Howard Johnson Hotel, Water Playground

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    L

    We have a fabulous stay! Comfy beds and Keurig machine in our room located in Building 1 (renovated tower).

    Reviewed by Lisa on May 28, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    Great location and love the water amenities splash park and pool. Great location only an 8 minute walk to the entrance of Disney.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    E

    You get what you pay for

    Reviewed by Emmacarla on Mar 22, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: October 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    We have been to Disneyland many times. We decided to stay here based on the distance to Disneyland. The waterpark was great. My kids loved it. The rooms are in need of an update but are huge. Our room had two double beds and we rented a cot. The rooms accommodated two adults and three children no problem. The internet is probably the worst I have ever had at a hotel. The park is within walking distance, but bring or rent strollers for younger children. The manager was great, but the other staff members we dealt with were rude at times. There is a small store on site - great for snacks, bread, cereals and drinks. It was an ok stay, but probably won't stay again.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    D

    It was just average, nothing spectacular

    Reviewed by Dean on Oct 12, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: October 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    Read numerous reviews to avoid building 2, and now we know why. The room we were assigned was very dingey, rugs were very stained and pretty sure the gross musty smell coming from our room was because of it. We didn't dare go barefoot. Towels were questionable, when we checked them one was still wet so we requested fresh towels immediately. Bedding was thankfully clean, comfortable bed, horrible pillows, garbage missed from under the bed. Bathroom floor was dirty, not inviting when you see someone else's hair, and there was what appeared to be blood stains by the garbage can. Luckily we carry Lysol wipes when we travel. Chairs were badly stained. Bathtub is old and dingey, shower curtain although seemed clean its in bad need of replacing. Shower head was good, decent pressure, sink took forever to drain and the pressure was low. Microwave in our room made a horrendous sound when used. Fridge was clean. Air conditioner rattled on high. We requested an upgrade when we arrived but unfortunately the hotel was completely booked. When booking through Westjet try to upgrade as soon as possible and not when you arrive. Avoid building 2 and room 224, it needs massive refurbishment. After the 3rd day we just got used to our room because we were exhausted and just wanted to sleep. The canteen gift shop on site carries a lot of sundress and toiletries, but after checking out a few of the other nearby hotels canteen gift shops we realized the HOJO charges more on essentials by a good dollar or two. Not sure we'd stay at the HOJO again unless we were guaranteed a newer better room because ours was just old, smelly and dingey. Can't really recommend this hotel as we didn't see what other rooms were like. Book at your own risk.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    P

    Delightful stay! Great service, great location!

    Reviewed by Pam W on Jul 28, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    Wonderful place to stay. Convenient location, spacious rooms, option for adjoining room was so appreciated. Great view of the fireworks from our room! The only frustration was with the free wi-fi as it was spotty.... but then again, why would I want to spend my vacation online? The pluses definitely outweighed the negative. By the way, great coffee in the rooms! Thank you Howard Johnson for a lovely stay. We will be back!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    p

    Awesome Hotel!

    Reviewed by portarian on Jun 30, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: August 2014

    Trip Type: Family

    It was the first trip for my children to Disneyland and this hotel was great for the couple of down days we had planned to not be at Disneyland. The water park was excellent and the rooms were clean and the staff was courteous and helpful. Next trip down we will be staying there again. It has a great location with about a 5 to 10 min walk to the main gate. Also surrounded by places to eat so no need to rent a car at all.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 1000 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Disneyland Vacation

    Reviewed by jarevalo1126() on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The hotel’s location is perfect. It’s just a short walk to the Disneyland Resort and area restaurants. Our children enjoyed the hotel’s water park. Room is adequate nothing fancy but, we didn’t spend much time in our room anyway.

    Disney holidays

    Reviewed by marcosleite2019(Shanghai, China) on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Staff is super-friendly at checkin and able to provide valuable information and tips about Disney. Checkin and checkout were super fast Hotel is at walking distance to Disney Free parking and internet; spacious room (double queen bed) and some amenities within the hotel (market, games). Swimming is also good, although not big

    Best customer service

    Reviewed by dyoc10() on Jul 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    All personnel is very helpful, their manager Rafael Cruz is the best, give us all the tips and best restaurant around the area, keep up the good work, hope to see you guys soon, we had a blast specially with all the amenities that this hotels offer, kids enjoy a lot, closest place to Disneyland, restaurant, etc...

    Two in one.

    Reviewed by gingclan6(Wildomar, California) on Jul 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This is a great hotel for families with young or older children. They have a water area for both age groups. We took our grandson over to the water slide, then after awhile we moved over to the pool for our daughter who was older and wanted the pool.

    Fantastic Spot

    Reviewed by April M() on Jul 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This hotel was such a pleasant surprise! I expected it to be adequate but nothing special for the price. We took a trip across California and this room was the least expensive and best room of our whole trip. The hotel has nice and well kept grounds including a little convenience store with gas station prices, so higher than a store but not the typical ridiculous hotel prices, and it stays open until 11pm, which was a great feature. It is extremely close to Disney. It was sparkling clean, the two queen room was very large with a microwave and mini fridge. The staff was all enthusiastic and helpful. The water park area is fun, well kept, and just a great place to take small kids. We were travelling with teenagers and toddlers - this hotel was great for all. The second pool was quiet and relaxing. The facilities cater to small children so it's a great place to go with kids, but it isn't chaotic or loud, and still feels like a nice spot. Check-in is on the late side (4pm) and there is no wiggle room on check-out (noon). All in all this was a great value and a very nice hotel. I would go out of my way to stay at one. AARP, AAA, military, and federal discounts.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX