JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating

4.5 Excellent

  • Cleanliness 4.5
  • Location 4.5
  • Rooms 4.5
  • Service 4.5
  • Value 4.0

2578 TripAdvisor reviews

TripAdvisor users rated this property 2 out of 5

Sorry to have to write this

jameslB1347UQ on Jan 18, 2023

We stayed from late December, 2022 to early January 2023 (a week's visit). This is a good place to enjoy the varied plants and local wildlife. There are varieties of cactus that will surprise you. Outside our room were the northern mockingbird, Gibbons's quail, curved beak thrasher, the long tail grackles and hummingbirds. The flowers are colorful and there are places just to sit and meditate. The rooms are spacious and the beds, although a little lumpy, are comfortable enough. The problem is that the roof of the room leaks if it rains. Drops fall on the telephone and the room's table. You hear the dripping all night. The hotel could not accommodate a room change so we slept with Styrofoam cups catching the rain in the room. The lock on our door did not work when we checked-in. It took about an hour after several attempts by hotel staff to get it to work. The cleaners could not get in, they claimed, so we had to stay waiting for the room cleaners to come to have the room cleaned. The hotel offered 25,000 hotel points for the aggravation and refused our request to obtain another room. The restaurant is fine and we received good service in it. The food was ok and pricey as you would expect from a resort. The sad point is that this is an Arizona iconic hotel. It is run down not in what you see but what you cannot see. The roof on the room across from me also leaked. I heard them asking for a different room--they did not change. It is horribly overpriced. Paying upwards of $800 per night this place is not worth it as a place to stay. My suggestion is to buy a starbucks or have lunch at the resort and spend an hour enjoying the flora and fauna. Do not stay here during the rainy season (the winter and monsoon season in the summer). There are plenty of other resorts were you will enjoy a room that you can be assured that it won't leak while you sleep. The hotel offered no adjustment for the inconvenience (I did not ask for one either) as I expect there are many rooms in this "resort" where the roofs leak. It is so sad but I felt that travelers should know the state of this resort when making their decisions where to stay.

TripAdvisor users rated this property 4 out of 5

Splendid Stay

Petra K on Jan 17, 2023

Our stay in August 2022 was perfect, a really beautiful hotel. We loved the style of the cosy casitas embedded in a blooming park with typical plants for the Sonoran Desert. Great is that the hotel don't close the pools early, so you enjoy swimming nearly until midnight under a stargazing sky. The food in the restaurants is really good just like the warm hospitality of Mr. Frank and his team.

TripAdvisor users rated this property 1 out of 5

Lost Diamond Necklace

711laurynm on Jan 12, 2023

Let me start by saying the hotel is beautiful. I was there for a wedding on property. I stupidly left a diamond necklace on the table and forgot to put it on before an early flight. I realized it when I got home and called the hotel immediately. Let me say that this happened 12/4/22, the hotel was contacted first thing 12/5/22. After speaking with their loss prevention department many times- and having to tell the entire story and where we were at every time, being promised a call back and not receiving one ever (until officer Rick- thank you for being the only to actually call me back). I was finally able to make a claim with Marriott International, only to be told the next day that the hotel cannot accept responsibility. I have been a Marriott and now Bonvoy member for years and I'm so appalled by how this was handled. This wasn't a T-shirt that was left, it was a diamond necklace. I knew exactly where it was left when I took it off the night before we checked out.

TripAdvisor users rated this property 3 out of 5

Mixed Experience

pt0 (los angeles) on Jan 04, 2023

We thought this place was awesome the day we arrived. Loved our rooms and the bellman and Amy at the front desk were so helpful, friendly. After paying a pretty hefty resort fee we were unable to use the tennis courts during our stay because the hotel leased them out to a tennis camp. There was court left but that just resulted in guests fighting with each other over who reserved and who had to get off. Not pleasant. Big disappointment of our tennis playing family. Also had great meals, until one night where we waited over 2 hours with too many drinks only to be told that the dinner that we ordered was not coming. Everyone went to bed after drinking and not eating and felt horrible the next day. These issues seem beneath this level of resort. Who rents out their facilities during the holidays when your hotel is full of paying guests?

TripAdvisor users rated this property 3 out of 5

Interesting stay….

cannonater (Salt Lake City, Utah) on Dec 12, 2022

Although probably high on most peoples scale we would probably just say an overall average rating.. maybe a 6.5. Way away from everything…………..Be careful… Your upgraded Mountain View’s are of desert hills with houses. Pool was Luke warm. Place is dated but nice southwestern decor.

View All