Occidental Nuevo Vallarta

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    H

    Great location, beautiful beach, fantastic food, friendly and helpful staff.

    Reviewed by Happy Traveller on Feb 01, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2018

    Trip Type: Single

    I had a wonderful stay at this resort. It's located on one of the best beaches in the area. The restaurants had great food and the staff were very nice. There are only 2 bars, the bar by the pool and a lounge in the main area so it was usually fairly relaxing. I don't think I saw a drunk person all week. If you're looking for a resort to party at this isn't it. Great resort for families, couples, singles. The gym was fairly small but had everything I needed for a good work out. I'm heading back to this area one month after my stay at Occidental Nuevo but the resort is full. I would have stayed there again if they had a room for me.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    Immaculate hotel, amazing staff! Perfect vacation.

    Reviewed by SamlovedMexico on Jan 20, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Westjet made our travels stress free. Nice to have prearranged airport transportation. Our westjet rep was very helpful the morning after we arrived. We loved this hotel. The staff was amazing. Rooms, hotel, pools and grounds were immaculate. The beach was beautiful and we could walk for hours to the north. The hotel had free boogie boards kayaks and paddle boards. I recommend requesting a room in the south wing. The middle section was noisy with the lobby party/music until about 11 pm. Hotel needs to put felt pads on all chairs in the rooms and lobby. Check in was quick. Would have been helpful to be given more information about the hotel. There were generally always loungers available but it?s a good idea to lay out your towels in the morning. Dissapointing not to be able to use adult pool without upgrading. However main pool was never crowded. Our belongings were never touched on the beach, by the pool or in the room. We used the safe in our room mostly but found staff very honest. We had to ask occasionally for minibar refill despite leaving tips. Note the minibar is not filled by housekeeping so we left separate tips after we clued into this. Had to request water one day and they literally had it in our room before I got back up to our room. The al la Carte restaurants were amazing. The buffet had fresh diverse options. Seafood was excellent. It would be nice to make all restaurant reservations the first day. Servers were friendly and attentive. Loved having the option of having drinks brought to us on the beach! Bartenders were at times inconsistent. Main buffet was not always open at lunch just snack bar. I would have preferred the music at the pool in the lobby and in the shows be not as loud. The bass in the pool music was annoying. Entertainment was awesome. Very talented dancers. Beautiful costumes very synchronized and well choreographed routines. Note if you have children some of the costumes and routines are pretty sexy. 200 peso cab to town.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    J

    Best vacation by far. Occidental Nuevo Vallarta was top notch.

    Reviewed by Joe H on Feb 07, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    We booked the Occidental Nuevo Vallarta through WestJet Vacations. From start to finish this vacation was amazing. We were picked up at the airport and taken directly to the hotel. Check-in was prompy, friendly and efficient. The resort is on the smaller side which makes it perfect for families. The rooms are modern and clean. Our room was within 100 steps to the beach and pool. The beach was beautiful with white sand and no rocks. The entertainment staff was there to ensure there was always something to do. There were boogie boards, kayaks, stand up paddle boards all available and free to use. The restaurants and buffet were all amazing. We never had one bad experience in ten days we stayed. The staff were all extremely friendly and genuinely there to ensure you had the best experience possible. The drinks were made with all the premium brands and the drinks made with juices were freshly squeezed. Try the Greyhound's! All in all this was a 10/10 trip for myself and my two kids. I will be returning to this resort again without hesitation.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    W

    Loved it! Want to go back.

    Reviewed by WENDY and Olga on Sep 25, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: September 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    Lovely property and great staff! Everyone from bellman Carlos, to check in Michelle, to Bartender Alfredo, to Servers Perla and Jesus and Angeles were all ready to serve and attend to our wishes! Alfredo kept saying..."it is my pleasure" to serve...and I truly believed he meant it! Location was excellent and food great....definitely want to go back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    Good hotel

    Reviewed by Leni on Nov 19, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2014

    Trip Type: Couple

    The hotel was great, food, service, clean, location... all good. Only a couple of complaints. 1 time share people. I had to be rude to them to get the off my back. 2 no balconies 3 rooms next to the elevator are very noisy

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 5403 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Occidental Hotel

    Reviewed by paulnetzband(Cochrane, Canada) on Aug 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Excellent property with fantastic staff Great resort Great food I would recommend the Occidental Grand Hotel to family and friends. The Tokyo restaurant was a real treat, and the chef cooking at the Teppanyaki.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Wonderful place to stay!

    Reviewed by Fonda W() on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This all-inclusive hotel was fantastic! The staff all remembered us throughout our stay and always made us feel included and special. The food was excellent, beyond our expectations. We would love to go back sometime!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Stay at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta

    Reviewed by ardentgemini() on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Luckily we were able to stay at this resort for the cost of a presentation promotion; otherwise we wouldn't have been happy paying full price. But, I think there's great potential for this resort with some updates to their room and better maintenance.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3

    DO NOT STAY HERE

    Reviewed by Cynthia M() on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    This is by far the worst Hotel I’ve ever stayed at. It is beyond me how this resort can have this many good reviews. The Hotel is dirty, food is awful....not to mention the fact that they have all these restrictions on what’s suppose to be “All Inclusive” they advertise free WiFi but when you get there they charge $12 per day. They have absolutely no respect for your do not disturb sign. I mean is there for a reason why would u still call the room and say your sign is up can we clean your room? The curtains in our room not only were they dirty n dusty but also had a smothered dead fly. I was sitting in the lobby and there’s a huge roach just roaming around the table. I mean it was just discussing!!! On our first night we had to call house keeping at 10pm to come change our bed sheets, the sheets were wet the room had this smell like wet and humid, AC didn’t work well during the day only at night. On our first day we had no TV they said something was wrong with the signal. Walking around the hallway is unbearable they have no ac anywhere!! Getting into the elevator was torture, it was like not being able to breathe. I must say the only good thing this resort had was the employees. The whole staff is super nice very polite friendly and attentive. Absolutely no complaints as far as service.

    BEAUTIFUL FRIENDLY PLACE TO VACATION

    Reviewed by Michael K(Seminole) on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The Hotel was very nice and clean. The view was unbelievable. The Staff in the entire hotel were amazingly friendly and so helpful. The food was so delicious, fresh and beautifully displayed. I would love to bring my entire family there.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX