St. James's Club & Villas Antigua

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    S

    Would stay elsewhere next time

    Reviewed by Sarah on Feb 15, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    We enjoyed the island but would stay elsewhere next time. Our flights to and from Antigua had very friendly crews. We left late from Antigua but they were able to make up the time in the air. Pick-ups to and from the airport were on time. I would highly recommend bringing Gravol with you to Antigua as the roads are quite windy and the drivers are very aggressive. Our problems first arose at check-in. We were expecting the King bed we booked. We walked into our room to find two double beds. Upon questioning this, the staff feigned ignorance and stated WestJet never communicated the information. We were told we would be placed on a wait list to get a King bed as they had run out. The following day we were asked to email them a copy of our itinerary from WestJet that stated our room arrangements. We did that but we still never got transferred to a room with a King bed. Rather disappointing. The room itself was also not up to the standard you would expect in Canada. It required some maintenance. The food at the resort was good which was a nice find as some reviews stated the opposite. It does take some effort to discover which restaurants are best for which meal. The staff at Coco's are by far the most pleasant and friendly. The water sports available at the resort were great. The staff were fantastic and always willing to teach you how to use the equipment. The two beaches were also well kept and gave you two nice options: one always having a cool breeze and the other having a great swimming area. We took two catamaran day trips: one to Barbuda and one around Antigua. They were great. Our other disappointment was that on the last full day at the resort my suitcase was went through. A pair of pants were taken but all our valuables were in the safe. The disappointing part was that security did not seem to care and brushed me off. After that incident, we would never stay at an Elite resort again. Antigua was nice but we would stay elsewhere.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    R

    Very friendly staff

    Reviewed by Romanie on Jun 20, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    The staff here are wonderful, they make the place warm and inviting and run smoothly. The main pool is close to everything and has a bar. The room was a nice size with a large bathroom. There is a number of activities to do at the beach. I would go back to this hotel again.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    B

    I enjoyed this property and would definitely recommend.

    Reviewed by Barb on Jun 19, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    Enjoyed my stay. Property located on a well maintained 110 acre site. Rooms are bright and clean. Staff members are great and very helpfull. No bracelets to identify guests, use room numbers. Lots of activities to choose from. Many options for dining. Really enjoyed the Italian restaurant even though there is a surcharge that applies. Pool areas are great. Unfortunately the beach is a little disappointing I would recommend this property for families with young children and or teens as they do have a children and teens club. Couples would enjoy this property as well.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    D

    Amazing Staff!

    Reviewed by DH on Jun 19, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    I enjoyed my stay at the St James club. The staff is always willing to assist when needed, The rooms are quite spacious. The views from the rooms is great. They had live music playing in the evening on some of the nights. Right from check in to check out they make sure your stay is welcoming and enjoyable. Would stay there again.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    K

    Loved our stay!

    Reviewed by KR on Jun 18, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    The St Jame's Club is a wonderful gem surrounded by the Atlanitic Ocean on one side and the Caribbean Sea on the other.The staff are very genuine and engaging. Good dining options particularly the Piccolo speciality restaurant. There is a $35UD supplement but well worth the experience. The food and service were excellent! The property is farily large, requiring lots of walking. unless your room was close to the main lobby. The Caribbean beach was much nicer with calmer water than the windy Atlantic beach. This is a solid 4* resort. It would be an excellent option for couples, familiies and friends. Very relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff and good food.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    K

    Lovely Resort on Antigua!

    Reviewed by Kim on Jun 16, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    This is a lovely resort on the island of Antigua. The rooms are spacious with large balconies. Loved that they had 2 sinks in the bathroom! The pool was very large with lots of seating. It was close to the restaurant so you didn't have to walk very far. The beaches were very nice and the Italian restaurant was amazing! I would highly recommend it. The downfall to this area is there are lots of stairs or hills to walk up. It does not have an elevator but if you wanted to stay around the pool and restaurant area, it is easily accessible. It was a clean hotel and the staff were friendly. I would definitely stay there again!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    Fantastic Hotel

    Reviewed by Lisa on Jun 13, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    Everything was fantastic at this hotel!! We traveled as a large group and had a blast. The entire staff were awesome, friendly and always helpful. The food was great, location was great, the rooms were large and cleaned every day with a number of staff around to help. The people here are second to none when it comes to being friendly!! There is a true kindness in their personality. This goes from our driver John Henry who we absolutely loved to all the hotel staff we met. The pools were good and the beach was great too, they did have a lot of seaweed on one of the beaches but the workers who removed the seaweed worked relentlessly from early in the morning until mid afternoon. We were impressed with their hard work We were fortunate enough to go to Shirley Heights where we listened to live incredible Caribbean music and danced!! I would recommend this hotel to everyone and would definitely return!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    Great value for the money

    Reviewed by Sue W on Jun 12, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    Overall a great experience at this property. Staff was amazing, food was good.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    Quiet and relaxing

    Reviewed by Small group trip on Jun 11, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Friends

    No wrist bands! Nice property, comfortable beds, large rooms. A rather quiet property. Great for a restful and relaxing holiday. I don't consider it to be luxurious but it is simple and clean. Staff were very friendly for the most part. The sand on their 2 beaches is nice but the water wasn't very clear. Lots of seaweed on Coco Beach which was cleaned when necessary. They told us this is seasonal and does not occur all the time. They had a great selection of non motorized water sports and I enjoyed kayaking in the Mamora bay side where the water is nice and calm. The main pool is nice but not huge and just a simple rectangle. No swim up bar. We went to the Managers cocktail party which is a great place to meet people. Seems like a lot of people spend time away from the resort exploring the island and doing excursions during the day. The food and drinks are good and the service in the restaurants and bars was always great.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    c

    love the stay there no complains

    Reviewed by chickoo on Jun 10, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    beautiful property good servce great staff good internet coonection just the beach have seaweed but overall complete satisfaction its quaint and definaltely worth to go again

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3817 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Terrific vacation

    Reviewed by RPAL789() on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We just returned from a 5 night girls’ trip at the St. James Club. I traveled with my 19 year old college student who was on spring break and my neighbor traveled with her two daughters, aged 24 and 26. The resort is about a 30 minute drive from the airport. Taxis are plentiful and rates are regulated at $31 per family (not per person), which enabled easy travel. The resort is large and the grounds are beautiful. My daughter and I stayed in a Jr. Suite. Our room was dated but clean, comfortable, and spacious. We have traveled to many all inclusive resorts and I would say the food at St. James was better than most. Not for foodies, but if I were grading it, I’d give it a solid “B”. Piccolo Mondo (the upcharge restaurant) was delicious and worth the extra money. I would recommend going near sunset as the view is beautiful. We also loved the coffee shop and the fantastic desserts and pastries they offered. The resort was sold out the week we were there but the beaches and pools never felt too crowded. We were able to get 5 chairs together every day, at whatever pool or beach we went to, without having to get up in the middle of the night to reserve seats. Pros: Loved the beach activities on Mamora Bay, the breeze on the Atlantic side, and the fitness center was well equipped. Loved all the shade options under the tiki huts and palm trees. The weather was perfect.. 80 degrees and sunny each day we were there. We were told if it does rain, it is rarely for more than 20 minutes. The views were beautiful, the resort is pristine ...It truly felt like paradise. Cons: I found the service to be very spotty. Many of the bartenders and workers at the water sports station were super friendly. However, many other employees (particularly in the restaurants) acted as though we were an inconvenience and bordered on surly. At first I thought it was just me, but all 5 of us felt the same way. The spa was lovely, but my appointment started 20 minutes late and the aesticican was not very friendly. The main lounge (Jacaranda) is in desperate need of updating (I think it’s stuck in the 1970’s), and the evening entertainment options could have been significantly better. Free wifi is only available in the public areas, and if you want wifi in your room, it costs additional money. Lastly, drinks were good, but the wine was terrible (aside from the choices at Piccolo Mondo). Overall, if you are looking for an action packed trip with lots of entertainment options, this is probably not the place for you. If you have come for a 5 star experience, this is also likely not the place for you. But if you are looking to unwind and relax in a beautiful beach setting, with good food, fun drinks, amazing weather, and a kickback kind of vibe, you’ll love the St. James Club.

    Fun Family Vacation...so sad to leave!

    Reviewed by jennyboo67(Muskoka District, Canada) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This was our first visit to Antigua and will not be our last and the experience we had at the St. James's Club was definitely the major contributing factor to the positive impressions with which we have left this island. My husband and I travelled with my sister and her husband and three boys and stayed in the beachfront rooms. The location of these rooms for us were ideal. The breeze off of the ocean made relaxing days on the beach very comfortable. Even though the resort was very full we never found it difficult to find enough lounge chairs for our group. We spent most of our time on this side of the resort because we found the bay side to be extremely warm...lots of other folks seemed very happy over there and again lots of room to recline! We did venture over to the bay side to enjoy drinks at the Mamora Bay Bar while the sun went down. We enjoyed the food at all of the restaurants we went to. The food at the buffets is above average based on our experience with all inclusive resorts and we were always quite happy to eat there. We had lunch a few times at Eleven-11 and the food is very good - the pizza and angus burgers were big hits with the kids (and adults)...we did find the service here to be slow. Steakhouse night was our favourite night at the Rainbow Garden. On our last evening we treated ourselves (the adults) to dinner at Piccolo Mondo (extra charge for all inclusive guests) and loved it. I would recommend this, for sure. With respect to beverage service this resort had the best "house wines" I have experienced at an all inclusive resort. I can't comment on the red wine but the chardonnay and rose were quite good. The bar service at the pool bar was excellent and we had some fun conversations with the bartender (Marlon?) when we hung out there. As I mentioned earlier we also like spend the late afternoon over at the Mamora Bay Bar. On the beach where we stayed we were visited by a golf cart/bartender who delivered and made drinks as he made his way around the resort. There are fridges in the rooms which are not stocked with pop, beer or water. (The water from the tap is safe to drink.) We also visited the Docksider bar in the evenings on a couple of nights and had good service there while we enjoyed live music. The rooms are clean and comfortable. I suspect that some people might choose to complain about the finishings in the rooms but for us that's not all that important. We have stayed at places that look all shiny and new but aren't cleaned well...I would prefer clean any day! Our air conditioner wasn't working well and a call to the front desk had that resolved very quickly. The grounds of the resort are well maintained and the beach was too. A measure of how much we enjoyed the resort was the fact that we really didn't want to venture too far away, but we did go to Shirley Heights on the Sunday night and would recommend this. It was very busy but it was a fun party atmosphere with a killer view! Once we looked down on English Harbour we knew we need to see that too so we stopped there on our way back from zip lining a couple of days later. We ate at Cloggy's which was very good and has a fantastic view! We considered taking the kids to Stingray Bay but those two short trips were lots for us. I am sure that I have missed something but the general theme is that we loved Antigua and were very happy and comfortable at SJC, would happily return and also recommend it to others. Leaving was very difficult and I think that always says something about the experience we had.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    fantastic location

    Reviewed by Steven W() on Mar 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    stayed 2/3 to12/3 for a wedding what a place this is, friends got married here and everything went great . we had ocean view room very nice , food we though was very good in all the restaurants drinks great ask for dark rum the, beach on the ocean side windy most days the bay side was calmer . plenty of sun beds no matter what time of day you went to beach or the pools .All the staff we came into contact with could not have being more helpful

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    A great getaway in paradise

    Reviewed by lewm91() on Mar 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed here for a week in February and loved it. It was a trip for both of our birthdays and it definitely made them both special. We had emailed beforehand to inform the resort of this but the response did not leave us confident they would treat it as a special trip... How wrong we were! Overall, the whole resort is beautiful, both on the calm bay side and the lively atlantic side. It's huge and the beaches cover a large area, so it's hard to cover it with enough bars. But we didn't find it too difficult. Firstly the food needs a mention. We ate in every restaurant apart from piccolo mondo (purely because we only had a week and wanted to try all of the other menus on offer!) but all of them were great. the Docksider overlooking the water is amazing, and we were quite shocked it was chosen as the main buffet restaurant as it was so nice! Every night we ate plenty of great tasting food and didn't get bored of any menus. My only criticism was Coco's, the menu was great but it was poorly lit so we couldn't see what we were eating! The staff are all great, we were always pleased to see Alfred in his golf buggy keeping us refreshed on the beach. Martine did a great job of keeping everybody entertained too, and I had a great time doing the mixology class with him at the reef deck pool. Andra at the Jacaranda Lounge was great as well! I don't know how some people are complaining about the cleanliness and service - we found it was spotless and amazing! The variety of day activities and restaurants is great, my only complaint was that the resort gets very quiet at night. There could have been more entertainment, that went on later! The gym was the best I've seen at a hotel, but I'm ashamed to say I only used it once.. The Spa also gets a huge thumbs up. You can't put a price on a massage overlooking the bay (well, you can, and it's quite expensive -but I have no regrets!) To sum it up, we met a couple on the transfer who were returning for the second year in a row - we can definitely see why.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Incredible Stay

    Reviewed by jamescreed() on Mar 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This resort and the staff should be very proud of the experience they provide their guests. This is not a 5 start resort, but that's exactly what makes it perfect for a laid back, child friendly, and absolutely enjoyable experience. Great beach, water, food, and atmosphere made us feel very at home...not to mention the endless smiles and hellos we received from every staff member.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX