Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Los Cabos
    5. Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
    6. Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    B

    Good food, good waiters, poor check-in staff.

    Reviewed by BigCanuck on May 04, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Food was good, Waiters and pool servers were great. Check-in staff were very unhelpful. Beach is good although the waves were too high the first few days we were there. Good location close to Cabo and the swimable beach. Overall I would say it is overpriced and you can find a better resort for cheaper.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6128 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great Staff & Accommodations

    Reviewed by DCC1966(Portland, Oregon) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The staff at Villa del Palmar and Villa La Estancia were so nice. Specifically the bar tenders down at the Villa La Estancia pool and Yesenia (Yessi) at the market coffee shop. We loved going over to the market every morning to get a coffee and breakfast. Yessi was so nice and was always smiling. We miss seeing the staff we got to know. Everything was kept up so nice - the accommodations and grounds were kept so nice. Thank you for everything!! Can't wait to go back.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Nice

    Reviewed by Thujural W(Douglasville, Georgia) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This resort is a good place to stay. There is an all-inclusive option. There is an on site market, deli, and ice cream shop. They are located close to downtown which is great. We even caught the city bus for $ 1.00. The security at this resort is serious. The housekeeping can take a while so be patient.It was super crowded and I didn’t like being asked about time-shares but other than that I enjoyed my stay.

    Excellent Resort!!!

    Reviewed by Mia L() on Apr 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was our second trip to Cabo, we've stayed at this resort both times and won't stay anywhere else! The rooms, the food and the staff are all amazing!!! And they're centrally located, there's a convenience/grocery store, deli and ice cream stand on site!

    Great choice for family in Cabo

    Reviewed by Pamtastic1972(Gig Harbor, Washington) on Apr 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Villa de Palmar, Cabo San Lucas is a great spot for a family vacation. The resort is north on the beach from downtown-- just far enough that you are not aware of the night-life but close enough to walk down the beach to town (about 20 min) to access shopping and a variety of tourist activities. Although we swam at times in front of the resort, the surf was too rough to be safe for little ones. But, the walk to safe swimming areas is even shorter (about 1/4 mile ). The resort offered a variety of family friendly activities that even appealed to my tween and teen children. The all inclusive plan was wonderful. The restaurants had excellent service and food, and we never waited more than a few minutes. I highly recommend this resort for a quiet family beach getaway.

    Horrible Start but a Satisfactory Ending

    Reviewed by romadaro(Washington, DC) on Apr 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    What started horribly due to the inadvertent cancellation of our reservation at Villa del Arco by a Resortcom trainee ended satisfactorily due to the efforts of another employee, Branko Jeftic, at Resortcom who secured upgraded accommodations for us at Villa del Palmar as compensation for the misunderstanding since Villa del Arco was sold out by the time the mistake was realized. We are owners with the Villa Group and I called in August to make reservations for a one bedroom unit and was told that none was available but they would put us on the wait list. In the meantime, I booked a studio so that at least we had something in the event that the one bedroom unit didn't open up. A fcouple weeks later, I got an email from Resortcom indicating that there was a one bedroom unit available and to call, so I did. However, by that time my wife and I had decided that since we spend most of our days at the pool, on the beach or participating in activities, the studio would suffice, so I called to decline the upgrade. However, I spoke with a woman who explained that she was a trainee and asked for my patience since she was being coached through the phone call, which I understood and accepted. We had a cordial conversation and by the time we were done I thought she had CANCELLED THE UPGRADE request, plain and simple, but not the reservation completely! Ironically, I never received a cancellation notice or any further communication from Resortcom which would have triggered a phone call so I didn't think any more about it until a few weeks ago when I called to make airport shuttle reservations at which point I was told that the reservation had been cancelled! WHAT???!! WHO???!!! HOW??!! WHEN???!! Fortunately, this time I got a seasoned agent by the name of Branko who did some research and was able to piece together what happened. Unfortunately, however, he was unable to reinstate our reservation at Villa del Arco, which was sold then out, so he talked with his manager and the front desk manager at Villa del Palma and was able to secure accommodations there in an upgraded ocean view unit for us. In spite of this, my wife had major reservations since we were only familiar with Villa del Arco and we were celebrating our Anniversary and her birthday and didn't want the occasions ruined having to deal with unsatisfactory accommodations. Fortunately, when we arrived and were taken to the unit, my wife was pleased and I was relieved and we were able to have a wonderful, relaxed vacation. In fact, we found the junior suites at Villa del Palma to be much more roomier than the studios at Villa del Arco, even though Arco is newer. The unit was clean, quiet and the bed was comfy. I have to say that I was happy that we were not in direct earshot of the nightly entertainment which we could hear even though we were on the backside of the stage and the pool. The only downside was that we returned to our room on 2 days around 4PM and found that our unit still had not been cleaned and I had to call for housekeeping. When they did come, both times, my wife and I sat on the balcony to get out of the way while they rushed through the cleanup, simply making the bed and leaving fresh towels, without sweeping the floor, tidying up the room, emptying the trash or refreshing used amenities as they normally did. Wasn't a big deal since we aren't messy anyway, but when you get back to the room at 4PM you would expect that it would have been cleaned by then, especially when they knock on the door in the early morning and you tell them to come back about 11. If it had not been due to the mixup and the problems with housekeeping, I would certainly have given 5 stars as we had a wonderful week and I highly recommend it. My only problem now is figuring out who to contact to refund the points and additional money I paid for accommodations at Villa del Arco since Villa del Palma "costs" less than what I paid.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX