Beaches Negril Resort and Spa

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    M

    I will return.

    Reviewed by Melissa on Feb 04, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Love this resort! I travelled with my husband, 9 year old daughter and 3 month old son. The kids camp wow great especially when we wanted to keep baby out of the heat or when he needed to take a nap. The water park is pretty cool. Only two slides but still a lot of fun. And the best part is the resort is situated on an amazing beach. I will return!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 5958 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Awesome vacation

    Reviewed by Steve A(Deer Park, Wisconsin) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Fun resort with tons of amenities. Rooms are very small with small beds though. Had a ground level, ocean view room and could not see the ocean at all. The maids were very friendly and good. The concierge does not do much for you at this resort compared to other Beaches and Sandals resorts. We even had to request beverages in our refrigerator from them several times during our stay, which we have never had to do before. The food, wait staff and restaurants were excellent, especially Soy. The bars kept running out of certain bottles, which was a pain. The dive shop staff were wonderful. Samuel was very knowledgeable and helpful. If you want a seat at the beach in the sun you have to get up and reserve it by 6:00 am, which stinks. Half of the beach lounge chairs were broken also. We had minor complaints for a good overall vacation.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Awesome Beaches Negril Vacation

    Reviewed by Jeff - Mary K(Toronto, Canada) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This is our third returning visit to Beaches Negril. It is our favorite overall Carribeean destination. The grounds are beautiful, the resort is well laid out- not too large, the beach and ocean are beautiful and the staff are incredible. There’s a fun beach side bar which has servers quick to bring a smile to your face. There are 2 nice size pools with pool-bars, a fun lazy river with single/double tubes and 2 larger water slides. Also fairly new is a Pirates themed water area with smaller slides, water guns and a huge barrel which dumps water down- kids of all ages seemed to be really enjoying it. In particular Adrien in Entertainment and Daniel our poolside/beach bartender were both so amazing throughout our stay- always remembering our names and making us feel at home. Our poolside server was Miyoka who was always very friendly and ever so quick in bringing our drinks. The restaurants and food are fabulous, the bars serve a higher quality of liquor (ie: our faves were Crown Royal Rye & Tito’s Vodka). We enjoyed the Patisserie where they served various coffees, lattes, crepes, deserts and milkshakes. Our favorite restaurant was Venetian serving a very tasty rack of lamb and tenderloin steak. Our waiter, Quwayne, was so very friendly and made our Venetian dining experience even better. We also loved Stew Fish, the ocean side restaurant for breakfast and dinner- where they serve lobster as a daily special. Last but not least our family all enjoyed Kimodos, a ‘Tepanaki’ style dining experience. There’s a more recent addition of YoYos, a frozen yogurt spot where you choose your own frozen yogurt flavours and toppings. My kids loved the basketball court, billiards, shuffle board, large chess board, ping pong, mini golf and x-box oasis. We all used the water sports including paddle boards, water trikes, catamarans and banana boat. My kids were taught to water ski by Alrick & Levon who were both patient and fun during the process. There’s Sesame characters, parades and shows for the little ones. Also offered in a covered theatre with large bar is nightly entertainment- something for everyone ranging from a steel drum band, reggae shows, magic act, carioke, ‘family feud’ nights and a talent show to name but a few. Overall, we absolutely love this resort and will definitely be returning. PS: Try to catch Adrien (from Entertainment) doing his very entertaining poolside dancing...

    Another wonderful stay!

    Reviewed by C S(Toronto, Canada) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    It’s our 7th time at Beaches Negril. The resort is extremely well maintained amd the perfect size. It’s very intimate. The location on the 7 mile beach is fantastic. The culinary team was outstanding this year. Excellent food and many choices. Special thanks to the team for the gluten free options for my son. The gluten free pizza dough at Dino’s pizzeria was terrific! The rooms have been updated and the housekeeping staff was very efficient this year. The staff is professional and extremely hardworking. Special love to our bartenders Adrian H and JoJo! Damian thank you for great cabana service! DInner at the Venetian with Christopher was a real treat! My Darling Frederika your pasteries at the Cafe du Pari were so beautiful and delicious!! Our favourite Entertainment nights were the Silver Bird Band and we never miss our singing cowboy Billy Joel!!!

    Amazing vacation

    Reviewed by Nickpederson439() on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Beaches resort in Negril is on such a beautiful island, and filled with such amazing people. The first day we arrived we were brought to the concierge where they brought us refreshments and told us all the details we would need during our stay, they gave us a tour of the resort and brought us to one of the restaurants to have lunch while our bags were brought to our rooms. I’m from New York and while their pizza was definitely different, it hit the spot every day, we even ran there after our excursion to make sure we were in time. We were shown to our room which were extremely comfortable throughout the stay, and had an great selection of drinks in the fridge. The actual beaches there are superb, clean soft sand and beautiful clear water. We saw a starfish while swimming on the beach about 10 inches across, it was so cool! All of the employees at the resorts are amazing, from the concierges to the women who would turn down the sheets at night. We played pool and enjoyed some deicious jerk chicken with one employee named Odaine, he was deadly in billiards, and made some awesome conversation throughout the night, telling us all about Jamaica and it’s people. The instructors there are also so passionate, I tried windsufing later in the week and the instructor Creaton was so helpful in teaching me what to do when I’m on the board. I wasn’t able to stay up with the mast up but nonetheless he never stopped trying to teach me until I yielded the rest of my time to my friend who seemed to be picking it up. I bought some amazing suvineers for myself and my family from both the gift shop and the vendors that would set up shop along the beach. If you’re going to buy some beautiful carved wood you have to get it from the Mountain Man, his counter is usually a minute walk up the beach but he is, in my opinion, the best carver there. The restaurants all on the resort are all fantastic as well, the Italian resurant “Venician” has the best lamb chops I’ve ever had, and the hibachi was also delicious. One of my favorite parts of the trip was enjoying the Jamaican beer brewed on the island, red stripe. It is simply delicious, it smooth when it’s ice cold and tasteful even when it’s warm. I truly hope I can find it back in America. If you’re looking for a Jamaican vacation for family, friends or any other reason, Beaches Resort in Negril has a wide variety of activities to fit all types of trips

    Great for Families with Small Children

    Reviewed by NYCHRIS(new york, new york) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I recently stayed for a week in March. I went with my wife and 2 children ages 8 and 12. My 12 yr. old is special needs. My 8 yr. old is typical. Once arriving in Jamaica, we breezed through both customs and immigration. There were enough staff to handle all the travelers. Baggage pickup was normal. You exit the baggage claim and go to the Beaches lounge and at that point it became a bit disorganized. I was hounded for tips by someone who basically pointed for me where to put my bags. I was showed to my shuttle bus and was on my way. Once on the shuttle bus it was a slow roll through Montego Bay. THE RIDE TO THE RESORT- The ride was an hour and a half-with a 15-20 minute stop at the 45 minute mark at a roadside stand. The stand had bathrooms, cold Red Stripes and some of the best fried chicken I have ever tasted. We were rushed through this stop, which was ok by me and on the road again before we knew it. The scenery on the ride was a mixture of breathtaking views and an insight in to how some people in Jamaica live. The bus was big and comfortable. Upon arrival at the resort we were greeted by staff and went through the check in process. We were upgraded to a Concierge double bed. We were helped by a young man named Ricardo who did his job well. After being shown to our room, with our bags promptly following, we were then able to kick back. We arrived on Saturday at around 5pm and found a couple of options for dinner. RESTAURANTS- the restaurants were typical of an all inclusive. I'm not going to bother to review them because you know what to expect. I will say, the Venetian restaurant, which has limited days, is pretty good. The hibachi is a must for the kids, and that also has limited days. I reccomend booking your reservation upon arrival for these two. The sushi restaurant serves sushi, and rolls with limited appetizers. If you do not like sushi or rolls there is not much else here for you. The pizza place, which is open until-maybe 6pm, pumps out some mini thin crust pizzas all day, and is decent. For breakfast its either the Mill(buffet) which has an enormous amount of everything or the french cafe which has good coffee, crepes and assorted pastries. THE BARS- there are bars situated all through the resort and they all basically serve the same thing. In my experience, the bartenders near the pool are more inclined to make you a fruity frozen drink with a smile, than those at the main bar by the Big Top. The liquor itself is by no way, shape or form top shelf. It can't be, and I didn't think it would be. There's no way they can get rid of that much booze if it were top shelf-but it still does the trick. Snacks throughout the day can be had and coffee is freshly brewed all day and night in the french cafe. THE RESORT- I found this resort to be the perfect size. I have been to the one in Turks and this is smaller, more intimate. You call walk anywhere within 5-10 minutes. THE BEACH- probably one of the nicest beaches I have ever been on. The sand is soft and white, the water is clear and nice. There are rings to swim out to where you can chill out in the water. You can order drinks on the beach and everyone is helpful. Some things on the beach need to be addressed: 1.) Finding and securing some chairs- same as everywhere, you have to get up early to claim your stake. I was on the beach by 730 am and most were taken by people leaving their belongings on a chair. This practice will never change, and while I don't agree with it, my time is limited and valuable to me, so if you can't beat em', join em! You can reserve a cabana for $200 a day, I would reserve well in advance. There was a very good young man named Kemar who will help you with whatever you need on the beach. 2.) Vendors on the beach. Yes there are vendors on the beach and they can be bothersome at times. I look at it this way. It's me coming in to their country, which is a poor country with limited opportunities. I cannot blame them for trying to make a buck and it is a public beach. I try to be cool, but firm with everyone and it always works out. There are security guards at each end of the resort, on the beach 24/7. 3.) Safety- The resort is safe and secure. No problems whatsoever. THE ROOM- Like I said before I got upgraded to a double bed concierge room in the Montpellier building,700's. I initially booked the least expensive room they offered. My room that they upgraded to had 2 double beds, a bathroom and small terrace. I was told it was an updated room. The condition of the room was good and the beds were very clean and comfortable. After check-in, I had to call for the bathroom to be cleaned and toilet seat fastened, which repeatedly un-fastened for the duration of our stay. The bathroom was a bit run down, but perfectly acceptable. Housekeeping made the room everyday and we returned to a nice clean room each night. The room was close to all, but like I said before, most rooms can easily access most parts of the resort within minutes. I did hear of some rooms next to the road, or next to another resort that were quite noisy at night. I myself did not experience this but people we met did and it sounds like they had some valid concerns with noise. CHILDCARE- I used the sitter service that they offer for my 2 kids. We used the service for about 4 days at around 3-4 hours per day. Our sitter for our son was Patrinna and for our daughter Anna. They kept our kids together for the most part. My son is special needs and while well behaved, could require a lot of work and supervision. Patrinna did a phenomenal job caring for him. She went above and beyond and we felt 100% comfortable while he was in her care. Anna was with my daughter all week. Initially we were going to have our daughter do only 1 day with her, but our daughter loved Anna and asked if she could stay with her, to which we obliged. Anna knew exactly what to do with her and was so sweet and enthusiastic while doing so. My kids loved them. I could honestly say that our vacation was that good because of them. My kids would insist they join us for lunch and they happily did. When we left the resort, they were right there wishing us well. We were introduced to them by a woman named Judith, who runs the kids program. Judith was extremely helpful and always available. She does a great job with the kids, always caring and professional. It's employees like this that make the resort a success. OVERALL SERVICE- I found the employees at the resort to be mostly pleasant and helpful. Sure you will have instances where there will be a cultural difference that you have to work through, but that's exactly what it is. Respect goes a long way. A couple of employees went above and beyond: Kamelia Clarke- does a fantastic job. She is always helpful and professional. My family got to know her and we feel we had truly made a friend. Amazing person, who when I think of Beaches Negril, she comes to mind. Vaneeshia- I hope I got her name right. We met her by the ice cream shop and she took my kids by the hand and danced with them. Since that initial encounter it was like seeing an old friend every time we bumped in to her at the resort. She is a very hard worker and a sweetheart in every sense of the word. What a wonderful woman. I forgot the guys name at the Island Adventures desk, but he was awesome! Very helpful and a good guy to talk to. One of the resort photographers, knew my son by name and always asked about him. I even called after I returned home and I explained who I was and he knew me by my son. The lifeguards at the pool. All do an amazing job and very receptive to my sons situation. They worked very hard and do a great job day after day. I appreciate them. The emcee at the Big Top was great. He kept the crowd engaged with his energy and sense of humor-he did a great job. D.J. Bobby-always greeted you with a smile, and was very helpful. With all this being said, the key to the resorts success is it's employees-and I thank them for a wonderful stay. I truly appreciate their hard work. Just like last year at Turks, we met some really good people who we usually hung out with every night. If you would ask which Beaches I preferred I would have to tell you, there are some differences which need to be pointed out. The one in Turks is larger and more polished. The huge jacuzzi they had at the Italian village in Turks kept my family entertained for hours each night. The jacuzzi at Negril was hidden and not well lit. They also had a problem with the jets for most of our stay. The jacuzzi by the main pool at Negril was way too small and not well lit. I think they would benefit from a bigger jacuzzi in the main area.Turks has the right idea on that one. The size of Negril was smaller, therefore easily navigable-especially if you have small children who need to constantly go back and forth to the room. One thing I found concerning at Beaches Negril- While on the beach, I came upon 2 cinderblocks which were partially buried where the small waves would break. These cinderblocks were previously used to tether a floating ring, but were now just left there. You could clearly see them when the water was calm. If the water was a bit rough, they would disappear, therefore making them extremely dangerous to anyone in the area. I, along with the help of another dad, moved them from the surf and up on to the beach. It blows my mind that it took us 2 to realize that this was a potentially dangerous situation. I even got my foot sliced open just trying to move it. I do think that Beaches management needs to take this very seriously. It could have been a potentially serious situation resulting in injury. I will be sending an email to Beaches management regarding this incident. While the above described situation was very concerning to me and should be taken very seriously, I still believe the resort is well run, while there is always room for improvement. I personally liked Negril over Turks, and would absolutely return if given the opportunity.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX