Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Huatulco
    5. Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa
    6. Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    K

    Loved it and can't wait to return!

    Reviewed by KK on Mar 27, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    Stayed at this resort Feb 28 - March 11 - would absolutely go back! Staff are friendly and helpful. Always smiling and always willing to please. Waitress Karen at pool was so awesome! Restaurants are great, never a shortage of food or selection even when staying 11 days. Recommend you ask around resort first before booking excursions. Discovered a day late that snorkelling is provided at the resort instead of paying for an excursion and resort and tour guide snorkelling was much better. Can't wait to go back!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    Loved it,staff excels at everything.

    Reviewed by Sue on Mar 23, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    We just returned from our vacation at secrets in Huatulco! We had a great time. We hope to return next year. I will start with the weather. I awoke each morning and just had to look outside to check the weather. Each morning was beautiful, sunny and hot. The staff was amazing. The food was amazing and the no reservations needed for the al a carte restaurants was an added bonus. Our resort rep James was awesome. He was available everyday of our stay. He booked our excursions with amazing tour guides. I recommend the coast to the clouds tour. The nine bay tours which includes snorkelling and a speedy snorkel tour which allows one hour in the water. We saw lots of fish,coral etc. This resort did not seem to have regular live shows that we have enjoyed in other Mexican holidays. If you require privacy in the bathroom you won't find it here. The separate toilet area is small and has frosted glass with strips of see through glass. This is visible just inside your room door. So if your friends stop by your room to pick you up you will not want to be sitting on the toilet. Just saying!!!! Each room has a jetted tub on the deck, it's a waste of space. It only fills half way and was not shaped for comfort. Take your pesos everywhere you go.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    g

    Fabulous

    Reviewed by great time on Jan 16, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    we enjoyed our stay . The staff really looked after us . Food was fabulous. We arrived on New Years eve and the party was over the top . Excellant food and entertainment . Would definitley go back again . Met some very nice people .

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    Relaxing stay in a great resort. Would go back in a heartbeat!!!!

    Reviewed by Simply Put on Jan 08, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    The hotel is on it's own bay so very secluded. Makes for a very relaxing and wonderful vacation. All the restaurants are fantastic. The weather is fantastic with sun all day : We felt very safe and were treated like we were special everyday. All the workers were very engaged and happy. Our WestJet rep went out of his way to help us get a couple wonderful excursions. Would go back in a heartbeat!!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 5457 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Disappointing with a perfect view

    Reviewed by 457kylew(Janesville, Wisconsin) on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    First off we would like to say that the staff at this secrets were great, some more than others. So that being said checking into this resort we were bombarded by a vacation club member named Daniel, and it was very uncomfortable. We encountered him a couple more times throughout our stay and all were very uncomfortable conversations. Anytime we spotted him we would turn and go the other way. Maybe a change in the approach of pressuring a time share onto guest when they are just getting to your resort? It’s not how we wanted to start our vacation. Our room was very nice. We had an ocean front room in building 4 on the 3rd floor. The view was amazing! We’ve stayed at a couple secrets resorts now and all of the jacuzzi tubs have been broken. Not a big deal because we don’t spend much time in the room anyway but maybe routine maintenance would help sell a $2500 vacation a little better. Next is the food..... PLEASE READ IF YOU ARE LOOKING TO COME FOR THE FOOD. The food was average at best. They would only open 2-3 restaurants every night because the resort wasn’t busy. That being said we never got to try the oceana seafood place because it was never open! Market buffet was nasty. The Mexican dinner place was even nastier. Hibachi wasn’t worth making a reservation for. The Italian place CinCin was our favorite. French place was average. Castaways for lunch was great! Room service was gross as well. So my review for the food part of this trip would be 2/5. Very disappointed! ENTERTAINMENT- if you are coming for the night life then stay away! This was the most boring resort we have ever been to. You can only play volleyball so many times before you get burnt out. Please send a worker to different resorts and copy half of what they do for entertainment and secrets Huatulco would be unbeatable. The only reason we would consider coming back to secrets Huatulco is because of Alejandro, Dulce, Francisco, and Fernando. Without guidance from them on what to do we would have sat in the pool all day for 7 days and drank half the supply of tequila in Mexico. Without them this review would be 1.5/5 Also the pool swim up bar closes at 6pm... and every other bar is Boring with a capital B! So if your on vacation just for a great view from your resort room this is the place to go. But other than that it’s average at best. Hopefully things change because Huatulco was a beautiful city and we would love to come back.

    Secrets Huatulco

    Reviewed by jtrejo1996() on Jul 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The hotel is excellent for couples, it's cozy, the food is really tasty, the restaurants are amazing, the service is really nice, everyone work a lot for you to feel comfortable. Also, the pool and the beach areas are super cool for you to just chill out. And the activities are great, the staff works amazing!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Amazing

    Reviewed by skschoonhoven() on Jul 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Overall I had an amazing time ,no children screaming which made the trip, service was great, connection for WiFi could've been better. Definitely treated well at the secret hotel. Wait staff was very generous . I will definitely be back

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Stay Away

    Reviewed by Ali K() on Jul 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    My fiance and I booked this resort as it was one of the few within reasonable distance of Oaxaca's city center -- which is where we were originally staying. After arriving and paying top-dollar for one of their higher-end rooms, before we were even let into are room, we were hassled into attending one of their time-share sales pitch meetings. They offered a free private beach dining experience - among other things - so we finally agreed and they scheduled us to do both. We ended up missing the private dinner because I became ill from the awful food they serve at their buffet. Despite being sick, we ended up attending the sales-pitch, as they threatened to charge us a "no-show" fee if we did not. Things got much worse after this... During checkout, they claimed that there was an approx. $190 USD outstanding charge for the missed dinner since they had no record of us attending the sales pitch -- we did attend, though. When I refused to pay for it, they physically prevented us from getting into our cab until I turned over my credit card. Yes, they literally kidnapped us until we paid them to allow us to leave. Awful experience. I am genuinely considering file a lawsuit against them.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Location

    Location-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-1

    Value

    Value-1

    Amazing view but...

    Reviewed by Haley438(Knoxville, Tennessee) on Jul 06, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    -STAFF- Thank you! The staff works very hard and goes out of their way to make sure you have all you need. They were very kind. Especially the servers in the restaurants. The women who worked in the CoCo cafe worked very hard and were usually working there alone making all food and drinks while taking orders. Thank you for your service and attention!! Housekeeping staff was extremely kind and made sure everything was very clean. Thank you Elizabeth -Location- The view is absolutely beautiful. You could spend the whole time in your room looking at the ocean view and be happy. It’s an isolated hotel surrounded by a tropical forest. So many trees, a lot of green beautiful landscape. There are also many animals which I was excited to see, lots of iguanas, opossums, butterflies and birds! Fantastic location and wildlife. -The beach- the beach is so beautiful. It’s like a virgin area. The sand is a pretty golden color and as I mentioned before the view with the cliffs is amazing. There are many crabs, hermit crabs ghost crabs. Very pretty to see. -Restaurants- Coco Cafe is very good. Their smoothies are delicious especially the Huatulcazo. Tamarindo was delicious, Spice was very good as well. Castaways had good lunch options as well. Market Cafe has many options and fresh juices. - Keep In mind this is definitely more of a couple’s resort. I didn’t really realize that when initially planning a trip for a group of 3. Several people were there for their honeymoons and anniversaries. They also have private beach dinners you can pay extra for with beautiful setting and string lights. THINGS TO WATCH OUT FOR / DISLIKES: -Mosquitos and flies- Because of the hotel’s location and the natural beauty, there are also a lot of bugs. You should DEFINITELY bring bug spray and also cream for bites. On the beach there are mosquitos and flies that bite especially around dusk. We were a group of 3 and when we went to the beach around dusk we were bitten a lot on our arms and legs. My boyfriend was also bitten by a fly. Be careful and go well prepared. -Flies inside hotel area- I love the location and natural beauty of the hotel. I especially love that the hotel takes pride in being eco friendly. But, in some restaurant areas I still think there are too many flies around the table and around the food. And there are eco friendly ways to reduce the number of flies. In the market cafe there were a lot of flies around the buffet food and also flies that you had to swat away while eating. -I understand that hotels will cater to guests with a membership, but I feel like the system of this hotel did it in a way that was very obvious from the beginning. You check in and then someone sits down with you and tries to sell you a membership then shows what you get versus normal guests. When we checked out we were going to get an extended checkout and pay by the hour(since our flight was at 6) but we were told it wasn’t available which I understand. Then someone approached and said maybe they could offer us some promotions and talked about the membership but we declined. Also, the restaurant with the beautiful view Castaways is for members only during sunset/ dinner and not for all guests which doesn’t really make me want to be a member if I wasn’t one already. -the door in front of toilet in room is glass and see through so there is little privacy there. - I wish there were more casual options for dinner since to enter the 3 restaurants for dinner formal attire is required or you can eat outside. After doing activities all day such as swimming, boating, or going downtown it might be nice to have a relaxing, casual less formal place. But I understand many people feel the opposite.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX