Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Los Cabos
    5. Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort
    6. Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    L

    Outstanding service

    Reviewed by Lee on Jan 01, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    Travelled to this secrets location in the middle of December 2016. My husband and I had a fabulous time. We booked room deal of the day and we were not dissapointed, we had a garden view, but we could see the ocean from our bed. The service is outstanding, I asked about a special drink and the next day the bartender I had asked had gone home that night and looked on ytube how to make it for me. Food is very good, lots of options on restaurants. This is our second visit and we will be back again.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    R

    This place was a 10 for us!!

    Reviewed by Ron on Dec 29, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    This was one of our best holiday resorts . We have travelled mexico for 25 years and stayed at all levels of resorts. Every part of this vacation was a 10 from the food,service, rooms etc. The entertainment staff were very friendly and got you involved with the many events they planned. Our favorites were Lucas,Lia,Anthony,Kenya and David. My favorite pool waiter was Augustin. I cant imagine anyone not liking this place???

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    G

    Extremely Disappointing

    Reviewed by Gloria on Nov 20, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    We booked this resort as a special way for me to celebrate my 60th birthday with my family. We anticipated a wonderful five star experience. The only 5 star part of this resort, is the resort itself. It is very beautiful and that is the nicest thing I have to say about this resort. The food and especially the restaurant service was hugely disappointing. The only option for dinner service is one of the a la carte restaurants where we had to wait a long time for service and then the service we received was the bare minimum. The quality of the food served was hit or miss and the food portions are small. On my birhday we were grateful just to get the waiter to our table to take our order then deliver the food to the table; that was pretty much the only time we saw him. Add to that, he neglected to deliver my birthday cake to the table despite my son being reassured before hand that it would be served. Although, to be fair, the resort did not acknowledge my birthday in their daily announcements of guests' special occassions, despite being told at book in and on numerous occassions during signing into our rooms. The worst service though was on our last night when we returned to the Himitsu restaurant because we had enjoyed the food there on a previous visit but not the service. On this night the service was the worst we had received to date. I don't believe I have ever been so neglected by a waiter before, add to that we left most of the beef on the plate because it was so difficult to chew. In regards to the resort, be aware that it is very out of the way and the taxi ride into town is costly. Also, even though they call themself a golf resort and the resort is surrounded by fairways, the course itself is not part of the resort and you have to pay for a taxi to take you to the course. As for the beach, we were informed at check in that it is a non-swimming beach so water activities

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    m

    The perfect getaway to run away to!

    Reviewed by mere_aw on Jan 07, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    This is the perfect quick getaway for western Canadians. The flights from Calgary are perfect. We booked a last minute 5 day escape, which really worked out to 5 nights and 6 days. Hotel is reasonable distance from the airport. This resort is the nicest and cleanest place we have yet to stay at. Best service, great food, perfect size and a view! All rooms face the ocean, so no need to get an ocean view. Very quiet and relaxing. Easy to get chairs by the pool at any time. The beach is ok, but that doesn't really matter since you cant swim in the water anywhere because the ocean is too rough in Cabo. So hence why a nice pool area is so important. As this was the easiest trip to plan, with a convenient location and flight times, we may make this a frequent getaway. We cant wait to take our friends. I would rank this as 5 star plus resort. We wouldn’t change a thing. For those with a handicap, the resort is fully accessible and accommodating. For newly weds, perfect honeymoon spot. This felt like a second honeymoon for us. Don’t hesitate! * tip: Cabo is a desert location, it does get chilly at night!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4105 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Disappointing experience

    Reviewed by Nicole M() on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    It’s been a little over 3 months since my husband and I vacationed at Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort. So why did I wait this long to write a review? Well, I wanted to give Secrets an opportunity to address my concerns. At the time of this writing, no satisfactory redemptive action has transpired. We recently spent 5 nights at the resort, from Sat 5/2/19 to Thursday 5/9/19. We paid extra for the Preferred Club services and amenities. For the most part, things were fine except for a couple of issues, one involving a particular resort staff member. The original issue became secondary when he decided to treat us disrespectfully with his flippant attitude, and his dishonesty. This person’s name is Miguel P.. He serviced the Preferred Club guests at the time we were there. During the 6 days 5 nights stay, we received no housekeeping service for 2 of those days. The green light was on as it was supposed to, signaling room service request. We came back from the pool on Sunday afternoon (day 2) to find the bed not made, the bathroom not cleaned. I called Housekeeping. They came and did a quick tidy-up. The same thing happened again on Tuesday afternoon (day 4). This time I called the Preferred Club guest desk. Housekeeping was sent to clean the room, but they left without replenishing the toilet paper. Had to run after them to get some. Cups and glasses from two days before were not picked up either. Incidentally, the tablet that came with each room was not working. When I called on Monday, we were told someone is going to come by to pick it up and fix it. No one came or called; the tablet never worked during the entire stay. Not wanting to have to take a chancel with the housekeeping service for the rest of our stay, we decided to speak to someone in person. Miguel P. was working the Preferred Club desk when we showed up Tuesday late afternoon. Regarding the tablet, he said that he was the person we spoke with. He made no apology about it nor did he explain why he didn’t come It was like “Eh, no big deal!” In response to the housekeeping issue, his words were “The turning down the bed is a complimentary service, a courtesy. If you want rose petals and the full turn down service, you’d have to pay extra”. He also commented that they have been a bit short-handed. Was that a good excuse, considering what we paid? I told him we were not asking for special turn-down services, just the standard offering that came with every room, to all guests. To make up for the “inconvenience”, first he offered us breakfast in bed. Then he quickly changed to 1-hour hydrotherapy spa. Told us just go to the spa and they will let us in However, nobody working the spa reception desk knew anything about Miguel’s arrangement when we tried to use it the next afternoon. Once again, Miguel P. was manning the desk when we checked out Thursday morning. Told us we were all set to go. Said nothing more, no “thank you’, no asking how our stay was. Nothing! We found out later from friends who were also vacationing there that we were supposed to fill out a survey/review upon checking out, right there at the desk, on the tablet, on-line. It now became obvious why Miguel didn’t want us to complete the review. He knew what we were going to say. At that point, the problem was more him than the housekeeping service misses. I felt that he was dishonest, discourteous, disrespectful and that he “punked” us. Miguel seemed to work the PC hospitality desk a lot. I would think that management would put a professional, courteous, and customer service oriented individual in that position. Upon returning, I contacted Secrets via email (the address on their website) requesting a link for an online review since we did not have an opportunity to provide feedback. Never got anything, never heard from them. I completed the survey from the booking agency, Vacations-to-Go, and reported everything. I also emailed all of this information to the booking agent, Bernadette. She said it would take 30-90 days to hear back from Secrets. That is insane and ridiculous in itself. But I waited. Two months went by, I heard nothing, so I contacted her, copying the agency’s owner on my email. Then, and only then did they escalate the matter. Have been working with Megan for the past month. Still, no acceptable reparation came. The only thing Secrets management offered was a free upgrade to their Preferred Club the next time we visit, with stipulations on dates and availability. Of course! Why would spend our hard earned money again on Secrets and take a chance at another bad experience? At this time, we are not inclined to spend my money at a place that doesn’t seem to value our business.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-3

    Service

    Service-1

    Value

    Value-2

    AWESOM CABO!

    Reviewed by Tom H(Magnolia, Texas) on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We spent 7 wonderful days/nights at Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort. The service was FANTASTIC, accomodation's were fabulous and the spa amazing. This was our second time at this resort and it was better than our first. The entire staff is both friendly and outgoing. The evening entertainment was very good and we especially liked the Tropical Dancers. Araseli with the UVC was perfect as she set up a private birthday party for our group of 4 and Caesar at the pool is tremendous catering to your every need. The landscaping around the resort is gorgeous and very well maintained.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Great Time in Los Cabos

    Reviewed by JayC852(Wichita Falls, Texas) on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We just returned from a 7 night stay here with two other couples. Our ages range from mid thirties to 50. My wife and I have stayed at several all inclusives in the Riviera Maya. This was our first time in Los Cabos and at a Secrets. We stayed in a Preferred Club Ocean Front Junior Suite. The resort was at 50% capacity while we were there. The room was very nice. Our room was large with a king bed, a desk, and a small settee. The balcony was nice with two small chairs, a small table, and a jetted tub. The view was spectacular. We really liked how you could open the slider to the balcony very wide so that the balcony was kind of an extension of the room. The bathroom was very large with two vanities, a shower, and a separate jetted tub. They also have a safe in the closet and a mini bar in the room. The grounds of the resort are very nice. The views of the ocean and mountains are awesome. They are constantly cleaning and working on the landscaping to keep it looking nice. There are two pools-one for the Preferred Club guests and the main pool with the swim-up bar. The Preferred Club pool is right outside the Oceana restaurant. It is a beautiful infinity pool with a great view of the ocean and mountains. This pool was quiet and peaceful. We only used this pool once because there is no shade in the pool, and it was very hot while we were there. There are plenty of umbrellas and cabanas around the pool, but the sun was so extreme we needed some shade while we were in the water. The main pool was more lively with music playing a few activities like water cycling, volleyball, and aerobics. The crowd was not too rowdy while were there, but it got a little loud around the swim-up bar. We spent most of our time at this pool. We never had trouble finding chairs even with six of us sitting together. The towel game did not seem to be an issue here. This may be because the resort was at half capacity, but it seemed like there are plenty of chairs even at busier times. The beach is unswimmable but has a very nice view. We went down to the beach bar. It was really nice with swings at the bar, but it was extremely hot. So we went back to the pool after 45 minutes or so. The food was pretty good. I know this is subjective, and I have read reviews that said the food was great and reviews that said it was terrible. We have stayed at budget resorts and very nice resorts, and my opinion is that the food at Secrets is somewhere near the top of what we have experienced. We tried all the restaurants and did not have a bad experience at any of them. My personal favorites were El Patio and Himitsu both the hibachi grill and the regular seating. As other reviews have stated, there are not many night time activities. We participated in the Mexican night with the mariachi band and buffet. We all enjoyed that very much. We also went to karaoke at Desires one night. That was a fun time too. We went to the tropical show. It was less my test, but my wife and one of the other women enjoyed it. The fire show was one of the best we have seen. Most of these activities were over by 10:00 PM. After that Desires would have a DJ, and the lobby bar was open until 1:00 AM. Desires seemed more for the younger crowd the one night we went. We usually ended up sitting around the lobby bar, Rendezvous, in the evenings after dinner. Our group was very impressed with the staff. They do go out of their way to take care of the guests. Every member greeted us when we passed them from the grounds keeping to housekeeping to the activity staff. There are a few that I want to mention. Two days Eloy was our waiter at the main pool. He is great! He took very good care of us and is very friendly, personable, and fun. On his day off, Alberto was our waiter. Alberto is great too. He was always there when we needed something with a smile on his face. Oscar at the main pool bar is nothing short of amazing. There were times that he was taking care of 10 people at once. He always got our drinks right and was always friendly even when he was running around like crazy. Martin at El Patio was also great. He is an excellent waiter and very professional. The housekeeping was very good. We had turn-down service each night except the first when we got to the room later in the day. We only got the mini bar refilled later in the week. The first 2 or 3 days they didn't refill it. We had only drank the diet Coke and water, but I did want some more. I did not call about it. I am sure if I had called they would have taken care of it. I also wanted to address the Preferred Club because so many people ask if it is worth it. We enjoyed having an ocean front room which you can only get with Preferred. We spent many evenings on the balcony before dinner watching the waves. The other rooms are ocean view, but our room was right next to the beach with no buildings in front of it. We also used the Preferred lounge a lot. It was a great pre-dinner meeting place with snacks and very good drinks. As I mentioned, we didn't really use the Preferred pool much. We also got small (airline size) bottles of liquor that we never used. We had a bottle of Jack Daniels, some vodka, and some tequila. I would get the Preferred upgrade again if it was only a few hundred dollars more. You could definitely not get the upgrade and still have a great time. I would definitely recommend this resort for those looking for a relaxing vacation. If we return, it will probably be in the spring or fall because of the heat. We're from Texas and are used to heat, but the heat and humidity while we were there made any non-water activities miserable.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Great 40th Birthday getaway....

    Reviewed by fkytwn(Fort Worth, Texas) on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Nothing but great things to say about this place. This was our first trip to Cabo and it truly was an amazing experience. We had an Ocean Front in the Preferred side with breathtaking views of the mountains and ocean. Is the Preferred option worth it? YES! Access to the Preferred lounge, access to pool cabanas without reservations, the views from the Infinity pool.... all worth it for us. We would definitely do it again. I'd like to mention Abelardo, Abram, Benji, and the Preferred pool concierges took real good care of us. The Portofino was our fave out of all the restaurants. But there are great options for breakfast, lunch and dinner, you won't be disappointed. All in all, a wonderful experience.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Restaurant Portofino

    Reviewed by lkr64() on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We had a wonderful relaxing dinner. Salvatore was our waiter and he was amazing. He was courteous and made it memorable. We highly recommend coming and request Salvatore. Resort is just beautiful and this dinner was a highlight Extensive wine options

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX