Royal Kona Resort

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    P

    We enjoyed our stay. The staff were very accommodating and helpful. The room was a big disappointment

    Reviewed by Pat Boudreau on Dec 13, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    We loved the location. Walking was excellent from this hotel for all downtown Kona. Service was excellent but the hotel is getting really run down and needs lots of upgrades to their room. We were so disappointed in the rooms. The tiki bar and entertainment was excellent and we loved this location right overlooking the ocean.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    A

    well worth the money. stay here!

    Reviewed by Andrew on Mar 10, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    The Hotel on the outset looks aged... but it is very well maintained and in good repair. Reno's have brought it up to the 1990's at least. Typical tropical open concept. It's Hawaii... who cares. You have to pay for the intenet if you want it in the room, but it really isn't a huge issue to use it at the bar, that is open from 11am till whenever you go to sleep! Rooms are clean and exactly as expected. Pool overlooks the ocean. While that seems redundant, its not. there is really no beach to speak of. Only Lava Rock and a small lagoon off to the side. But who needs a beach when the wildlife come to you. There wasn't a morning that I was down using the internet that I didn't see fish, dolphins, Manta Ray's, or whales breaching off the shore. A true highlight of the trip. The hotel was great and the staff friendly. Service was impecable. I would recommend to anybody.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3537 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    An Amazing Luau

    Reviewed by mark w() on May 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My wife and I decided to do the cliche thing on our vacation and go to a Luau. The Royal Kona Resort's Voyagers of the Pacific Luau was amazing. The food was great, the music was awesome and the show was perfect. They did a great job involving the audience and giving us all quite a show to remember. Not only did we leave full bellies and memories, but we left with a greater understanding of Hawaiin and Polynesian Culture. Would recommend this show to anyone wanting to attend a Luau.

    Old standby

    Reviewed by wettsun21(Albany, New York) on May 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We live on the east side of hawaii and come to kona a few times a year for a "vacation". We always stay at the royal kona because of the location and the value. It's always clean and comfortable with a very friendly staff. They offer free parking for kama'aina and a discounted standard room. I really have no complaints, just a few suggestions for thing that could be better. 1. The coffee is lousy and because this is Kona it should be of a higher caliber. Plus it's $4!!! The gift shop has it for $2 when it's open but that's lousy too. 2. The bar close way too early. 10pm. Should AT LEAST stay open until 11. 3. Beds are a bit hard and pillows too soft. Plus a room with 2 beds only has doubles and not a queen option. 4. They have a lovely pool but it's a bit small and on the weekends has too many keiki (kids). We usually use the saltwater lagoon which is great, but has also grown in popularity.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-5

    Nice stay

    Reviewed by andyinhilo(Hilo, Hawaii) on May 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Stayed one night in April, got the local rate with free parking. As where from Hilo. Could use some updating, starting to show its age. But was nice stay room is large had nice ocean view. Had dinner at Don the beach , food was good. Nice views.

    Relaxing vacay with a feel of nostalgic Hawaii

    Reviewed by Alohalanitraveler() on May 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We very much enjoyed our stay at the Royal Kona Resort. Though the decor may seem a little dated, the room was large and the bed very comfortable. I was taken back to a special time in Hawaii. The lagoon was a treat to swim in. Breakfast overlooking the ocean with sea life appearing and canoes paddling back and forth was idyllic, not to mention the wide variety of delicious offerings was a great way to start the day. Will definitely stay again!

    Lovely hotel

    Reviewed by RaiDRay(Wilmslow, United Kingdom) on May 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Booked a sea view room which is exactly what we got. In the main tower back from the front but still a fab view. Room is spacious and clean, with a big tv and small fridge and coffee maker. Coffee and toiletries replaced daily. Friendly staff. Grounds lovely with fantastic ocean views all around. Nice pool and the salt water lagoon is fantastic, even a turtle to swim with!! Can't go wrong booking to stay here.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX