Sheraton Kauai Resort

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 2607 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Second Visit Better Than the First

    Reviewed by ATL-Travelbug(Bend, Oregon) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Our second visit to the hotel was better than our first visit 2 years ago (not that it was bad the first time around). There have been lots of upgrades to the rooms and around the hotel since we were here and it's nice to see how well those upgrades were executed. If you read the reviews, I think a lot depends on which building you stay in as the rooms vary quite a bit. We stayed in the Ocean building which I highly recommend. These rooms offer a front row view of the ocean and the amazing sunsets. Plus, since our last trip, they have been refreshed. The room space is generous too -- nice sized room, balcony and large bathroom with separate double sink area. The ocean side pool is nicely proportioned. It's not large and overwhelming, it feels just right. There are lots of lounge chairs but they're arranged in a way that doesn't feel claustrophobic. And, you can rent a pool cabana our beach cabana (which I recommend). Or, rent some chairs and head right out to the beach. Bottom line, lots of options to fit your wants/desires for pool/ocean activities. Like any SPG property, service is always reliable, friendly and efficient. No surprises there. Everyone we encountered was super friendly and helpful. The handwritten birthday card to us was a nice touch and we appreciated the warn gesture. If working out is your thing, the gym on the ocean side of the property is small but I think there is another gym on the other side of the road but I didn't realize this until our last day which, honestly, is no big deal. In summary, this location can't be beat for the south side of the island. You're oceanfront, right in the middle of everything with many shops and restaurants within walking distance or a short drive.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Nice property, expensive dining

    Reviewed by Geordie605(Canada) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    This was our first time to Kauai and we chose this hotel based on location, proximity to beach and the price it was available at. The hotel is extremely clean and the pool is quite nice. It's on the smaller side with an abundance of pool chairs available. We never felt like we had to get up early to find a chair or play the towel game even though others did.The pool is quite warm with a hot tub that is very relaxing. We booked an ocean view room that over looked the pool out on to the ocean. This caused our balcony to be quite noisy at times and for a couple with no kids, somewhat of a downside. I also witnessed a kid go under in the hot tub while parents were distracted in their cabana and kids swimming in the hot tub with gear on it like it was another pool. I just don't think young children should be able to use the hot tub so freely, it's not meant as a place to try out one's new snorkel set. We were also given a room with two double beds even though our reservation clearly indicated I had reserved a king. I did advise hotel staff of this issue and never heard back. I also did not pursue it further as our building was somewhat far from check-in. The room was spacious and had everything for a short stay. I'm not sure if I would want to stay here for five days or more. The WiFi barely worked on our balcony and our room was randomly cleaned. The cleaning staff appeared to come really early in the AM and if you were not out of your room they never really came back as our room did not get cleaned for the first day and a half. Parking was self park and included with the resort fee that was charged. It wasn't too far of a walk from our designated building but having a large vehicle it was tight at times however we never had an issue getting parking in this lot. We ate at a few of the restaurants on site and you would be better served to dine off resort. Rum Fire was extremely over priced and even though it was some of the best sushi I have had (as an appetizer) the rest of the meal was not worth what they charged. The entertainment was also quite loud while we were there. The service was great but still not worth the prices that was charged. The other restaurant, Lava on the Beach, was okay. The service was slow for lunch and again the prices were outrageous. I've been to Hawaii before and the prices that are charged for simple drinks is atrocious. We had a coffee maker in room but we also tried the Links Cafe. Again, tasty snacks and coffee but over priced. If I had been more adventurous I would've walked the street over into the little mall for AM coffee and snacks, at least for one day to see what prices were like. We did walk down the coast to Kukui'ula Village Shopping Center. A nice little walk but the shopping was nothing special. A few restaurants if you are wanting to get off of the resort without having to drive. The beach was somewhat small and the water was never calm the days we were there. But it was nice soft sand and extremely close to the hotel property. Overall the hotel was nice and I would recommend it based on location and the beach out front. Just be mindful of the extra costs associated with staying here like food and anything associated with the beach and/or pool.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Utterly disappointed

    Reviewed by Leigh881283(Tucson, Arizona) on Mar 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Checked in today, and I have to say I’m so disappointed. We’ve stayed here before (in fact 10 years ago) and came back to celebrate our 10 year anniversary. We could have chosen other locations but were feeling nostalgic and choice the Sheraton. I should have taken the other reviews to heart, but I thought having Gold status with SPG/Marriott that we could maybe bypass some issues. I contacted the hotel the day before check in to request an early check in and check upgrade availability. I let them know we were celebrating our anniversary. I chatted with someone who was very positive and helpful. Apparently this chat was worthless because nothing was noted when we actually showed up. Upon arrival at 1:45 (check in at 3), we were somewhat rudely told that check in is at 3. No offer to hold our bags, use the facilities, etc. I mean 1:45 isn’t that early to check in but at least offer to let us start our vacation. We were also told no upgrade and that was that. No other perk or offer to recognize Gold status/loyalty. Just “no upgrade”. No map of the property, explanation of amenities, what the hell comes with the $30 resort fee, where to park, literally NO orientation. Came back at 3:30 to check for the keys. We were just given keys. Again no orientation. I had to go back and chat with a rep to even be offered something that is so minuscule. Although I appreciate that this person even tried, the offer is insulting and the whole experience is disappointing. It leaves a bad taste in my mouth. I should have booked elsewhere but now we’re stuck here for 5 nights for our anniversary. This property is a BIG miss if you’re looking for a property to honor your status. So many other great Marriott properties out there! BEWARE.

    Not fancy but nice with great location

    Reviewed by CTtogo(Denver, Colorado) on Mar 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We stayed at the Sheraton Kauai for five nights at the end of February-early March on a timeshare promotional invitation from the SPG program. My perspective is probably different from that of an owner or a full-price paying guest, as we had a promotional-priced hotel/rental car package. I had read reviews from others who had stayed at the resort under this promotion (and some not under it) and had low expectations based on some of their reviews. But we were pleasantly surprised. We were put in a room in the newly refurbished villas in Building 6, across the street from the main beachside portion of the hotel. We had a small Studio Garden View room that looked over a courtyard with ongoing construction, but we knew the construction was going to be happening. The room itself was nice enough, though small. It was fine for two people who don't mind a smaller space, but I can't imagine having more than 2 adults in the studio room. Everything is out in the open except the toilet/shower room has a sliding privacy door. There wasn't much room for 2 suitcases without them being in the way, although I guess we could have asked for some luggage stands. We were happy to have the kitchenette which was stocked with cooking utensils, etc. as we hadn't expected that amenity, but it would be tight to cook a big meal as there is not much counter space. But we greatly enjoyed being able to make breakfast and blender drinks, and had a full-size refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. There is a nice balcony for two (with a screen door to enjoy the fresh air coming in the room) but we weren't able to utilize it much due to the construction noise and/or the cool temperatures while we were there. The drapes were an issue, as the sliding door opened from the left, and the drapes pulled back from the right side. So you couldn't open the door slightly and pull the drapes for privacy in a way that allowed air in. We never quite figured out if the AC/heat actually provided heat (yes, it was that chilly the first night), and then I think the whole thermostat stopped working at one point, but due to the temps, we didn't need it. These may be issues that haven't been worked out yet because the room seemed brand new. As mentioned, the villas and hotel check-in are both across the street from the main hotel / beach / restaurants, but we didn't find this to be a problem as the street is not a busy one and the walk was not very long, unless a guest has mobility issues. The walk to self-parking seemed kind of long because the direct route was obstructed by the construction zone, but I assume that's only temporary and you can always valet park. The hotel staff were all super nice - from the front desk and concierges to the valets and housekeepers. Even the timeshare salespeople were nice :) and not super pushy. It would be a better choice to have an ocean view room if you can afford the up-charge, but if the hotel makes the garden view villa room prices competitive, it's not a bad place to stay (also assuming the construction is temporary). I can't compare it to other Sheraton resort properties as this was my first stay in one. You can't beat having a hotel right on the beach in Kauai, and the pool areas were also nice enough (there is a pool in the villa area as well as the main one by the beach). I can't speak to the restaurants or activities as we were off exploring the island most of the time. We watched the sunset from the grassy areas near the ocean front rooms almost every evening (need to get there early if you want one of the few lawn chairs). If you want a fancy resort, go somewhere else. If you can get a good price and like a comfortable, low-key but well-maintained place in a nice Poipu location, this would be a choice to consider.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    It depended where you stay here . . .

    Reviewed by msuit1271(Selbyville, Delaware) on Mar 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Before I wrote this, I decided to see where this location was in Trip Advisor’s rankings. I was shocked to see it was listed at 41 among places to stay so I read the reviews to see what others had to say. I came to conclusion that while this location was suited for some I could see that others may not like it. I’m going to tell you why I gave it five stars and why I think you would enjoy it especially if it is just you and your spouse. First, I didn’t select this hotel, the travel agency I booked with did. I made the decision not to read any reviews on any of the places I was staying at so I could truly develop my own opinion. When we arrived, we decided to upgrade our room at $100 per night for a better room. I felt it was worth it. Not only were we right on the ocean but we had a great view of each night’s sunset. My only issue was I wish we had a screen door we could lock so that I could have kept my door open at night and listen to the ocean breaking on the rocks in front of our room. The rooms above us had private balconies to allow this but the bottom floor units did not. More money for these rooms should come with that perk in my opinion. As far as the location goes, we notice this hotel had the one beach in the area. As we explored the region, we didn’t find any other resort that had a beach so that was a plus. Also, the beach side pool was heated and had a jacuzzi. They had a station you could go to to get a fresh towel at any time. The local restaurant serves you anywhere by the pool while it is open. A convenience that you couldn’t argue with. We only dined at one restaurant while we were there and that was Lava’s. We had the Filet which was excellent. We came back for breakfast and shared the pineapple waffles and the strawberries and cream French toast. Also excellent. A little pricy but good. We walked the resort and discovered a second pool on the garden side. Along with that, they had grills so that you may cook what ever you want (steak, chicken, fish, etc.). Either side can use either location as they are all available to anyone. About the location. If you are looking for an area that has a lot of activity and a lot to do for the family, this may not be for you. The island does have zip lines, surf instructors (Sheraton has this), trails to hike in the mountains and other beaches to visit (west side of the island). However, if your looking to get away and not be bothered. This is the place for you. There is a little shopping center to the west of the resort that has restaurants and little shops to visit. There is an island to explore (I highly recommend a rental vehicle for your stay). The town where the airport is has other shops and restaurants for you to go to. I enjoyed this location and I enjoyed the island. I will return.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX