Occidental Punta Cana

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    H

    Loved the beaches and the pools. Enjoyed the service by the chefs, servers and the bartenders. Management staff needs to be improved.

    Reviewed by Huzaifa Khanani on Mar 07, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2019

    Trip Type: Friends

    The bar and buffet service was great. Our room smelled really bad and they didnt do anything about it. They didnt change our room nor did they reply to us when we called the front desk. The wifi is a bit expensive and doesnt work properly as well. The room keys kept malfunctioning as well as the room lights. But the pool and beach were amazing. Overall i feel that the management staff performs poorly. But the servers, bartenders and chefs did a splendid job to keep the guests happy. Personally, because of my bad experiences, i wouldnt go back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 5071 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Save your money or bring canned food

    Reviewed by infoC4660MI() on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Although the hotel accommodation itself was ok, the service was horrible and none of the staff spoke English. The food was terrible and it felt like we were stuck on an island rather than on an all inclusive resort vacation. We all had serious digestive issue by the second day ????.This is a two star hotel at best. Save your money and book a real punta cana resort. I can honestly say that the best day of this vacation was the day we left!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Location

    Location-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-2

    Service

    Service-1

    Value

    Value-1

    Paradise

    Reviewed by iah1r(Indio, California) on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed for 8 days and at the end we didn’t want to leave. We upgraded to the royal level and it was well worth it. The staff went out of their way to make sure that all our needs were met. The food exceeded our expectations. We will definitely be back next year!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    An amazing stay in paradise

    Reviewed by V E(New York City, New York) on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The Occidental Punta Cana is the closest thing to paradise you can experience. Our family of 4 stayed there for 5 days and 4 nights and will never forget the amazing vacation we had here. We arrived Thursday morning in Punta Cana and the resort was a quick 20 minutes from the airport. We were warmly welcomed and taken to our ocean front room. Our jaws dropped at the view from our room. The beach is 3 steps away from the Oceanside rooms and the palm trees and clear blue water are all stunning. The rooms are very spacious, clean, and comfortable. There was even a jacuzzi in the room! The resort grounds are breathtaking and the sounds of running water from the koi pond are very relaxing. By far one of our favorite parts was the staff. We ate at the buffet restaurant for every meal because we enjoyed the staff’s company so much. We quickly became friends with every server and were very well attended. Specifically, we are very thankful for our two new friends: José Martinez (the restaurant manager) and Disneli Martinez. They went above and beyond, always making us laugh and smile; as well as, finding us almond milk and teaching us Spanish. The food is very good and there is a wide variety for all dietary preferences, we definitely left a pound or two heavier! As for the beaches, they are stunning and the water is warm and clear. You can enjoy coconut water cut right in front of you, just ask the groundskeepers (and make sure to give them a tip!). If the people from Animación (the resort’s entertainment team) ask you to join their events, say yes! We had so much fun participating in a sand castle competition, learning to dance the bachata, and doing water aerobics. As for excursions, we decided to visit Saona Island and bought the tickets for $55 a person from the salespeople at the beach. It was unforgettable! It is a whole day event starting at 7 am when they pick you up and you take a bus to the port Barrahibe. From there you get on a catamaran and dance/ party your way to Saona. There you are met by a beautiful island with the clearest water and whitest sand you’ve ever seen. We payed for a photo session and had a lot of fun posing, plus we have our next Christmas card. They then take you to a national park to see starfish, followed by a quick speedboat ride home. Our tour guides were kind, making sure we had fun and were comfortable. At night, the Occidental has live music in the lounge by talented local singers and then a show at 9:30 every night in the theater. We saw a circus show, a dance show, and a comedian style couples show that had us in tears from laughter. There is always a lot of dancing and singing, so be ready for fun. We left feeling refreshed and happy from our stay at the Occidental. Punta Cana is a beautiful place to visit and not once did we feel worried about all the news that had circulated concerning tourists. We always felt safe, healthy, and (most importantly) happy. We will be sure to return one day!!!

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Believe what you read in other reviews

    Reviewed by itsabeautifulday78(Dallas, Texas) on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    The resort does have beautiful views. The beach is beautiful, the palm trees are wonderful, natural shade. This is nice especially by the pool since chairs can be hogged starting early morning at some resorts. They did give us the room type we wanted even though the ocean view was blocked by palm trees (building 13, 3rd floor- I’d go w 2nd or 1st). Our room had various issues (flooded 2nd day we were there, bathroom handle was completely broken off), but maintenance fixed them quickly. We didn’t have any issues getting towels or extra bottles of water as others have noted. Be very weary of the time share people. They push HARD. We were approached numerous times during our stay... and not just by the time share people. The spa people will hound you too. I got used to my speech and politely cutting them off at the get go, which got very old and frustrating. The “concierge” at your building is actually a time share sales person. He was gracious enough to help snag us dinner reservations at all of the restaurants, but then asked us to do him a “favor” by attending the 30 min presentation so he could get a kick back. Jose Martinez (usually found in the buffet area) is the kindest of all the employees at the resort and genuinely cares about getting to know the guests and doing what he can to make your stay great. He is one of the only reasons I have given this resort the stars I did. Most of the staff is generally unhelpful and often put off by having to deal with customers..check in desk is probably the worst. I understand cultural differences and language barriers, but I don’t take well to down right rudeness for no reason. Yes, we tipped after each meal, and after drinks, if we ordered any...this didn’t matter either. There are a lot of locals that vacation here as well. Beware of people selling stuff down on the beach, as they will hound you as well. We got tricked into having to pay ($20- the guy wanted $40) for pictures with parrots that we didn’t ask for. I knew when he placed one of the birds on my boyfriend’s shoulder that it would cost something, even though he didn’t ask us, but I didn’t expect to be asked for $40 to take pictures with birds using our camera. We were minding our business, had asked one of the security guards (there’s plenty of those, too) to photograph us, and here came the man with parrots. The food is pretty good, comparing to other all inclusive resorts I’ve been to. I enjoyed the variety of foods they offered (the main buffet). We didn’t eat at the outdoor buffet near the beach bc there were often birds and flies flying around the food. The breakfast was good, too. The Italian restaurant was our favorite. The employees there and at the oriental restaurant were also the most friendly. Beware of any of the water sports you choose to do. Both of the ones we did (through scuba caribe down by the beach) were a disaster with disorganization, lack of enough life jackets, cramming too many people into loading boats, and general unsafe conditions (we parasailed and did the scuba doo excursion). Riding in taxis is not for the faint of heart, but makes for good stories. We were not ever scared for our safety or worried about the food/drinks or getting sick like the US media has warned us about. The DR was beautiful, I just don’t think we’ll ever return to occidental.

    POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE

    Reviewed by T344VBjasonm(DAYTONA BEACH, United States) on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    If you want to enjoy at least better quality of drinks book a room at their Royal Level . their standard rooms need an upgrade and the customer service at the general front desk is very poor. At least at royal level the team is more prepared

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-1

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX