Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Ixtapa
    5. Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa
    6. Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    c

    Great hotel, staff, location, and activities.

    Reviewed by cindy on Feb 23, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Friends

    We stayed here for 2 weeks. The buffet food didnt vary too much but it was very good and we ate out a few times anyway. a great location and a great beach for walking. They have a turtle "nursery" on site and we released hatchling turtles THREE times at night. a highlight of the trip ! we took the bus into zihua many times. the activities are varied and many. a special shout out to CARLOS, HUGO AND VICTOR, the activity guys, who were great ! The pool was busy at times but clean. The only negative we had was no smoke alarm for 3 days while it was being cleaned. It didnt return and we insisted an upgrade, where we suddenly had a patio and ocean view !!!! awsome ! The staff is very attentive and friendly.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    C

    Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa

    Reviewed by CWM on Jan 10, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    We stayed at this resort from the end of November and to mid December. Our room quite nice, a decent size with a coffee maker but no fridge only an ice bucket. It was quite clean - Cleaning was carried out every day, very occasionally the amount of hot water was poor and the number of towels was variable sometimes not all were replaced and sometimes there were extra. The towel sculptures were quite elaborate as mentioned by others. Regardless, in general the cleaning was very good both in our room and about the resort in general. The balcony large, faced the main activity pool and was shared with the adjoining room but we used it every day. This pool was also the children?s pool so during the day there was considerable noise. The food was good, quite a lot of Mexican fair but the the quality and variety were with a lot of local ingredients. It was rare to find the food was dried out or sitting too long. The resort had 3 options for restaurants, there were bars at the pools and a sports bar. There were scheduled entertainments or activities in the evenings but if one is staying for more than 1 week they are the same or very similar shows. The service from all the staff was very good. The location was great, very near restaurants, bars and shopping. Swimming was adventurous and not for the faint of hearted due to strong wave action. The beach was generally clean but there were cigarette butts and glasses in places. There are a large number loungers with pretty adequate shade - no drinks were served on the beach.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    B

    Great Place---Carlos is a great waiter & Orlando does a great job at the swim up bar

    Reviewed by Bob & Pam from Minnesota on Feb 23, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    we've stayed here before and have enjoyed our stay each time. The location is great , the staff is great too. We do eat out several times as the buffets get old after a while but the food is usually good at them.Would recommend to anyone looking for a decent , inexpensive vacation.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    B

    stay away from this resort

    Reviewed by Bill Z on Feb 07, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    This was our third trip to Ixtapa, our first time staying at the Holiday Inn after checking in the bellman took us to our room going through a hallway with very strong odour of sewer gas, the hallway floor tiles had the finish worn off and dirty, the room had the same worn and dirty tiles, chair in the room was very dirty and stained, toilet seat was very loose, the door was broken by the door lock and was not secure we asked the front desk that we wanted a different room we were told they could not change our room that evening and to return in the morning, we returned and asked to move to a better room we were told that there would be an extra charge we were not willing to pay any extra as this resort is way over priced. as for the food it was hit and miss as to what restaurant was open and the food was below par. the best part was the beach, sun and the ocean all of which the resort had no control of ,WILL NOT STAY AT THIS RESORT AGAIN.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    L

    Disappointing

    Reviewed by L & R Calgary on Mar 09, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    With the exception of "Danny" our host and the clean beach, our vacation was overall disappointing. The room was small and the A/C wasn't working properly, even after it was 'fixed'. The food options were not great - after the 3rd day the buffets all looked/tasted the same. The al-la-carte was not a separate restaurant, but just one of the breakfast buffet venues, with a menu. We didn't see much interaction of staff with guests no smiles or conversation included . The weekend-only guest filled the hotel and the pools were so full that the children all went to the 'quiet' pool, so it was no longer quiet for adults. The best thing was the Sunset Cruise...... additional cost

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 1894 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Beautiful Hotel Grounds

    Reviewed by cherlea(Edmonton, Canada) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We arrived March 7th for a week via Sunwing from Edmonton. Sunwing was great we have never had an issue with them all flights on time. We have been to Ixtapa before and love the area. Check in was quick, were in our room quickly but sadly the A/C did not work so next day we moved rooms, the new room was much further back on the property close to main road. But it was fine, grounds beautiful to walk thru. The food was not consistent and we never did figure out if they had an a la carte restaurant. Lol. Sometimes the buffet was disappointing. They did have 2 theme nights Mexican Fiesta and a Fire show night where they set up in front of hotel by the gazebo and both those nights the food was incredible. We also ate off of Resort a few times both in Zihuatanejo and Ixtapa. We did meet some great people and had a lot of fun. The staff was incredible so friendly and helpful. We love the beach great for walking and this time did not seem as rough as in December so we did go in and swim. Would I go back yes, I do wish they had fridges in the rooms. But was a great trip!! Ixtapa we have decided 100% is our favourite Mexican location, small, friendly, safe and beautiful!!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    The staff will make your experience magical

    Reviewed by Sophie F() on Mar 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The location is beyond beautiful. The resort itself is wonderful and clean and comfortable. There are countless things to do in the area, from snorkelling in the clear warm waters, bike tours, learning to dance, shopping, anything your tourist's heart could desire. But the staff are what make staying at the Holiday Inn incredible. This review is a couple of months late, but we were there over Christmas break when the majority of the vacationers staying at the hotel were Mexican families. This was a super fun setting for us Canadians, especially because the staff were extremely welcoming all week long. They went above and beyond, so that by the end of the week we all felt like we had made genuine friends and were sad to leave them. We kept going back to La Isla restaurant for almost every meal just so we could be greeted by Roberto's smiling face and funny stories. While we lazed about on the beach, Carlos kindly brought us delicious cold drinks and gave us insight into life there. He even made me the "Carlos Special" - a cocktail complete with soft serve ice cream, perfect after an afternoon of bobbing around in the ocean (honestly, if you're not convinced by that, I don't know what to tell you). Orlando the bartender ensured we had an absolute blast on New Year's Eve, making us feel so welcome participating in the festivities (despite our terrible dancing!). Adolfo at the snack restaurant smiled and waved every time he saw us across the pool, and we chatted and ate countless tacos at his table. I can't name them all, but there are countless others who showed us such genuine kindness. I am grateful and unhesitating in recommending you visit.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Family resort lots of kids

    Reviewed by Kim R() on Mar 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Super nice people & awesome service, just not my place very busy on weekends lots of kids very loud. Poor set up for stage as noise travels up tower into rooms until late. Food was the same almost every meal. Could not swim in ocean to rough.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Stay at holiday in ixtapa

    Reviewed by WayneL1427() on Mar 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The place was clean. The service was quick.The pools were great.The drinks around the pool were served by a warm, friendly gentleman by the name of Samuel. He was the best part of the trip. Hi and thanks Samuel. He should get a raise as he is one attentive server .Overall that hotel was a great deal.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Best Ixtapa Tours

    Reviewed by IMTR67() on Mar 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    If you want to book any tour....turtle release, snorkeling or deep sea fishing, you have to let Victor & Gerry (between the Holiday Inn lobby & the sports bar....by the fountain) handle things for you. They are very good !! They are great guys and will get you what you want for the best prices. If you want to catch a big fish...ask for Captain Freddi !!! The turtle release trip is a must do.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-3

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX