Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Ixtapa
    5. Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa
    6. Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    T

    Could be great with a few improvements.

    Reviewed by Tobe134 on Apr 02, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    Realizing the HI was a 4 star, our expectations weren?t high. Pros: Friendly, accommodating staff. Rooms clean. Beach is wide and long for walking but walk early as it gets extremely hot. Right in Ixtapa, safe to walk in the evening. Ham & cheese grilled sandwich is great! Cons: Snack bar & another restaurant charge extra for items such as Guacamole even though it?s free in the main buffet. Buffets basically the same every day. No sliced cheese, cold cuts, bagels or croissants. Their margarita mix is not good. A la carte, Friday night there was a wedding so a la care was closed. Saturday was the Fiesta so all restaurants were closed. Tuesday, outside buffet so all other restaurants closed and no a la carte. Used to have 2 elevators but they decommissioned one and cemented over the openings. During our stay the one elevator for 20 floors was broken for 80% of our stay. Had to take the service elevator. One couple did not know there was another elevator since they never hung a sign and walked 18 floors every day. No mini fridge to chill your water. Ice maker in stairwell broken for a long time. 2 bottles of water/day. If you leave one bottle out, they do not leave another 2, the just replace the one. Use it or lose it. Weekends are overcrowded and noisy. The Holiday Inn resort, is a 3 star at best.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    c

    Great hotel, staff, location, and activities.

    Reviewed by cindy on Feb 23, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Friends

    We stayed here for 2 weeks. The buffet food didnt vary too much but it was very good and we ate out a few times anyway. a great location and a great beach for walking. They have a turtle "nursery" on site and we released hatchling turtles THREE times at night. a highlight of the trip ! we took the bus into zihua many times. the activities are varied and many. a special shout out to CARLOS, HUGO AND VICTOR, the activity guys, who were great ! The pool was busy at times but clean. The only negative we had was no smoke alarm for 3 days while it was being cleaned. It didnt return and we insisted an upgrade, where we suddenly had a patio and ocean view !!!! awsome ! The staff is very attentive and friendly.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    C

    Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa

    Reviewed by CWM on Jan 10, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    We stayed at this resort from the end of November and to mid December. Our room quite nice, a decent size with a coffee maker but no fridge only an ice bucket. It was quite clean - Cleaning was carried out every day, very occasionally the amount of hot water was poor and the number of towels was variable sometimes not all were replaced and sometimes there were extra. The towel sculptures were quite elaborate as mentioned by others. Regardless, in general the cleaning was very good both in our room and about the resort in general. The balcony large, faced the main activity pool and was shared with the adjoining room but we used it every day. This pool was also the children?s pool so during the day there was considerable noise. The food was good, quite a lot of Mexican fair but the the quality and variety were with a lot of local ingredients. It was rare to find the food was dried out or sitting too long. The resort had 3 options for restaurants, there were bars at the pools and a sports bar. There were scheduled entertainments or activities in the evenings but if one is staying for more than 1 week they are the same or very similar shows. The service from all the staff was very good. The location was great, very near restaurants, bars and shopping. Swimming was adventurous and not for the faint of hearted due to strong wave action. The beach was generally clean but there were cigarette butts and glasses in places. There are a large number loungers with pretty adequate shade - no drinks were served on the beach.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    B

    Great Place---Carlos is a great waiter & Orlando does a great job at the swim up bar

    Reviewed by Bob & Pam from Minnesota on Feb 23, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    we've stayed here before and have enjoyed our stay each time. The location is great , the staff is great too. We do eat out several times as the buffets get old after a while but the food is usually good at them.Would recommend to anyone looking for a decent , inexpensive vacation.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    B

    stay away from this resort

    Reviewed by Bill Z on Feb 07, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    This was our third trip to Ixtapa, our first time staying at the Holiday Inn after checking in the bellman took us to our room going through a hallway with very strong odour of sewer gas, the hallway floor tiles had the finish worn off and dirty, the room had the same worn and dirty tiles, chair in the room was very dirty and stained, toilet seat was very loose, the door was broken by the door lock and was not secure we asked the front desk that we wanted a different room we were told they could not change our room that evening and to return in the morning, we returned and asked to move to a better room we were told that there would be an extra charge we were not willing to pay any extra as this resort is way over priced. as for the food it was hit and miss as to what restaurant was open and the food was below par. the best part was the beach, sun and the ocean all of which the resort had no control of ,WILL NOT STAY AT THIS RESORT AGAIN.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    L

    Disappointing

    Reviewed by L & R Calgary on Mar 09, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    With the exception of "Danny" our host and the clean beach, our vacation was overall disappointing. The room was small and the A/C wasn't working properly, even after it was 'fixed'. The food options were not great - after the 3rd day the buffets all looked/tasted the same. The al-la-carte was not a separate restaurant, but just one of the breakfast buffet venues, with a menu. We didn't see much interaction of staff with guests no smiles or conversation included . The weekend-only guest filled the hotel and the pools were so full that the children all went to the 'quiet' pool, so it was no longer quiet for adults. The best thing was the Sunset Cruise...... additional cost

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 2222 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Maravillosas vacaciones

    Reviewed by Navid M() on Aug 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    They staff are very attentive and friendly. Valentin and Cesar always welcomed us with open arms. Highly recommend staying here. Great service, great food, perfect location. My family and I are rewards club members with special privileges. Well worth becoming a member. I recommend the mimosas for breakfast.

    Good vacation, can't complain

    Reviewed by lreyna1081(Rowlett, Texas) on Aug 05, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We visited Ixtapa and stayed at the Holiday inn resort. The experience was great, the food was so-so but the accommodations were good. We had an issue with our a/c but the manager changed our rooms the next day and we were happy with that. The beach was clean. They definitely need more beach chairs, but if you get there early you'll find some. Overall, it's worth visiting and the experience was good.

    Family Vacations

    Reviewed by Jimena G() on Jul 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The road is wonderful for seen and all the trees, is exercising, the animators Uriel, Carlos, Cristopher and Hugo with a grateful deal, it was too great!! Every activity is enjoyable for do it with family. The restaurants’ food so delicius and smell uff

    Excellent experience

    Reviewed by pablosJ4777SN() on Jul 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I highly recommend this resort if you visit Ixtapa. I visited this resort with some friends and we really enjoy the experience. There’s always an activity in the hotel and we were always entertained. They have excellent food and very good wines and beverages. The rooms are very clean and spacious. The beach is wonderful and it is rewarded with the blue flag. This means it is one of the cleanest beaches in Mexico. The staff is very friendly and they were very helpful. I will not doubt to visit again holiday inn in my next visit to ixtapa. ¡Muchas gracias por la gran experiencia!

    Summer experience

    Reviewed by Arielcohw94(Tel Aviv, Israel) on Jul 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I highly recommend this resort, I came with some friends and it was amazing, friendly staff, room always tidy, good service everywhere, full with activities, cycling tour where you can see crocodiles and parrots to playa linda, beach volleyball, basketball and even dancing and shows From the room you are able to see the bay, which has a blue flag award (meaning one of the cleanest beaches in Mexico). In the kitchen lots of diferent types of food and even wines imported from Spain. I am 100% sure that I will visit again! If you are visiting Ixtapa Zihuatanejo Holiday Inn is a great place to stay!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX