Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Ixtapa
    5. Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa
    6. Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    T

    Could be great with a few improvements.

    Reviewed by Tobe134 on Apr 02, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    Realizing the HI was a 4 star, our expectations weren?t high. Pros: Friendly, accommodating staff. Rooms clean. Beach is wide and long for walking but walk early as it gets extremely hot. Right in Ixtapa, safe to walk in the evening. Ham & cheese grilled sandwich is great! Cons: Snack bar & another restaurant charge extra for items such as Guacamole even though it?s free in the main buffet. Buffets basically the same every day. No sliced cheese, cold cuts, bagels or croissants. Their margarita mix is not good. A la carte, Friday night there was a wedding so a la care was closed. Saturday was the Fiesta so all restaurants were closed. Tuesday, outside buffet so all other restaurants closed and no a la carte. Used to have 2 elevators but they decommissioned one and cemented over the openings. During our stay the one elevator for 20 floors was broken for 80% of our stay. Had to take the service elevator. One couple did not know there was another elevator since they never hung a sign and walked 18 floors every day. No mini fridge to chill your water. Ice maker in stairwell broken for a long time. 2 bottles of water/day. If you leave one bottle out, they do not leave another 2, the just replace the one. Use it or lose it. Weekends are overcrowded and noisy. The Holiday Inn resort, is a 3 star at best.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    c

    Great hotel, staff, location, and activities.

    Reviewed by cindy on Feb 23, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Friends

    We stayed here for 2 weeks. The buffet food didnt vary too much but it was very good and we ate out a few times anyway. a great location and a great beach for walking. They have a turtle "nursery" on site and we released hatchling turtles THREE times at night. a highlight of the trip ! we took the bus into zihua many times. the activities are varied and many. a special shout out to CARLOS, HUGO AND VICTOR, the activity guys, who were great ! The pool was busy at times but clean. The only negative we had was no smoke alarm for 3 days while it was being cleaned. It didnt return and we insisted an upgrade, where we suddenly had a patio and ocean view !!!! awsome ! The staff is very attentive and friendly.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    C

    Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa

    Reviewed by CWM on Jan 10, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    We stayed at this resort from the end of November and to mid December. Our room quite nice, a decent size with a coffee maker but no fridge only an ice bucket. It was quite clean - Cleaning was carried out every day, very occasionally the amount of hot water was poor and the number of towels was variable sometimes not all were replaced and sometimes there were extra. The towel sculptures were quite elaborate as mentioned by others. Regardless, in general the cleaning was very good both in our room and about the resort in general. The balcony large, faced the main activity pool and was shared with the adjoining room but we used it every day. This pool was also the children?s pool so during the day there was considerable noise. The food was good, quite a lot of Mexican fair but the the quality and variety were with a lot of local ingredients. It was rare to find the food was dried out or sitting too long. The resort had 3 options for restaurants, there were bars at the pools and a sports bar. There were scheduled entertainments or activities in the evenings but if one is staying for more than 1 week they are the same or very similar shows. The service from all the staff was very good. The location was great, very near restaurants, bars and shopping. Swimming was adventurous and not for the faint of hearted due to strong wave action. The beach was generally clean but there were cigarette butts and glasses in places. There are a large number loungers with pretty adequate shade - no drinks were served on the beach.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    B

    Great Place---Carlos is a great waiter & Orlando does a great job at the swim up bar

    Reviewed by Bob & Pam from Minnesota on Feb 23, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    we've stayed here before and have enjoyed our stay each time. The location is great , the staff is great too. We do eat out several times as the buffets get old after a while but the food is usually good at them.Would recommend to anyone looking for a decent , inexpensive vacation.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    B

    stay away from this resort

    Reviewed by Bill Z on Feb 07, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    This was our third trip to Ixtapa, our first time staying at the Holiday Inn after checking in the bellman took us to our room going through a hallway with very strong odour of sewer gas, the hallway floor tiles had the finish worn off and dirty, the room had the same worn and dirty tiles, chair in the room was very dirty and stained, toilet seat was very loose, the door was broken by the door lock and was not secure we asked the front desk that we wanted a different room we were told they could not change our room that evening and to return in the morning, we returned and asked to move to a better room we were told that there would be an extra charge we were not willing to pay any extra as this resort is way over priced. as for the food it was hit and miss as to what restaurant was open and the food was below par. the best part was the beach, sun and the ocean all of which the resort had no control of ,WILL NOT STAY AT THIS RESORT AGAIN.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    L

    Disappointing

    Reviewed by L & R Calgary on Mar 09, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    With the exception of "Danny" our host and the clean beach, our vacation was overall disappointing. The room was small and the A/C wasn't working properly, even after it was 'fixed'. The food options were not great - after the 3rd day the buffets all looked/tasted the same. The al-la-carte was not a separate restaurant, but just one of the breakfast buffet venues, with a menu. We didn't see much interaction of staff with guests no smiles or conversation included . The weekend-only guest filled the hotel and the pools were so full that the children all went to the 'quiet' pool, so it was no longer quiet for adults. The best thing was the Sunset Cruise...... additional cost

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 1926 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Holiday Inn Ixtapa Rocks

    Reviewed by Denise M(Calgary, Canada) on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We were a family of 7 - with 5 adults and two pre teens. We all had the most amazing vacation at the Holiday Inn Ixtapa. We traveled with Sunwing and had excellent flight times and all ran ON time- in fact we left early. We were so pleased with our room - we were in the little bunglows and facing the garden and front entrance. The room was perfect and spacious for 2. The bathroom had a huge walk in shower - lots of HOT water - really nice towels and toiletries. Enough drawers and cupboards and hangars for both our clothes. The KING bed was so comfortable with really nice linens-changed daily- a big difference from the Beds in Cuba (Ouch). I was thrilled we had very restful sleeps. One night was a bit loud with music...but there was a celebration outside..it ended soon enough. The rooms were cleaned daily and they were pretty spotless. Its an old complex but better than I expected, really well run. I cannot say enough about the staff there. They are the most friendly people, and so attentive its almost embarrassing. If you even glanced at a waiter he was there at your table. Premium service. We just loved the food. So much Original cuisine to choose from. I ate as authentic as I could every day. The fruit was glorious, great bread and pretty good wine. The drinks were very good. The resort seemed smaller than I thought and was not too busy, more busy on the weekend, obviously a favorite of locals too. Never had trouble finding a pool chair or a beach chair. They supplied Massive Fluffy beach towels, and if I had one complaint..it would be the pool chairs... I dislike the ones that are at this resort. They are the hammock style-I find you cannot sit comfortably in them. But that is my only complaint. The beaches are naturally very clean-no seaweed or debris and the water in April was very warm. Big waves all the time...so was very much enjoyed by our family. Except for the 2 pounds of sand in your pants.. The sea was gorgeous. Not one drop of rain nor one cloud interfered with this vacation. Literally across the street was a huge market with restaurants, shops, Ice Cream. Also two bank machines very close to the resort one HSBC and one other. The sidewalks and streets are very clean and easy to walk, with great bike paths in the middle. I wish I had rented a bike. All in all we highly recommend this resort - Its perfectly situated and the beach was amazing, but mostly I must say the Mexican people are really lovely (Like Canadians) and the staff at this resort went above and beyond to make our vacation very fun and special. I will BE BACK VERY SOON

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Wonderful staff. Fantastic location. Quiet beach.

    Reviewed by VicstrHonolulu(Honolulu) on Apr 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My boyfriend and I went to get away from the rain. I was able to book a perfect room thanks to Alajandra. The reservation manager. We also booked a private tour of the ruins and a beach lunch through guest services men. Gerardo and Victor. We were really pleased with it all. We will come back next year

    Not a 4 star resort

    Reviewed by Kush2707(Medicine Hat, Canada) on Apr 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    This resort needs upgrades. The buffet tastes good but has very limited selection. Fiesta night, Friday, is great though. Our first room balcony was too small to sit on and face the ocean as it only had room for the chair. And it smelled of mildew terribly. We requested a second room and the balcony was right on the ocean and our king bed very comfortable. But for 3 nights we had a lot of trouble with the ac, which was finally fixed day 4. Ixtapa is HOT. The two pools are very nice, and I can’t say enough about the staff. From the front desk to the repairmen to the beach bar and restaurant staff as housekeepers etc, they were all beyond excellent trying to make your stay as comfortable as possible. But truly, this is a 2-3 star resort simply because of the hotel itself.

    First and Last Time at the Holiday Inn Ixtapa

    Reviewed by tysmith(White Rock, Canada) on Apr 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    The Good: Location (across from Dining and Shopping) Cleanliness of the rooms Ocean view from the room The Bad: No Fridges in the Rooms so there is nothing restocked except 1 or 2 bottles of water daily No Drinks until after 11 am Only amenities put in the room is a bar of soap and a small shampoo Have a coffee maker in the room but they don't put any glasses or cups, sugar, coffee in there The food was terrible. I have been to AI's all over Mexico and the Carribean and never got food poisoning until this resort. So many locals on the resort (100 to 1) Entertainment and activities are all in Spanish The Ugly The front desk staff are terrible to deal with. They don't know what they are doing. Rude and dismissive. There is no consistency at all. The resort cheaps out on everything. Never been to a AI resort that cut our bracelets off but wouldn't let us eat in the buffet for lunch or have a drink while we waited for our cab. Even though we didn't have to check out until 1pm and it was only noon. They use plastic Solo cups all over the resort. The problem is they REUSE them. There is no way then can possibly get the water hot enough to sanitize them properly. They should be disposed of and recycled. They also refuse to fill up your re-usable travel mugs. Elevators barely work. Only two worked while we were there. Constant fear of being stuck in one. So many things wrong with this Holiday Inn that IHG should be embarrassed to include this hotel in their inventory. Worst Holiday Inn I have ever had the misfortune of staying at. Avoid at all costs.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-2

    Value

    Value-1

    Simple and basic from WestJet operator

    Reviewed by ILewington(Edmonton, Canada) on Apr 06, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We arrived with our family, 2 kids 9 and 11 years old on March 27 for 10 days vacation. Hotel seems to be a bit older but we felt welcomed by staff. Cleaning staff makes a good effort to keep rooms beautiful. The first weekend was super busy many local people and not enough room on the beach chairs or pool. During the weekdays it was very relaxing as hotel was maybe at 30% capacity. Accommodation: The room assigned to us was 2223 garden view with the adjoining doors to another room 2221. We asked manager to change it to main floor with pool access. And they could not, they struggle with it and said that this is what we paid for. Showers do have hot hot water and hot flashes periodically that are close to scalding. Be careful with little kids not to burn them. Part of the hotel was under renovation. But nothing was mentioned to us by westjet. Hotel seems to be simple and rooms were clean. With the exception of cockroaches that we had for few days and we complained about that, cleaning staff did the trick. We liked white towels and white sheets. Pillows were not as firm as we wish. Food- simple and basic nothing fancy, they do up-charge for better option of guacamole. There always something to pick from chicken, pork, fish or side side potatoes, pasta, and rice. We good side dishes were slightly undercooked. The food was better at alacarte restaurant. The drinks were just made and there was no drink menu. The weekend celebration of the Mexican night was interesting and food was much better. We also walked on the beach to the Pacifica hotel and took the gondola to their restaurant which has a beautiful view on the hill. Pools - the drink service at the pool was great! We loved how we were looked after . Swimming at the pool - we stayed away during the weekend. It seems like the filtration and pump circulation does not work and water gets milky and you can see so many items in there... my kids found a used tampon. They also clean the side of the pool with an anti mold spray in the morning on the sides of the pool. So after that we went to ocean water only until the weekdays and pool was clean again. The pools should be priority as the ocean is scary and instead they looked scary to me and water was soo warm and milky not looking safe at all. Ocean/beach - beautiful water but it’s not for everyone as waves are hard and sand is everywhere gets to your swim suite. But It’s still better to swim than Cabos, as water is clear and clean for sure. Snorkel is great. Did banana boat and parasails. The sunsets are breathtaking. And local people keep their beach clean which we really appreciate. We liked some hotel entertainment with boys Carlos, Hugo, and Victor. Biking was only for kids over 16, even though hotel is family oriented. So we rented the kids bikes on the street to do this tour. The biking tour of 18 kms was a big hit to the Playa Linda, beautiful trails !!! Love it!! Other activities are posted and you need to find the location of it or ask in advance. Staff does not go around asking people to join or do a reminder if you on the other side of pool you might not remember there is an activity. Wanted to do morning Stretches but could not find the location of it. Other than that kids did mini golf and baked cookies and made planes competition. We did not do any other activities at the hotel. Wanted to relax and walk on the beach and read books. We did the couple massages for 1,000 piesos on Friday promotional value at the hotel paid for an hour and got only 45 min. It was still nice. We also did scuba certification at Pacifica hotel and that was awesome experience. We took the taxi for 100 pesos only to Playa le Linda and 50 pesos by the boat per person to Ixtapa island. We would highly recommend it. The island has so much corals, fish and you can just snorkel all day long. There are beach chairs for free if you buy drinks or food. Also calmer water and taxi takes you to playa Linda where you can see crocodiles natural habitat and see different beach as well. Once you visit places like Cancun in Mexico, even Cabos it’s hard to lower expectation for service and food. However, overall we happy we came and visited this small place and seen their pearls they have to offer. Also, got our pedi certification which was reasonably priced.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX