Aston Islander On the Beach

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    G

    A great stay

    Reviewed by Glenn on Mar 09, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Spent two weeks at this lovely place and will be going back for sure. Great location & wonderful staff. Grab a free coffee or two between 0730-9am at the lobby. Nice pool area, simple & small, but that's all it needs. Poolside bar opens daily at 2pm and usually goes to at least 10pm. Lots of beach or lawn area to lay about. If you're staying more than just a few days, rent a bicycle to get around. You'll only need a car for two days to see the island. Make use of the taxi's, they are great and can take you out for a tour or day. Don't judge by 1st looks when eating out as there is some great food to be had. Paradise Deli, 5 min. walk towards the bridge, just behind the Shell gas station makes some great breakfast sandwhiches think omelette in a bun . Wahoo Seafood, 5 min walk towards Kapa'a, very friendly and great food. Bobby V Pizza, 10 min walk towards Kapa'a is one of the nicest thin crust I've ever had & they are planning to move into the Coconut Plaza when it's ready. Speaking of that, about half reno'd now with quite a few shops open. Don't forget the Lava Lava Club just down the beach or the Fish Market Cafe has more than fish just outside the main entrance. About 15 min drive to airport-$23 usd taxi ride.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 1938 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great location for many activities

    Reviewed by sandiegolady75(San Diego, California) on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed in unit #161, which is ground floor and has an ocean view (building is diagonal to the beach. We are a family of four, with two 12 year olds. Next year we probably would have to rent two units, but the pull out couch worked for the kids this year. The room has a king sized bed, a pull out sofa, table with two chairs, patio table with two chairs, mini fridge, microwave, and basic silverware, plates,ironing board, two boogie boards, two beach chairs, two beach towels, coffee maker, two coolers. The ice machine is nearby in the building front and to the left. Bring extra t.p. and paper towels or buy them at foodland. There is no laundry service at the condo but there is one about a mile away next to foodland. The machines are huge so you can do a weeks worth of laundry for four people for like 8 bucks in one machine. Foodland is cheaper than the other stores nearby and if you register with your phone number you get the discounts. We saved 30 dollars just buying a few things. The condo is a perfect location to do the backcountry adventure tubing, rainbow kayak adventures, sleeping giant cafe (fantastic food), lava lounge, and smith family luau. The kayaking actually shared the parking lot. Use my itinerary for a great trip, stay here, then book the tubing, the kayaking, the luau, see ke'e' beach and snorkel there and poi poi beach, and take the island helicopters tour of the napali coast. If you plan to drive to the napali coast and see Ke'e' beach it takes about an hour to get there. Don't forget to make reservations on line 2 weeks in advance of the day you visit if you want parking. Coconut grove shopping center is within easy walking distance and has free shows twice a week in their pavilion area. There is an ABC store, clothing stores, and shave ice right there as well. Groceries were expensive, drive to foodland. The beach is beautiful, it's on the east side of the island so it's not recommended for swimming due to rip currents. It is very close to lydgate beach which has a lava rock protected area to swim and snorkel, I recommend this for kid learning to snorkel. The pool is nice, has a bar and a hot tub. It also has three grills. Hit up costco and grill everynight. Keep the AC on dry setting for a more comfortable stay. THere is one blanket for the bed and one for the pullout as well as sheets and 4 pillows.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Hostile reception

    Reviewed by Jills56(Sydney, Australia) on Aug 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    The moment we arrived at the hotel we could tell it wasn’t going to be a good experience. Susan on reception was so incredibly rude. She must have been having a bad day because the next day she was trying hard but that was too little too late from the way she behaved when we arrived.

    budget friendly and very well located

    Reviewed by FrogsAndNewts(East Meadow, New York) on Jul 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Kapaa is an excellent location on Kauai for excursions -- going east or west is a breeze and you can find yourself in the canyon or at the beaches within only a short drive. The hotel is right on the beach -- my ocean view room was mere steps from the water, though I wouldn't necessarily swim at this rocky location. The front desk staff were entirely helpful and lovely. A situation occurred with my room and they solved it before I even arrived. No restaurant on site, but there is a shopping center across the parking lot with choices. The pool is tiny, but it was lovely to sit next to sipping a cold drink listening to the local musician at evening. I'm used to swank resorts and this is not one, but it is well kept, well priced, well located, and entirely lives up to what it needs to do.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Not a bad place

    Reviewed by CaliKlines(Yorba Linda, California) on Jul 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We booked the Aston Islander thru Costco, and it was inexpensive and a decent value. Rooms were clean and cold.We were in the Maui building...not a great location on the property, but we were mere steps away from the beach. We enjoyed the proximity to the Island Market (ABC Store) and to the Lava Lava Beach Club in the Kaua'i Shores hotel next door. It was a great place to eat right on the sand. We also ended up using their pool and hot tub, as the water felt less chlorinated. To hit a good beach, you really have to drive. Not far, but not right out your door either.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    Average

    Reviewed by Luciano S(Harlingen, Texas) on Jun 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    The resort is conveniently located near the Lihue airport and is indeed on the beach. After that, it's kind of what the title says. The place is dated and in need of a face lift. The rooms are kept clean and have the bear necessities amenities. However, the bathrooms are small. I can, however, see this place blossom with adequate renovations. The beach is narrow and very rough. I'd recommend water footwear if tempted to dive in the ocean. The best part of it are the grounds that are kept pristine clean and cosmetically attractive. The pool, hot tub and pool bar are cute in their own way. As far as I'm concerned, it fit the bill for a short, one night stay.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX