Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    m

    Enjoyed our stay will be back to the holiday inn resort

    Reviewed by moodylg on Dec 11, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    We booked this hotel knowing it is not a 5 star resort but were extremely pleased with our experience the rooms were standard the beds were comfortable and the room was clean. the food was good the a la carte restaurants were better then the buffet. the beaches is what we booked this place for and we were not disapointed at all. the staff cleaned them every morning and throughout the day if needed, the lougners were never in short supply with was great nothing worse then going to the beach and no where to sit. i did enjoy the adult only beach for much of the vacation. only down fall no night club or even anything close to that for the evening.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    J

    Great family resort!!

    Reviewed by Jac - Regina, SK. on Mar 15, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    Stayed at this resort Mar.1-12 with 2 girls aged 9 & 12. Our room could not have been better. We were on the ground floor right beside the pool, so the kids could come and go on their own without us. The room, the public spaces and the grounds were always immaculate. Food at the buffet was good and quite a bit of variety. Food in the Italian restaurant was fantastic. Super close to the airport and a small enough resort that you could see the ocean from every angle. Loved absolutely everything except for the guys that ran the watersports area. For 12 days in a row we would attempt to take out the pedal boats and the catamaran - but the guys working there had the same answer everyday "tomorrow mon". They just couldn't be bothered to get up and do anything. Other than that, no complaints. Great resort for families.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3236 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Amazing grounds, ok food.

    Reviewed by Lilyflower26() on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Pros: The jerk hut has amazing chicken and vibes, beautiful beaches (there are about 4 different ones on the property), awesome man made island, awesome pool area, clean grounds, AMAZING staff, safe, plenty of entertainment at night, good cocktails that pack a punch unlike most resorts that water down the alcohol. Cons: The food is not that great so we always went to the jerk hut, most sit down restaurants were booked by 9am which was frustrating, taxi service is overpriced, other than that, it was a great stay! Shout out to Chadisha and to Christopher Robinson. Their attention to us did not go I noticed, they were always smiling and refilling our drinks. They were some of the staff we interacted with and made our stay so much better, they deserve a raise!

    Nice Surprise

    Reviewed by turtleRose(Indianapolis, Indiana) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We stayed in building 7... adults only. So nice and so worth the upgrade. Yes the building is at the end of the property however you are away from all the kids and the hotel is very strict about no kids in the adults area. The walk to the main building for meals is a nice one, the grounds are very nice. When u need to exchange your towel the ice cream shack is right across the path, so you have a yummy treat to eat while u walk back to your room. I advise getting up at 6 or before to "reserve" your spot on the beach, we would get up get our spot then go back to bed lol. The breakfast and lunch buffets are ok, dinner was better. Sorrento - the Italian restaurant was very good, Kenko - the Japanese restaurant was also great and well worth the extra charge (we ate there twice) the staff are very friendly and funny. Seabreeze - the seafood restaurant was not as good as we hoped and we never made it to de Terrace. The Jerk Hut - OMG so amazing ate there like 4 times. If u book through the Holiday Inn website you can sign up for the club and it makes checking in so much quicker - we arrived at about 11 and were able to check in and were upgraded to a nicer room. Everyone was very nice and respectful the only issue we had was our room wasn't clean until 3:30ish everyday, so a couple days we just got new towels and didn't have our room clean. I would definitely stay here again

    Montego Bay - Holiday Inn

    Reviewed by Carole_T57(Bristol, United Kingdom) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Just recently got back from our 2nd visit to this hotel. Can't praise enough. The staff are really friendly and ready to assist if you have any issues. The rooms are more than adequate. We don't spend much time in ours but have the cleanliness and comfort that we need. This hotel is situated a short drive from the airport, however the overhead flights were not an issue. The food is fabulous, plenty to choose from and the Italian upstairs was our favourite, although the Japanese (which you pay 20usd each) is great. Out host was was Kirby (aka Ricardo, Will Smith lookalike) was brilliant and made our evening great fun. We have went to Dunes Fall, Negril, Rose Hall all by private taxi. Our driver Gifford was brilliant and a mind of useful information. When we go back we will definitely use him again. Cant wait to go back!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Wonderful Stay

    Reviewed by mfis6866(Rockford, Illinois) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Recently returned from Holiday Inn Montego Bay, check inn was fast and easy, staff was friendly and helpful throughout stay, food was good, the dinner at night by the beach was nice, the beach was clean and safe, the rooms were average but the beds were very comfortable, would recommend and return.

    Good for the price paid

    Reviewed by Julie B(Reading, United Kingdom) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Easy check in. Room perfectly adequate. I do not understand the comments about bathrooms. The shower was large and always plenty of hot water. Lovely fluffy towels, every day. Beds very comfy. Nice little beaches. Could do with more sun umbrellas. For a quieter day either go to the far left, or adults only to the far right of the resort. Entertainment hit and miss but the activity team work tirelessly. Like all hotels, mixture of staff, some smiley and helpful, others tutting sighing and eye rolling. Food Buffet was fine, could get a bit repetative and they were slow to restock. I would suggest you alternate the buffet and the a la cartes. We never had any problems booking these. We went to the Jamaican (did not really enjoy this). The Italian, this was yummy and the Seafood, again nice food, nice ambience. The buffet was incredibly loud. We did not realise until after a week that you can have breakfast upstairs. Slightly limited food but worth it for a peaceful start to the day. Now I must make a comment about going off the resort. We are well travelled and pride ourselves on using local transport and spending money with locals. On day two we attempted a bus journey with the intention of visiting the humming bird sanctuary. Big mistake, nowhere have I ever felt this unsafe or threatened. This was compounded by a large man coming out of nowhere and firmly punching me in the arm. By the time we got to the bus station I just wanted to go back to the hotel. A kindly taxi operator told us it was not safe to be out on our own and we got a taxi back to the hotel. We were bitterly disappointed by this. We realised the only thing we could do was organised tours. They are incredibly expensive in Jamaica. Dunns river falls with a small cateraman trip was 123 dollars per person. You are told you wil be on the catermeran for 3-4 hours. You are not, the entire time approx 1.25. The rest of the time it is moored up for snorkelling or you are climbing the falls. This is a lot of money although the trip was good. We also went ot YS falls and black river with Jamaican Island tours. This was 88 dollars and good value. I would suggest you thoroughly check the trips available on Tripadviser before you go and see what trips you can pre book and print off the tickets, this would have saved us a fair bit of dosh.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-3

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX