JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort and Spa

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    D

    This place is great!

    Reviewed by Darcy on Jul 02, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    We were there for our 20th wedding anniversary and man did the staff make it special. I asked for an upgraded room (I had no problem paying), the person at the front desk handed us a suit as a gift from the hotel. My wife and I were so impressed. Ashley at the pool was so nice. She bought us a drink as a gift from her and when we got back to our room after dinner there was a bottle of champagne and choc. covered strawberries waiting for us, along with a nice card.....from Ashley!!!!......Unbelievable!!! She's the best! Roy's restaurant is wonderful. We ate outside......it's so beautiful with the tiki torches lighting the patio. They gave us a nice desert with "Happy 20th Anniversary" on it, written in Hawaiian. This is a first class resort in my books. All staff were awesome, location is great and golf course immaculate! I have not one bad thing to say.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3062 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great anniversary trip at an awesome resort!

    Reviewed by andrewross1() on May 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed here for our 5th wedding anniversary, great sense of arrival experience, Zach at the front desk remembered our anniversary and sent us up an amenity with champagne. While at the fun lazy river, had stellar service by Travis who remembered our names and what we liked to drink. Would definitely return and highly recommend to others while in Phoenix.

    Nice hotel but mixed reviews

    Reviewed by AmosC_13(Columbus, Indiana) on May 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My wife and I stayed here while she was at a conference and I went to baseball games. We like Marriott properties. So, we were glad to know we would be staying at this property. This place is extremely nice. The landscaping is awesome. The pool is nice and the golf course is also nice. There are just a few logistical things I didn’t care for. 1. We chose to self park. The parking lot is a long walk from the lobby. There is a valet option but the hotel room rate was already outrageous so we chose self park. We got our exercise going to and from the car. 2. The check in desk is off to the side. You walk in the lobby and we were looking for the desk. It was around the corner to the right. 3. Our adult son was with us so we needed two beds. Most hotels today have queen beds. This place had two full size beds. It was a bit tight for my wife and I. 4. Did I mention it was expensive. Overall, the property is nice but there were some issues that I would have to consider if I was back in the area and needed a place to stay.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-2

    Nice Hotel - Poor check in/check out

    Reviewed by effymay() on May 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    I checked in and specifically asked if incidentals could be put on a separate card from the room fees. Answer was yes and both cards were taken and swiped. I checked out and asked the clerk if the incidentals would be put on the separate card. Answer was yes. Got my e-mail folio and all charges were on the same card. Called the hotel, after some time they transferred me to a external customers service group. Explained the problem to the rep. The rep could not address the issue but would send me a form to fill out and fax back. What kind of service is this??? No apologies, no sorry for your troubles, nothing. Horrible customer service from beginning to end!

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-1

    Value

    Value-1

    Very friendly but underwhelmed

    Reviewed by Emnuss() on May 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    My husband and I flew out for a work conference he is attending. We had a 3 am wake up call to travel so were looking into settling into a nice place. Parts of this resort are wonderful. The lobby and grounds are beautiful and all the staff are incredibly friendly. When we arrived we were informed our reservation had been for the night before and we had been charged a no show fee. The print out reservation we had with us had our correct dates listed and it caused a bit of confusion if we would be able to get a room or not. After what was determined a glitch in the system, they waived the late fee and said they would be able to get us a room. We got to the hotel at 8:30 am and figured we’d have to wait to get into a room. We asked for a Mountain View room and was assured we were getting a room with a good view. After seeing so Many guests checking in and receiving room keys, around 1:00 I began to inquire about when our room would be ready. I was given the choice to wait for our Mountain View room or settle with a standard view. The staff kept telling me we would be getting a room with a great view and we decided to continue to wait. Around 3:30 we finally got the call our room was ready. I had so much excitement to see our view and was happy we waited all day for it. To say our “Mountain View” room was with it is a huge understatement. I am attaching our view of the overhang to the parking lot. Even after getting to the room I called to see if there was a mistake and they said I was in a Mountain View room and I could wait and see if anything else opens up. After waiting 7 hours I was ready to lay down didn’t want to wait anymore. Again, everyone has been very friendly but I was getting excited the way the staff was talking about how great a view we were getting g and made my wait worth it and then felt greatly disappointed when I finally got into our room. Would have just preferred realistic expectations.

    Poor service, poor room design.

    Reviewed by 244NeilS(New York City, New York) on May 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Arrived at the hotel, bellman opened the back of the SUV to grab the luggage, I asked him nicely to leave it there (as I had expensive camera equipment in it), he growled that he was just doing his job, and slammed the door closed so hard I worried the window would break. Went to check in. Was told there were only rooms with two double beds available, even though I had reserved a king. After a discussion about the meaning of being a Titanium Elite, the check-in person miraculously found a suite to put me in. Why is it always a fight to get the right room? Went to unpack and found that the part of the closet tall enough to hang shirts and pants did not have a hanging bar. After my meeting, I attempted to order room service. The phone rang for 15 minutes and no one picked up. I waited a bit and tried again. No answer. I walked all the way down to the reception desk and spoke to a manager to try to order some food. He did eventually have something sent up. I’m sure the response from the hotel will point out they didn’t charge for the food. Given that it took almost 90 minutes to eat from the time I started to order, not impressed that they didn’t charge me. During the three days I was there, attempted to eat in one of the restaurants. Sat at the table for 15 minutes, and then left after no one came to give me water or a menu. This may sound petty, but the night table was too far from the bed to reach anything. To get my phone or glasses, I had to get out of bed. None of the outlets in the bedroom worked – they were all loose. Had to charge the phone in the bathroom. Each time they cleaned the room, they left fewer and fewer towels in the bathroom. Just sort of odd. I tried to have some of these issues addressed while I was there. No manager would engage except one who said he’d see to it that I was compensated for the service issues. Never was. After I got home, I filled out the survey and a front desk manager emailed me. Her note didn’t make a lot of sense, but I reminded her about the compensation. Never heard from her again. Her initials are CH in case anyone reading wants to follow up. Don’t stay here if you don’t have to. If this is how they treat a Bonvoy Titanium, I worry for the non-elites.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-1

    Service

    Service-1

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX