Aston at the Maui Banyan Condo

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    D

    Across the road from 3 great Kihei beaches, restaurants and food/shopping close by .. You MUST spend the extra for a deluxe room!!

    Reviewed by Doug Blades on Nov 19, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    We stayed in a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom unit with our 2 teen-age kids (1 bedroom kitchen unit was P407 and attached lock-out unit with 2 double beds for the kids was P407A) The whole unit was very roomy and had a nice balcony with partial ocean view (given as an upgrade though) this particular unit is slightly below my expectations for a standard room. We did ask about the "deluxe" units and they are units that have been more recently renovated and should absolutely be your pick if you want a true 3+ rating. You could definitely see the difference in units when the hall doors were open for the house keeping staff during the day. All the staff were great and did their best to provide you with a great experience. The property itself is truly beautiful and the grounds keeping staff do an awesome job manicuring everything and keeping the pool and BBQ areas perfect. Location across from Kamaole 2 beach is primo! The buildings were built in 1990/91 and the room units we stayed in (P407 & P407A) appears to have had very little done to them renovation wise since 1991. Carpet was dead and needs to be replaced (maybe try tile or lino for sand coming in off the beach ??) Walls look like they were spot re-painted/patched sporadically, a few pictures were actually painted around while they must have been left on the wall. One of the burners on the stove didn't work and shows its 1991 vintage. Bi-fold closet doors were NOT hung with care in P407A. All of the above could be overlooked because the unit was roomy and did the trick. But .. shame on the owner of this unit, as the bed in master bedroom is right sacked. My back was so sore after 2 nights, I slept on the pull out sofa and everyone knows how great a pull out sofa is. On the 3rd night, I asked house keeping if they could swap out the mattress and they graciously put a foam pad unit under the sheets and gave me a thick blanket to sleep on ... this and some Aleve tablets got me thru the rest of the week.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 852 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Pay attention to the office hours

    Reviewed by grossi1Vigevano(Vigevano) on Aug 05, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    My wife, my teenager and me arrived one Friday night a few minutes past eleven. Sadly reception closes at that hour. Even if two guys were inside, nobody looked at us. Nobody gave us any direction and stayed outside to call our tour operator... In a metter of 10 minutes a security man on charge told us to take the phone outside to talk at a call center. And we did, the lady made us open a safe and found inside an envelope. Inside direction to go to our suite. “Well done” I said, but then he keys didn’t work... So I went back to the phone. Another lady answered, controlled and told me the room was not 203 but 205. Back again to my family hoping this time is the right one: no, the 205 room doesn’t exist. Now I’m upset. I called the call center once again, explained to another girl what happened. She said she would check what happened and call me back. It was 1 am. I called again and again. Nothing happened. I told my family to prepare to sleep in the car. But when our hope was about to vanish, something came true. The security man finally had his boss’ ok to let us enter the room 203. At 2 am!!! The room was comfortable but old fashioned. Bathroom little but the suite was large. Noisy air conditioning directly from the ‘70 (conditioning was on all day long and turned off at night but we used fan to sleep). At this moment you probably asked yourself what was ok... well directly in front of the resort you find Kamaole beach II, one of the best in Kihei. Let’s think about this. Nevertheless Maui was a great holiday. We didn’t let Aston ruin our vacation. Please consider to arrive before 11pm if you choose Aston Maui Banyan.

    If you like condos then a reasonable option

    Reviewed by Goldrichie(Melbourne, Australia) on Jul 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We do not like Condos, but in Maui, in Kihei they are about your only real option unless you stay in a splurge hotel. The room we had (310a) was small, but tastefully decorated in an albeit bland way. We were a little surprised because we thought we had a room with a kitchenette, but that is locked away in the rest of room 310. Check that if you are counting on such. Car parking is onsite (but you only get to use unreserved spots on a first come first served basis), as are good swimming pools. Wifi worked well, but a noisy through the wall old style AC unit was obnoxious to the point we turned it off - but without a ceiling fan it got a bit clammy overnight. The beach is right over the road as there are good restaurants a short walk or drive away. This part of Kihei has lots of life (unlike nearby walled off Wailea), and that is Kihei's saving grace - despite the bland condos...

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-3

    Great Stay

    Reviewed by Cassandra T(Toronto, Canada) on Jul 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed here for 10 days in the middle of June. We had a one bedroom condo with two bathrooms. The room was spacious and clean. We had a kitchenette which was a great way to save money and take a break from eating out. The grounds were maintained and the location was amazing. You are walking distance to many restaurants and beaches. The staff were friendly. I recommend booking excursions with the Expedia rep in the lobby, he was super nice and helpful. I would definitely recommend staying here if you are planning to visit Maui.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Aston at Maui Banyan

    Reviewed by Beajoy19(South Kingstown, Rhode Island) on Jul 02, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    We stayed in a Deluxe, 2 bedroom with partial ocean view for 6 nights. The property grounds were attractive & well maintained. The staff was pleasant & although we didn’t have but one request for a clean blanket to replace the stained one in our room, provided us with good & friendly service. The request for the blanket was NOT met in a timely manner. However, with a fresh coat of paint & better insect/ pest control in the rooms, the rooms would be much, much more pleasant to stay in. The bathroom & kitchen had very tiny crawling insects even though they came in and sprayed at our request one day while we were out. We also had a very large spider in our bedroom that we couldn’t catch on the last night of our 6 night stay. Although the rooms overall seemed clean, the glass sliding doors & other vertical surfaces & mirrors had fingerprints, indicating to me that the rooms aren’t thoroughly cleaned. No attention to detail when it came to cleaning these things. They could rate 4 stars if they took care of the above. However, I’d rate them between a 2.5-3 at best.

    Nice place

    Reviewed by X172FEdonnab(Stanley, Kansas) on Jun 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Pros: We booked a one bedroom for one night here while waiting to get onto our timeshare resort. They upgraded us to a deluxe 1-bedroom with a kitchen. The double shower was nice, but it was in the extra bathroom, not the master bedroom (thAt had a tub and shower.). All the utensils, dishes, soaps, shampoos, detergents and towels we needed were supplied. Coffee, sugar and creamer was also in the unit. Even plastic storage containers. The unit was nice and clean, and the air conditioner worked well. They even gave us a complementary box of macadamia nut chocolates. The desk personnel were very accommodating and friendly and check in was streamlined. We also got a card for unlimited DVD movies. They had a small but not crowded pool, but we didn’t have time to use it. It is in nice location with lots of shops and a grocery store within a mile or two. Foodland, the local grocery store, had fairly reasonable prices considering it is Hawaii. We just took advantage of their sales. Just be sure to sign up for their rewards card, A very simple process. Also I learned that on Thursday’s they give senior citizens a 5% discount. Make sure to bring your own grocery bags or you get charged. However you get 5 cents back for using your own. Now the cons: We had issues converting from Cable TV to the DVD source. They use a game boy device and since we are senior citizens, it was difficult to figure out. A maintenance worker had to come up and show us, but his English wasn’t too good and we still had a hard time with it. The outlets in the bedroom were minimal. Only on one side of the bed, and there were no USB ports for phones and other devices. We also had an issue with ants, so I kept all food and supplements in plastic ware and ziplock bags. This seems to be a universal problem in Hawaii as we had ants in our Big Island condo as well. Just make sure you bring lots of ziplock bags for food. Even for your medications. Overall, it was a very nice place

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX