JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort and Spa

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    D

    This place is great!

    Reviewed by Darcy on Jul 02, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    We were there for our 20th wedding anniversary and man did the staff make it special. I asked for an upgraded room (I had no problem paying), the person at the front desk handed us a suit as a gift from the hotel. My wife and I were so impressed. Ashley at the pool was so nice. She bought us a drink as a gift from her and when we got back to our room after dinner there was a bottle of champagne and choc. covered strawberries waiting for us, along with a nice card.....from Ashley!!!!......Unbelievable!!! She's the best! Roy's restaurant is wonderful. We ate outside......it's so beautiful with the tiki torches lighting the patio. They gave us a nice desert with "Happy 20th Anniversary" on it, written in Hawaiian. This is a first class resort in my books. All staff were awesome, location is great and golf course immaculate! I have not one bad thing to say.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3048 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Sub par service

    Reviewed by jmartinez686(Denver, Colorado) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    After staying at several Marriott properties over the years I can say that the service at the JW Desert Ridge was below Marriott standards. The staff, while attentive at first is unknoweldgeable, laxidasicale, and slow. I expected more from a JW brand.... next time I’m in Scottsdale I won’t be staying here.

    Amazing

    Reviewed by Pepperandcoco(Seattle, Washington) on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Great service, beautiful grounds, super family-friendly! The large lawn where the kids can run around and play is spectacular and they have kids movies and activities. We own a timeshare there and are always happy to come back

    Gorgeous Property

    Reviewed by nicholasdF1143DC(Gallipolis, United States) on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I recently stayed at the JW Mariott for a business trip and it was absolutely wonderful! Great rooms, great food, great service, wonderful resort. It's a little on the pricey side but well worth it. Golf course is immaculate nice pool and lazy river.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Overcrowded

    Reviewed by Tinyte13(Merrick, New York) on Apr 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We stayed here for Celebrity Fight Night and a conference. It is just way too overcrowded. Out by the pool you are practically sitting on top of other people and some people were actually sharing lounge chairs or just throwing towels on the ground to sit on. I felt like I was at some spring break resort. The gym was a decent size but they may want to update the website because it states that there are two gyms. When I asked an employee where the other one was they stated that it is just the one at the spa. I also think that housekeeping must be overwhelmed because the last three days we didn't have housekeeping at all and no we did not request to go green and skip it. Thankfully we are pretty neat and just wound up calling for extra towels. Fortunately we have been advised by our conference that we are not returning to this hotel.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-3

    Just a Day Trip But Wonderful Resort

    Reviewed by Snoopy2758(Prior Lake, Minnesota) on Apr 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We were actually staying at the Marriott Canyon Villas just down the road, but had use privileges at Desert Ridge. Great Spa, Revive, with its own adult pool and attached grill with wine and beer. Healthy and tasty food options and reasonable prices. Main pool area is great as well. Had dinner at Meritage, but more on that in its own review.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX