Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 7902 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Amazing spot to get away from civilization

    Reviewed by dannoMx() on Mar 02, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I went there to disconnect a little bit from the city’s confinement. The resort is about 45 mins from PVR and you can only get there in a car, so that’s an extra star in my POV, as you don’t get too close from other resorts nor other attractions which made me enjoy even more my stay. The beach is nice for people willing to do surf but you can also have a swim either when the waves aren’t too raw or in the salt pool, that’s also part of Palladium. My visit was in the middle of the pandemic, so the hotel had visitor limit restrictions as well as the local bio-sanitary measures in place to avoid COVID spread. Therefore, at some times of the day the restaurants or even the pools were almost empty, giving us some sort of private experience. I noticed some of the facilities such as children pools were closed and the restaurants are not open in a daily basis, so it’ll be better to book a table with a day in advance if you want to have a taste of each one of the Mexican, Italian or Asian restaurants. Pros: The personnel is friendly, the facilities are easy to reach and the food quality reached my expectations. I’d like to mention Jose & Missael from the adult’s pool bar, Hortencia from La Terraza buffet and Santiago from La Adelita resto that were helpful, servicial and offered an above and beyond attention. Cons: Even though the COVID measures are in place, I noticed that the personnel does not advise guests to follow the social distancing rules. I understand that they have a job and correcting a bunch of customers might not be part of it, as well as the fact that this might affect our perception of the holiday, but most of the times the main pool bar was crowded, with no masks but the one the bartender was wearing which meant high risk of contamination not only for the guests in question but for the personnel as well. Besides, I found a disposable mask in a pool’s water that apparently went unnoticed even after I reported it to a waiter. It took more than 30 mins for someone to be onsite and he did not notice it either until they came back to me to show them where the mask was (by this point it had moved towards the side of the pool, even touching one of the guests sitting there).

    Food Quality is SEVERELY lacking

    Reviewed by BradNolet() on Mar 01, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Stayed in February 2020 and will not be returning. The price was good and we had high hopes, but by the end of our trip, we were anxious to get home as the food was so bad that we couldn't stand it anymore. We made sure we did a la carte restaurants at night because they were better than the buffet, but it was still very poor. The shuttles around the property were not good if you were waiting for them, as it would take quite a while. If you stay, I would recommend calling for a shuttle to pick you up during peak times. The pools were not heated in the middle of February 2020. I would not recommend the sales package they force on you either to join their club (it is like a travel share type club). If you Google the club, the reward is not there - it is a poor value. Additionally, the coupons they give you for going through this are just not worth it either. I don't know why we went through the presentation, as we suspected this to be the case, but I guess we are gluttons for punishment. All in all, if you have COVID tasteless symptoms then perhaps I could recommend this place, but even then I think there are better options. At least the weather was nice...

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-3

    Service

    Service-3

    My 30th Birthday

    Reviewed by kndrmnty() on Feb 20, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I booked a trip to this resort in 2020 to celebrate my 30th birthday this year. My boyfriend and I were a little worried about traveling in the pandemic, but the staff was amazing about COVID protection. Melissa was so helpful, she reserved us our COVID tests on the first day we were there so we wouldn't be stressed out during the trip. She was so nice and set us up with all of our dinner reservations too. The servers at all the restaurants were incredible and truly made our trip worthwhile. They remembered us, my birthday, and our drinks! Antonio was the pool was very attentive and always made us smile. The staff truly made this trip memorable.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Great escape from Covid

    Reviewed by David E(Broomfield, Colorado) on Feb 17, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Overall a pleasant stay but the experience was lacking.in professionalism and quality of both accommodation and restaurant availability. Credit must be given for efforts to accommodate guest needs during Covid. Everyone did a great job of covering up and social distancing.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-3

    Escaping Wisconsin Feb 2021

    Reviewed by 865gailh() on Feb 13, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This is our 3rd trip to a Palladium property (previous: Riviera Maya, Costa Mujeres). Although a smaller resort, it is a beautiful location and service was still at the same high standards, Concierge staff (Brian, Felipe and Erick) could not have been more helpful, starting Day 1 and continuing throughout our entire stay! Small downside, due to Covid causing reduced capacity, restaurants were not always open; however communication was great via the Palladium app so it just made us plan a bit more, Upside, Javier was our waiter almost every night and we couldn't have asked for better service (others to note exceptional services are Alma, Mara and Geraldo.) Saving the last shout out for Armondo, our bartender at the quiet pool. His timing was impeccable, seemed to be right there at just the moment you needed him, his service was off the charts. Thank you to all others, who made this trip great!

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4