Royal Kona Resort

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    A

    well worth the money. stay here!

    Reviewed by Andrew on Mar 10, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    The Hotel on the outset looks aged... but it is very well maintained and in good repair. Reno's have brought it up to the 1990's at least. Typical tropical open concept. It's Hawaii... who cares. You have to pay for the intenet if you want it in the room, but it really isn't a huge issue to use it at the bar, that is open from 11am till whenever you go to sleep! Rooms are clean and exactly as expected. Pool overlooks the ocean. While that seems redundant, its not. there is really no beach to speak of. Only Lava Rock and a small lagoon off to the side. But who needs a beach when the wildlife come to you. There wasn't a morning that I was down using the internet that I didn't see fish, dolphins, Manta Ray's, or whales breaching off the shore. A true highlight of the trip. The hotel was great and the staff friendly. Service was impecable. I would recommend to anybody.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3356 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    More than just a gift shop!

    Reviewed by Daydream158779() on Oct 15, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I appreciated the gift shop featuring cappuccino style coffees by 8 AM! I just walked several blocks looking for a strong cup of coffee to kick off my post Ironman morning. I carried several cups back to my room only to find they weren't as hot by the time I returned. Now I know....pipping hot coffees are available right at the Royal Kona Hotel with very pleasant staff to help you! Mahalo!

    Celebrating our golden wedding anniversary

    Reviewed by daphne w(Hastings, United Kingdom) on Oct 14, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    The room was good and we had a bottle in our fridge as a welcome the food was very average at best and poor at other times. The biggest disappointment for us was,the rep we had supposedly booked us a special table in the restaurant for our 50th wedding anniversary evening, when we eventually got seated there was hardly room for me to sit and my husband was sitting in the walkway,when we requested a different table,they couldn’t find us one,so we left without eating or drinking.walked into town and found better service.unfortunately all but one of the restaurant staff found it very difficult to ever smile,which is not a welcoming sign.other staff were helpful.

    Hotel in great location

    Reviewed by nicholast462(Sydney, Australia) on Oct 13, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Royal Kona is in a great location but is a little run down. It’s next to the restaurants in Kona and you can walk to all of them. Great sunset views from the hotel. You will have to pay for parking and wifi .

    Excellent location, room needs upgrade

    Reviewed by BoardingPass276025() on Oct 11, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    I was happy with my stay at Royal Kona Resort. Yes as other reviews pointed out my room seemed old. It was a standard room in Bay tower. I booked through booking.com so not sure if I booked direct I would have been assigned a room in one of the renovated towers. It was clean and I had no problems. The toilet flusher seemed like it could be adjusted but it functioned fine. Check-in was easy. Liz was very friendly and nice and answered my questions. There are great views on property - the resort is right in town and easy walking distance to shopping, restaurants, bars. I did not eat at the resort except for the Luau one night which was great -both the food and the show. I did use laundry facilities in Lagoon tower 2.25 per wash 2.00 dryer. My main complaint would be the leaf blower at 6:35 am outside which was extremely loud and way too early for that kind of noise. Guests are on vacation. Just a note Wednesday is cruise ship day and town was crowded with cruisers.

    just what we were hoping for

    Reviewed by Eugistic(Bethlehem, PA) on Oct 11, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Royal Kona Resort has a terrific location for nearby eateries, sunsets, and has just the right amount of amenities for a reasonable price. Since we knew we'd be on the road for much of our time on the big island, nothing more was needed, and this was a pleasure to come back to afterwards!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX