Occidental Punta Cana

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    H

    Loved the beaches and the pools. Enjoyed the service by the chefs, servers and the bartenders. Management staff needs to be improved.

    Reviewed by Huzaifa Khanani on Mar 07, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2019

    Trip Type: Friends

    The bar and buffet service was great. Our room smelled really bad and they didnt do anything about it. They didnt change our room nor did they reply to us when we called the front desk. The wifi is a bit expensive and doesnt work properly as well. The room keys kept malfunctioning as well as the room lights. But the pool and beach were amazing. Overall i feel that the management staff performs poorly. But the servers, bartenders and chefs did a splendid job to keep the guests happy. Personally, because of my bad experiences, i wouldnt go back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4213 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Had a wonderful vacation! See you next year??

    Reviewed by Loruana R() on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We where so excited about this vacation, but I never expected so many great attentions from all the personal. From our arrival to the last day I had a great time. The beach was gorgeous it was like a dream. Thank you so much for all the great time and see you next year. Love the place!!!!??

    Worst resort experience ever.

    Reviewed by J5965GZstephaniew(Brockville, Canada) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Let me start by saying I never really write a review on resorts but created an account on trip advisor just for this. I often take reviews with a grain of salt and often find people complain about anything. I'll start my review with the resort is beautiful and the food was not bad at all. We had no problems booking the alacarte and really enjoyed them. But the service was horrible. Waiting for a long time for drinks and often only getting a drink if you waved money at the bartenders. Someone in our group watched them put water in the alcohol and everyday each bar "ran out" of vodka. We attended a wedding here. They supplied one bartender for 130 people and tried telling us when the wedding reception started they ran out of vodka. I went to the front desk because my wirst band was far too big and Melina at the front desk took 20 mins to get me a new one and then tried to tell me the numbers on it didnt exist in their system. I also watched her be rude to another couple when they were complaining about their room. And then said something rude about them to her friend in Spanish (I speak spanish). The guy at the lobby bar was so miserable he only smiled when we was joking around with his friends instead of serving people. One morning I ordered a coffee he looked at me told me 10 mins and then joked around laughing with his friends. No joke. We shared our block with 150 high schoolers from breakaway tours. Nothing was ever done about them running around knocking on door and yelling at each other in the wee hours of the morning. They were extremely ignorant and mouthy. This resort books a group of student every week in March so beware. The students had a party on the beach every night until midnight with loud music but the wedding we went to was only aloud to go until 1030. Which they tried to have later and were denied. Massive line ups to get in the buffet. By far worst resort experience ever and I have been to many. I will be sure all my friend who are planning destination weddings know to stay away from this resort. Wouldn't recommend this resort to anyone I know. I mean dont get me wrong I can have fun anywhere still a great vacation spent with friends and family.

    Birthday celebration

    Reviewed by Shik H() on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    I’m currently staying at this hotel celebrating my boyfriends birthday. The service here needs a lot of work. Hospitality trying is lacking. This is a 2.5 star resort at best. I will applaud their grounds upkeep and cleanliness but that is where the good stuff ends. I’m currently sitting at the lobby bar and they have completely run out of mist liquors, on a good day when they are stocked only two drinks on their menu are available to order. It’s 1pm how do you run out of alcohol at an all inclusive resort mid day on a Monday?!! And no it wasn’t that busy over the weekend. I had to jump through hoops just to get a king size bed instead of a double. When I inquired about the royal level the guy quoted me one price then proceeded to go UP in price from there! The bar tenders at the pool bar and lobby bar are grumpy and impersonal. No conversation and barely an apology for their lack of drink options. Employees just waive you off if they’re unsure of how to help you. My room had no face clothes nor hand towels. The sales people are the only ones around and that’s because they are constantly trying to sell you something. The harassment is insane at the beach, at the pool as your walking to your room. They are EVERYWHERE! The food is McDonald’s quality. This is my 8th or 9th time in PUJ and I will NEVER BOOK HERE AGAIN. The price and lack of quality service wasn’t worth the annoyance.

    not returning to this hotel

    Reviewed by Footprints141516(Toronto, Canada) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Started with slow painful check for 130 of us ,we upgraded to superior but our toilet didn't work Most of week. Maids forgot towels , coffe, cream packets in room. Fan broken in room, fixed after complaining on second last day. Often Couldn't get vodka on any of the bars ..what we got seemed watered down, alacartes slow and hard to get into.mostly after 830 .. They Didn't seem full earlier when we checked . We has unlimited wifi but constantly had to log back in. Our building 15 was quiet and close to beach and lobby but toilet situation never resolved . 15201 beware! Grounds lovely but front lobby management not helpful. Resort small and could be such a great destination spot if they would get the bar and restaurant service under control,..long line ups everywhere .

    Not worth the high price.

    Reviewed by Paradise12378350002(Falls Church, Virginia) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    The quality of food was not at the level of the price paid for the week I spent there. The speediness of service was serverly lacking, and the restaurant that needed reservations were never full (even though they claimed to be full).

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Location

    Location-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-2

    Value

    Value-2

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX