Royal Kona Resort

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    P

    We enjoyed our stay. The staff were very accommodating and helpful. The room was a big disappointment

    Reviewed by Pat Boudreau on Dec 13, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    We loved the location. Walking was excellent from this hotel for all downtown Kona. Service was excellent but the hotel is getting really run down and needs lots of upgrades to their room. We were so disappointed in the rooms. The tiki bar and entertainment was excellent and we loved this location right overlooking the ocean.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    A

    well worth the money. stay here!

    Reviewed by Andrew on Mar 10, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    The Hotel on the outset looks aged... but it is very well maintained and in good repair. Reno's have brought it up to the 1990's at least. Typical tropical open concept. It's Hawaii... who cares. You have to pay for the intenet if you want it in the room, but it really isn't a huge issue to use it at the bar, that is open from 11am till whenever you go to sleep! Rooms are clean and exactly as expected. Pool overlooks the ocean. While that seems redundant, its not. there is really no beach to speak of. Only Lava Rock and a small lagoon off to the side. But who needs a beach when the wildlife come to you. There wasn't a morning that I was down using the internet that I didn't see fish, dolphins, Manta Ray's, or whales breaching off the shore. A true highlight of the trip. The hotel was great and the staff friendly. Service was impecable. I would recommend to anybody.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3423 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Poor & Good service from reception

    Reviewed by kurt63mh(Singapore, Singapore) on Jan 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Room and resort very dated, but good size room and good location. As a smoker and knowing Hawaii laws on smoking I asked reception at check in as to a safe place to smoke. Her short and unhelpful response was 20 feet from property. I asked if the parking lot was ok, she replied 20 feet from property. I later asked another staff at reception and he was very friendly and helpful telling me that the resort had 3 designated smoking spots and described them (which were very convenient). Why couldn't the first one say that?

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-2

    Perfect location for a few days in Kona

    Reviewed by Cynde M(Bend, Oregon) on Jan 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We've been coming to the Big Island for 15+ years and have never stayed in downtown Kona before. This time we booked 3 nights at this Royal Kona Resort. It was the perfect spot for us to explore downtown Kailua-Kona for a few days before setting off for the northern golf resorts. We could just park the car and walk to most places we wanted to go from the hotel: (breakfast and dinner choices abound; the farmers market is nearby; our favorite ice cream (Kopi) and Shave ice (Scandinavian) are close; lots of upscale arts and tacky tourist shops, too. The place is charming -- takes one back in time a bit. The Ritz it is not, but it is clean and the rooms plenty big, and right along the ocean with awesome views. Don the Beachcomber's is right there, as is a nice looking luau. The only thing we drove to was the snorkle beach about 2 miles south.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Vacation

    Reviewed by Chuck B(Las Vegas, Nevada, United States) on Jan 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Very nice location on the south end of the resort row. Rooms are a little dated but very nice views I think the bathrooms could use to get rid of the bathtubs and go for a nice shower instead. Easy walk to downtown and the farmers market. Try get a room overlooking the pool, the north side rooms overlook the bay but you also get noise and roof of the buffet, so that was a no go for me. Corner rooms have a double glass doors on both sides to let in trade winds from either direction

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    Amazing vacation!

    Reviewed by A9641EFvictoriam(Kamloops, Canada) on Jan 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This resort is perfect in so many ways. The rooms are basic, but they are large and clean...not much else that you need while on vacation! We had an ocean view room and it was perfect. For the price you can’t go wrong with this resort! Amazing location, easy going and very accommodating staff, and the lagoon was a highlight for us! Would be great for kids too. The restaurant and bar were a bit overpriced but nice spot to watch the sunset! I was a bit worried that parking could be difficult after reading some other reviews, but we had no issues even on busy luau nights and the resort was at high occupancy I believe. Don’t hesitate in booking this place!

    Beautiful Resort, Great Location

    Reviewed by christinabH9733XB(Reno, Nevada) on Jan 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We loved the hospitality and beauty of the Royal Kona Resort. We enjoyed walking the grounds and taking in the breathtaking ocean views. The Oceanfront room is perfect to hear the waves crashing through the night. The luau had wonderful food and lots of refreshments!! In the afternoon, we spent time snorkeling and sunbathing at the Resort’s lagoon and sandy beach area. The location was close walking distance to the downtown action and easy to get to the main roads and highways if you want to explore away from the resorts.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX