Sunshine Suites Resort

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 2084 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Good value and convenient

    Reviewed by janerI8680JI() on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This offered me everything I needed without excessive charges. It was convenient for the beach, where you could use the Weston facilities without then additional cost of their fancy prices. My room was very spacious, and clean, and they had upgraded me to a larger suite on the ground floor. Pool was great. Easy access to shops and supermarket, and the nearby peach wave frozen yoghurt store was great.

    Good alternative to expensive resorts

    Reviewed by igorjrr(New York City, New York) on Aug 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    First, not specific to this hotel (but applicable to it), I really hope regulators do their job and force all hotels to list ALL charges in their advertised prices. The mandatory resort fee has been used to make it difficult to compare final prices. Sunshine Suites has a $35 daily resort fee in August 2019. KEEP IN MIND you will not see any beach from this hotel. The beach is absolutely gorgeous, clean calm water. You have to decide if you want to pay the price to just walk to the beach from your room, or do a 5-minute walk crossing a road. Not a dangerous road, and there is a safewalk. We are used to it in our country, but if you are there for the best vacation of the year, then rethink. I saved at least half of the cost by staying at Sunshine (just the mandatory resort fee alone is almost double at Westin...). We enjoyed the food at the Sunshine Grill by the pool, the food was good and well served. Breakfast should be of better quality. One day the egg was overcooked and green-ish inside (overcooked), not safe to eat. Many times there was something missing: milk ran out, or pastries, or pancakes. There was not only one perfect breakfast day - we always faced some inconvenience. It seems there is not enough food and/or staff to work on it. The door to the breakfast house could be reviewed - it slams hard and make a loud noise, many people were disturbed by it. On the other hand, it's good there is at least something, because unless you have a car, you don't have many options for breakfast near the hotel: would be either at the Westin, or going to the supermarket and doing it yourself. It just needs to be better managed/served. There was some work outside our room. The smell was horrible (yes, that smell), even with the door and windows closed. The manager apologized and said this was not expected. It was so bad that I had a little headache and we decided to leave the room. The Sunshine Suites and Westin across the street belong to/are operated by the same hotel group (Pyramid). We went to Ferdinand's restaurant inside Westin and had a very bad experience. I ordered a lobster ravioli, and received a plate that seemed like a leftover from someone else, I'm not exaggerating. There were 5 mini-sized raviolis, and the sauce was really a leftover because you could see the chef attempted to cover just the top of each mini ravioli. As I ate, I hurt my teeth and thought it was a bone - no, it was a piece of plastic, inside the ravioli. Fortunately it was in my very first bite of the ravioli. I called the server and the supervisor. I could see that the server had something similar before, most likely I'm not the first one to be surprised with poor quality of (at least) this ravioli dish. The supervisor could be friendlier in handling this. I returned everything even though I hate to throw food away, but my health should come first. I highly suggest that Westin immediately take this item off the menu. Not only it felt like a roadside meal (absolutely bad for a Westin hotel) but also dangerous as there was a hard plastic inside the ravioli. I would consider coming back here in my next vacation, if their price is below $280 per day, plus tax and resort fee ($35). For more than that, I would check nearby hotels and accomodations.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Great Value Beautiful Beaches

    Reviewed by JeannineS616(Malvern, Pennsylvania) on Aug 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Stayed at Sunshine 2 weeks ago and my family of 4 enjoyed it tremendously! The room was clean and smelled fine. We were not there to cook, but the kitchenette was supplied appropriately for what we needed. Agreed that the rooms are somewhat outdated, but no deal breaker. I thought the complementary breakfast was great, coffee was delicious. Plenty of fresh fruit, bananas, pastries, cereal, milk, juice, pancakes, yogurt with fruit. I thought the little 'shack' was adorable where the breakfast was set up, and my 14 year old son adored the chickens outside. Having the access to Westin amenities was key. Great umbrellas, chairs, towels and nice happy hours everyday. For anyone who complains that you have to walk past garbage dumpsters to get to the beach, that is YOUR choice. To me, walking along side the Westin and passing some trash cans to get to a beautiful beach is something I would call a 'champagne problem'. Easily you can choose to walk through the Westin (lobby smells amazing!) to get to the beach. Lunch at the Westin was fantastic and you can charge everything to your Sunshine room. We only ate at the Sunshine Grill once, but it was delicious with the refreshing little cone at the end of our meal! I wish we would have eaten there again, but there were so many places we wanted to try on the island. The only thing that I would suggest to improve if possible is the sound of the air conditioning unit at night. It was loud when it would pop back on. We really want to come back to Sunshine Suites ASAP!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Excellent resort

    Reviewed by Mirtasue(St Martin / St Maarten) on Aug 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The Sunshine Suites Resort is located less than 2 blocks from the beach. The location is great. Close to Foster's supermarket, close to public transportation. The best feature is that as a guest we were able to use the facilities at the Westin Resort , on the beach. Free umbrellas, chairs and towels. Great service. The unit we had at the Sunshine was clean, with all essentials provided and comfortable. The gardens are immaculate.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Not the greatest!!

    Reviewed by Roam597619() on Aug 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    The property is tired, rooms smell musty, no elevator (3 floors), no dishwasher, no oven and minimal eating utensils. People are very nice and the restaurant is very good. The salvation is the relationship this facility has with the Westin across the street....great beach there, but about 1/8 mile walk to get there.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-2

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX