Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Puerto Vallarta
    5. Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta
    6. Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    J

    Paradise anyway you look at it!

    Reviewed by JerryNJ on Jun 17, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2014

    Trip Type: Couple

    We stayed a week at VDP in May of 2014. We loved everything about it. Friendly and accommodating employees. We ate at the restaurants a few times and enjoyed the food and drinks. We had a studio room on the 3rd floor with a beautiful view overlooking the pool. Everything in the resort is incredibly clean! Walkin distance to many places to eat and have drinks. There's a bus stop right out front so getting around is easy. A large grocery store is a 10 minute walk to stock up on snacks, water and other essentials. The resort is beachfront on Banderas Bay with spectacular views of the mountains and bay with many water activities available. All this for a very reasonable price. I highly reccomend Villa Del Palmar to anyone visiting Puerto Vallarta. I am looking forward to returning to PV someday and will be staying at VDP for sure!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    W

    Comfortable and Relaxing Pleasant Surroundings

    Reviewed by WinnipegWay on Mar 21, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    We had a comfortable vacation at this resort. It was not great or fantastic or exceptional but it was comfortable. We stayed for two weeks. March 2 to 16 It rained for the last 2 days of our stay. *The check-in process was smooth and quick we arrived at approx.11:00 AM We were given our AI wristbands by 11:20 AM and informed that our room would not be ready till 3:00 PM. Okay; no big deal we'll go and catch a bite at the restaurant Patron . But before that happens we are met by the concierge to go over the hotel welcome package. Nice thought; but in reality it was a timeshare pitch; which for us was okay since we bluntley told him that we were not interested in timeshares. *The room when we finally got our cards was a delux studio with a small kitchenette. The decor was not mexican in my thinking but some gosh awful post modern pastel pinks and blues with two double beds instead of the king size we had requested!!! Our vacation provider does not seem to have much pull in the type of representation they have for meeting their clients requests at this resort. The room was 3227 2nd floor located in building 3 and the room was facing the distant main highway for Puerto Vallarta we were never bothered by traffic noise as we were far enough away from the street We at this point made up our mind to stay put and get on with our vacation. LIKES: The staff who checked us in, the maid who made our room, the waiters and pool boys who served us; were what made the stay pleasant. The evening entertainment had some really good performances along with a few mediocre acts. But a good balance of entertainment. Place overall was clean; DISLIKES: AI does not mean all food and spirits available to us during stay only beer available Corona ACK!!ACK!!GAG!!GAG!! , Pacifico others extra; bailey's extra. Very small beachfront. The insufferable SPRING BREAKERS whose behaviour mimics morons . If they were in my hotel I would kick them out so the rest could enjoy their vacations.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3475 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Terrible the second time as well

    Reviewed by cindy_masaro(Vancouver, Canada) on Feb 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Stay away from this property unless you want to ingest second hand cigarette and cigar smoke and fight for Pool and beach chairs. We stayed at this property two years ago and THE only reason we stayed here again was because of my in-laws. They stay at this resort and we wanted to be close to them so we thought we’d give this resort a second chance in the hopes that things had changed. We obviously made a wrong decision. Nothing much has changed from my first review a couple of years ago. Once of the worst things is that smoking occurs all over the resort. Although this property advertises that it’s a smoke free resort, it is nothing of the sort. We had someone smoking in the room (on the balcony) next to us and the second hand smoke continually wafted over to our balcony and inside our room. The individual staying in the room resorted to burning incense to mask the smell but that only made matters worse. I complained to the front desk at least five times and every time I was told something would be done about it, but nothing was ever happened and the smoking continued. All management had to do was look on the balcony to see the ashtray that was full of cigarette butts. Also, the maid was cleaning the room and when the door was open, we could see the incense burning inside the room. In addition, the daily fight for pool and beach chairs is ridiculous. Although the property has signs stating that pool/beach chairs are not to be reserved, people are out at the pool and the beach at 6:00 a.m. reserving their chairs with towels and pool noodles. Often, these people are not seen for hours if not most of the day. Management does not do a thing about it. There are many more disturbing things about this property but I’d be here all day writing about them. The worst ones for us were the smoke and the fact that we had no where to sit. We will not be going back even if my in-laws continue to stay here. My advice - Stay away! There are far nicer places to stay in Puerto Vallarta.

    Safety. Nice beaches around. Friendly!

    Reviewed by 536daleg() on Feb 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Just came home from 10 days. Courteous welcoming staff. Kimberly of front desk staff helped with room (one bedroom) and internet service and ALL through our stay. Awesome welcome staff, bell service, pool and restaurant folks. All happy. One bedroom was large, cleaned everyday, two TVs, large refrigerator, plates, silveware, glasses... outside lanai had table four chairs - we were above the pool area (there are three pools). We will be back next year. Outside, cheap taxi's - 80 to 125 pesos to downtown or old town. locals buses (use them) run in front of us - 10 pesos ($.50) per ride. Walmart / Sams were about a mile away. I took my empty suitcase on bus to WMT, grabbed a cab back (heavy suitcase) (was 50P). Recommend: Don't spend time on the time share presentation. Lose a day of sun around the pool. All of the pool staff were friendly. I tip $5.00 US each day and a bit more. Great service. Drinks are good, Marqs will relax you. Ah, one negative they have associate with Tani Tours (says 'city'). Do NOT take this. Huge waste of time. Google them and read reviews. I rate a "one". Leave at 9:30 and return 4pm (we were - 4:45 pm!!!) We will return to this resort. Dale (were there 2/6 - 2/10/19

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Family

    Reviewed by LouisHartman() on Feb 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Stretching class lead by Monse was excellent. Enjoyed the show put on by the activity group very much.. The activities around the pool were entertaining. The service was excellent and kept my imagination and was very good.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Great vacation

    Reviewed by triciam341(Edmonton) on Feb 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We once again had an amazing 16 days in Puerto Vallarta, we stayed at villa del palmar this year because we had heard that karina that runs kids club had moved to that resort. Karina is by far the most incredible person and no one could love the kids more. You guys are extremely lucky to have her she is an asset and the reason I will return to your resort next month.

    Mexico Flavor

    Reviewed by Fred W(Winnipeg, Canada) on Feb 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Easy to rate. It’s a Wow. Anyone that gives less than a 4 for this property has an attitude problem or minimal travel experience. If you to go to Mexico and feel like you are in Mexico this is the place to be. Bonus features are the excellent gym, great staff and overall welcome feeling of your time at the resort. Rooms are so clean you have to smile. Easy access to town by bus or taxi, grocery close by and plenty of options. It is impossible not to have a good time. I feel bad for those that choose those American high rise style properties, when you want to enjoy Mexico and the warm culture of the people.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX