Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay Resort & Spa

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Mazatlan
    5. Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay Resort & Spa
    6. Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay Resort & Spa review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    I

    Not what was expected for an all-inclusive. Probably great for adults only. Won't be back.

    Reviewed by IG on May 21, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Be warned...this is 75% Time Share. While the property is lovely, if you are expecting a TRUE all-inclusive experience with a variety of restaurants, daily and nightly entertainment, beach activities, etc. this is not the place. It is not family-friendly ie: there is nothing to do in the area (must bus it to sister property) and the beach is horrible. Rocks everywhere. At night there is no entertainment, or areas to go have a drink that kids are allowed. The only bar is adults only. The resort service is good, but you must order off menus at ALL times. Give room numbers at ALL times. Even in order to get a bottle of water or a drink at the bar. Then, they present you with a bill that you must sign for, every single time. And, of course, the tip area is highlighted...Can't just walk up to a bar get a drink and leave. Every. Single. Time. WestJet is better than this. The properties they offer are better than this. It should probably be an adults only property. This sister property was exactly the same, only older.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    C

    This is truly the only resort to stay at in Mazatlan!!!

    Reviewed by Canadian Ladies on Apr 09, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Friends

    I have stayed almost everywhere in Mazatlan and there will be no other resort to stay at now. From the moment we arrived we had exceptional service. We were upgraded to a suite with a balcony overlooking the pool and ocean. We went straight to the pool and our waiter Enrique took care of all the details every day. Drinks were not watered down and he and his co-workers went out of their way to anticipate our every need. The food at the pool was great. The food at the buffet was limited but very fresh and the theme changed every night so we didn't get tired. The rooms with large and clean. All our needs were met and we didn't even have to leave the resort. You can be assured we will be back next year. Enrique serves right by the poolside kitchen.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    Excellent Resort with Exceptional Service and Food!

    Reviewed by Lrac on Mar 27, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    This was our first stay at the PBEB and we were so very impressed by everything that the resort had to offer. The grounds are a veritable Garden of Eden with lush vegetation, fish ponds, statues and birds everywhere. My wife would take the long route back to our room from the pool just so that she could take in the surroundings. While there are only two restaurants available for dinner, one a buffet the other a la carte, we found enough variety on the menu to satiate our appetites. The Bistro served a filet in bacon that was as good as if not better than a filet you would get at a Canadian restaurant and all of their menu items were first rate. La Cordeliere has theme night buffets and the three we attended had food that was as good as a la carte dining as the staff constantly monitored not only the amount of food remaining but what the temperature was and quickly removed anything that was sub standard. The service was fantastic all of the staff are so helpful and willing to make your stay the best you could ask for. When we stayed there were few children and the majority of guests were in the 50+ age group. While there is little in the way of evening entertainment you can take the free shuttle into Mazatlan if you need excitement. The rooms all have cooking facilities, two burner rings, microwave, fridge, coffee maker and cooking and eating utensils. Not all rooms have a view of the ocean because of the lush vegetation even on the fourth floor. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are spacious even though the bathroom is a little small. You are entitled to use the facilities at the PB Mazatlan as well and can get there by the free shuttle which runs at least hourly. The beach at Emerald Bay is nice but they discourage swimming because of the rocks and while we were there the jellyfish, so go to PB Mazatlan to swim and while there eat at Cilantros which is right on over the beach and the food is every bit as good as PBEB. We love this place and will be back!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3905 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    American in Mazatlan

    Reviewed by Tammy L(Winston Salem, North Carolina) on Jun 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    First the resort is pretty, great views, clean, suites are sizable with full kitchen, utensils and cookware, lots of pools, food and drinks. The beach is pretty but you cant get in the water because of rough waves and rocks. The price was fair and the spa packages were excellent, best MASSAGE!. We did have some bad experiences while at the Resort - my jewelry went missing and management did not provide any assistance for this, we were left in Mazatlan by the tour bus, luckily the Concierge was able to get half of $ back. Mazatlan felt safe but be smart. The Los Osuna Tequila tour and ATV was great best Tequila EVER! Met some great people at the resort from everywhere. We felt safe on the resort and in Mazatlan. We loved the shuttle between sister properties and the golf carts on the resort to get you around. Eat at PANCHOS best food and customer service! Advise to exchange $ prior to arrival. The water is filtered on the resort so you can drink it plus all of the restaurants provide bottled water too. We would not classify it as a FOUR DIAMOND.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-2

    Value

    Value-3

    Deanne Culp

    Reviewed by Nanadeanne(Colorado Springs, Colorado) on Jun 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We had a wonderful 3 week visit to Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan-our favorite resort we’ve ever been to. All of the staff there welcome us like we are their family. Patty at the front desk is simply the best. She is always smiling and so accommodating. You couldn’t ask for anyone better. Also CINDY and Sofia are very kind and helpful. The maids do a wonderful job cleaning and the groundskeepers keep everything so beautiful! Cilantros is open now after being remodeled and is a very nice restaurant with wonderful waiters and chefs. Miguel, Enrique, Omar, Gonzalos, Oscar-there isn’t a bad waiter there. Leonardo who was doing room service while we were there is so kind. And my husband’s favorite-Anna in the morning in Cilantros and sometimes the evening at Angelos-she is always smiling! They are all wonderful. Bruno at the Asian restaurant is great!! Around the pool and the beach the waiters are top notch. My favorites are Oscar, Antonio, Juan, Mateo, Alfredo, Noe—I don’t want to forget anyone-they are all great. Jorge and Sergio at the towel stand and security are great. The lifeguards are all really watching even though it may seem like they’re not-I saw them pull 2 groups of children in when they got too far out and their parents weren’t watching them. I have nothing bad to say-our stay was great. We were lucky that we had a kitchenette in our room-but I think all the rooms should have that-that is my only suggestion. We hope to be back soon. Thank you all for everything! And please remember to tip all of these people generously! I think you should remove the part where it says if you have all inclusive that tips are included-they deserve more than what they get from that.

    Excellent service

    Reviewed by 661rammyk() on Jun 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Thank you Jose Ortez and Luis at the front desk being so thoughtful and providing such excellent service to us!! I wish you would make Pueblo bonito a non smoking resort. I have to say as a parent it makes me sick to see how inconsiderate how some of the guests are smoking next to my child by the pool. I am disappointed that the staff did nothing when I pointed this out. Very sad. This will not stop us from coming. I just wish the resort would have designated places to smoke away from public/kids p

    Avoid

    Reviewed by Justin K(Scottsdale, Arizona) on Jun 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Let me start by saying the resort grounds, the pools, the food and beverage, and the spa were all 4 1/2 stars. We loved it... The bad. Management is absolutely the worst. We were staying at another resort and were suckered into a timeshare presentation with free massages, free airport transportation, etc. It was a high pressure sales situation, where we ultimately signed up. That's our bad and on us. As part of buying, they offered to move us from our other resort to PB Emerald Bay for $57 a night for Jr Suite with a king size bed. We did it as it was much nicer than our resort. They originally said they didn't have any Jr Suites so we were going to be "upgraded" to a Master Suite. I use the quotes, as the room wasn't an upgrade, it absolutely sucked. It was a ground floor on the far end of the property, and It had 2 tiny double beds. By the way, the beds are absolutely terrible. Even when we requested to be moved to a top floor, (which they did finally oblige the following day) the king size bed in the jr Suite was just as bad. I guess that is why the tequila is so cheap there, they want you to drink enough of it to be able to actually sleep on the beds. The next few days were fine. Highly recommend dinner at Mr Lionso, it was a 70 peso taxi ride from resort. After a few days and rethinking of the timeshare, we decided to exercise our right to rescind the contract (which is legal within 5 business days per Mexico law). We followed the directions in the contract to a T, created a letter and signed and had the Customer Service Manager (don't recall her name, but she is a liar and a terrible person) counter sign. We dropped off the letter at the location of the sale per the contract rescission instructions and we were told we would hear from her within 10 business days. Two days later when we were checking out, we were told that we would have to pay an additional $438 for our room (which sucked) for past 6 days because we cancelled our timeshare contract? Who does business like that? We cancel our contract, so we get hit with hidden charges?!?! We argued with the hotel manager as well as the timeshare manager, but we were not getting anywhere. We had to leave, or risk being late to airport, so reluctantly paid the extra charge (which I intend to dispute with my credit card company). After speaking to the timeshare woman, I immediately disputed the timeshare deposit as well, because I do not trust this woman and her terrible business practices. In short, go for the grounds, pools, amenities, food and drink, but don't plan on getting a good night sleep and avoid the timeshare at all costs.

    great place to "chill out"

    Reviewed by ARTHUR B(Sun City West, Arizona) on Jun 05, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Although the place is getting a little old and in need of upgrading, it is still a wonderful place to relax in peaceful tranquility. Every room has a full ocean view. The pool is well laid out, including the adults only pool. La Cordiere buffet is a wonderful place to sit and enjoy the ocean view while having breakfast. All the staff is friendly and very accommodating. Special kudos to Juan Carlos, Namu,Claudio, and Ariel in the buffet.Jesus and Osvaldo for activities. Jorge in Kelly's Bar. Just a nice, peaceful and serene place to spend some time.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX