who are not familiar with these fancy drinks can have a look and see what is available. It is definitely a family friendly resort. Although there were two occasions when some visitors were not approriate for little ears. But this can occur at any resort. We will definitely be going back. Don't be fooled by the three star rating or the small size. We actually enjoyed the fact that the resort was smaller as it made it so much easier to get around. We got to know a few people and the service staff remembered you. Our 6 year old Grandson had a great time. The staff were great with him and remmebered him each day. There was nightly entertainment which we found quite fun.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    G

    Excellent Value, Great Staff

    Reviewed by Goodtime73 on Jan 28, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    We will definitely be returning to Samba. The rooms were very clean and we never saw any bugs the entire tire. The Iguanas in the trees were always brought attention. The staff are fantastic and the pool is never crowded. We really enjoyed our vacation.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    N

    Love that place, staff are just awesome

    Reviewed by Nancy on Apr 17, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    Great place to go, small resort. Staff are just awesome : Ricardo smile all the time, Martin the best chief, Angel, Jose, Salomon, Juan, Sergio, Salvador, Jonathan, Alejandra, Mariana, Gilberto, Sylverio, Francisco, Lore make the best breakfast, Cele, Alma, Isaac ...sorry for the one that I forgot. Everyone that I spoke with are agreed to go back there for the staff. Beach is clean, ocean warm, there is a few activities organized. Nobody that I know got sick, they use bottle water for everything. For supper if you want the Italian or Mexican restaurants you have to book it early in the morning but was fair. We also tried the buffet, very good too and lot of choices. There is a currency change at the hotel, it will cost you a little more than the bank but for a small amount that's fair it will cost you the taxi fees anyway. They can only change 100$ can in pesos, per room, per day. They have a small "convenience" store, and boutique inside the hotel or there is vendors in the beach that sell their stuff and you can bargain. I have 1 negative point, when I booked online I was allowed 3 request. We didn't have any of them. My mom who booked after me with an agency made her 3 request as well and she got it. I know that it was said that you can request but it's not 100% sure that you will have it. Also, a very positive point: first time that we use Wesjet vacation, we are very happy, it's very well organize, they meet you the next day at the hotel, we felt safe, instructions were clear. Only be careful when you arrive at the airport don't talk to the people inside that ask you at which hotel you are going to, they sell time sharing. Your agent will wait for you outside the airport. Room needs a little bit paint but was clean.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    OK for the price,3 Star at best. Great staff all around. Food was mediocre at best. Tough to reccommend to a friend.

    Reviewed by ScubaSteve on Jan 21, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Pros: Friendly and accommodating staff. Pool area and grounds were clean and well manicured. Small resort and relatively quiet. Nice beach area. Cons: Food was mediocre at best. Management needs to provide better direction to staff and assign required duties. Appeared that all staff did a little of everything allowing certain things to be overlooked. Coffee makers in all rooms for those that rise earlier in the morning as there was no coffee available until 7 AM. HVAC system can't keep up, making the rooms moist and smelling musty. Occasionally will run out of hot water.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    P

    Fantastic Staff and Beautiful Beach

    Reviewed by Penny M on Dec 21, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    I would like to say the staff are amazing. Super friendly and helpful. Speaking spanish would have helped us communicate more efficiently but we were always able to figure things out. The pool are is nice, the beach is beautiful. They do play music at the pool until the pool closes 8pm . They have activities in the pool, activities on the beach. The buffet was not great but large enough you could always find something to eat. The rooms were clean but did smell a bit musty but you are never really inside anyway . For the money spent it was a great vacation. The ocean was very warm but the under tow is something to be aware of. Over all I would say that anyone complaining about their stay at Samba needs to learn to appreciate the beauty of their surroundings. Nothing at Samba was terrible or unbearable. The biggest annoyance for me was hard pillows.

    j

    perfection for me

    Reviewed by julie rougeau on Mar 11, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    The location was perfect beach amazing sand and able to walk on the beach or lay out on the chairs under the wonderful huts for sun cover and shade. The staff were amazing alma front desk , jose bartender and martin , alvaro and victor they all provided me with superb service and should be commended a job well done we are definately planning to return next year

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    T

    Small all inclusive resort catering to Mexican families.

    Reviewed by The Bakers on Jan 25, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    The staff were excellent and friendly and went above and beyond. The resort is smaller than what we have been to before. Reading past reviews gave us the confidence to book here. However, I would not classify this as anything more than 3 stars. The food was ok but limited and nearly everything was in some kind of sauce. The facilities were basic and the activities and entertainment amateurish. This is a Mexican resort catering to large families who show up on the weekend. Our room was noisy. We had an adjoining door and could clearly hear the neighbours and noise was from the hallway had us wearing ear plugs to sleep. Our bed was hard and uncomfortable. There was mould, mildew and rust in the bathroom. This is a tired resort in need of some TLC. The beach and swimming were great. We loved the location but we are unsure if we would ever go back to Samba Vallarta.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3153 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    AMAZING!!!! WOULD DEFINITELY COME AGAIN!

    Reviewed by victoriavaccaro51() on Jul 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Most fun vacation our family has ever taken. The people were so welcoming and were always active and always getting people involved even if they were hesitant and did not speak their language. Service was amazing. Always asking if we needed anything or if anything was wrong. Bruno, Carlos, Manuel, Salvador (and all the other staff) were always on their feet and always very kind. The food was great and everything was always cooked nicely and tasted great. There were always new activities during the day whether it was water volleyball, beach volleyball, water polo, or bingo. Ceci, Jimmy, Juan and Ezequiel (Cheke Boy) always made sure we were having fun and we were involved. Overall we would most definitely come back and we thank all the staff as we appreciated all they did for us while we were there. Love, The Canadian Power Rangers <3

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Samba vallarta

    Reviewed by Angelvel3019() on Jul 04, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Very good service, they are kind to national and international visitors. The food is good and the staff members are helpful. The kayaks and equipment are great as well as the pool and rooms. Would come again

    Samba Vallarta was AMAZING!!!

    Reviewed by Jessica V(Snellville, Georgia) on Jul 02, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    First of all, we arrived at Puerto Vallarta early due to an early flight, and we were so exhausted from an overnight flight with a 4 hour layover hanging out at the Mexico International airport....So, after we got our rental car, we arrived at Samba Vallarta 2 hours earlier than check in time of 3:00pm. The Manager, Emmanuel, was very accommodating and realized how exhausted we all were...He was able to manage to give us a beautiful room with an ocean and pool view...We were able to take a nap for a couple of hours before exploring their resort. The resort itself was amazing...with a secluded private beach that stretches for miles, nice wrap around pools, and when you say all-inclusive, they really mean all-inclusive! We got our beverages, complimentary water bottles, all the alcohol we could drink but we're not big drinkers so it was all good. Their lime and mango margaritas were sooo good!!!! Our server, Salvador was excellent! All ready to get our next orders, and always with a smile... You will discover that everyone that works at Samba Vallarta serves with a smile and with a very friendly disposition. It must be the beautiful paradise location and weather that they have there.... Overall, our trip to Puerto Vallarta was everything we dreamed of and more.... They even have events, at this place such as yoga in the mornings, and zumba by the pool and other activities in the afternoon and nights. You wouldn't even need to leave this resort, if you wish. We also enjoyed the formal dinners at their La Venezia and El Mexicano restaurants.....Great food and service! We did go and drive to the towns of Sayulita and Malecon boardwalk....and those were incredible adventures as well. We can safely say, we will be back to Puerto Vallarta and probably stay at Samba Vallarta again!!! We highly recommend this place, especially for families! Oh and by the way, they have the most amazing sunsets at Puerto Vallarta!!!

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Great smaller family friendly resort!!

    Reviewed by poakie() on Jul 01, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Nice smaller resort. Staff is super friendly. Activities staff (Jose, Cheques Boy, Ceci and Fabi) were fantastic, all were very outgoing and made sure to try make everyone feel included. Activities for both adults and kids. Our kids were sad to leave the staff. Bartenders and wait staff were all amazing as well and very kid friendly.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Great vacations

    Reviewed by Laura O() on Jun 25, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    All the staff were great. When we checked in in the front desk till animation guys great. The buffet has good food, wonderful everything. Emmanuel it’s a great customer service. I will coming back and I recommend this place

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX