Occidental Punta Cana

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    H

    Loved the beaches and the pools. Enjoyed the service by the chefs, servers and the bartenders. Management staff needs to be improved.

    Reviewed by Huzaifa Khanani on Mar 07, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2019

    Trip Type: Friends

    The bar and buffet service was great. Our room smelled really bad and they didnt do anything about it. They didnt change our room nor did they reply to us when we called the front desk. The wifi is a bit expensive and doesnt work properly as well. The room keys kept malfunctioning as well as the room lights. But the pool and beach were amazing. Overall i feel that the management staff performs poorly. But the servers, bartenders and chefs did a splendid job to keep the guests happy. Personally, because of my bad experiences, i wouldnt go back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4524 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Relaxing family vacation

    Reviewed by Vicky A() on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Overall, the resort was very good. Amazing beach, great pools, nice layout so that you didn't have to walk far to get to anything, and the room was very nice and kept clean (but towel service was inconsistent). The food was average: good variety, but quality/taste was nothing to write home about. The only a-la-carte restaurant worth trying is the Mexican one. The restaurant service was very spotty. We had to order drinks multiple times before anything would come. The staff are all friendly enough, but they seem to lack a service system: everything felt quite random. As with all all-inclusive resorts, the time-share sales reps can be quite annoying, but they were less aggressive here than at other resorts we've been to. They need more shady areas and more convenient bar service around the pools and beach. On the beach, unless you upgrade to Royal Club, your only option is a makeshift bar cart where everything was stored in coolers, and that was at one end of the large beach area. The drinks themselves were not made that well. The lobby bar had the best-made drinks. The resort was quite calm when we arrived, but on Easter weekend, it was overtaken by locals who were coming to enjoy a long weekend, which was fine, but it totally changed the vibe: everything just got louder and much busier and more crowded. But overall, we really did enjoy our stay. Not sure we'd go back to this resort, but I'm glad we tried it.

    April Vacation

    Reviewed by Wanderer49034183209() on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Pleasant resort, well kept grounds, food was good and the al a cartes were good. Music around the pools was boring elevator music. When the easter crowd arrived the music changed to more up beat music. But the rudeness if the other guests that came in was a little hard to deal with, like they were more privileged or something.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3

    Great place, service is a let down

    Reviewed by Explore432654() on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Great place if you are looking for a beautiful beach where you can go for walks overlooking the marvellous colours of the Caribbean sea in Bavaro beach. Plenty of water sports to be had, you will get approached every few meters by someone wanting to sell you something, so if it bothers you, just stay by the resort beach area which is security guarded. With the service, it's a hit and miss, sadly. Some staff will make you feel welcome whilst others almost resent to offer a bottle of water. In restaurant the service can be very slow if you are used to western standards.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-1

    Value

    Value-3

    Return visit

    Reviewed by sunseeker88_10(Montreal, Canada) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Traveled from April 9 - 16. This is our 3rd time at the resort and we will definitely be back. Read many reviews about unfriendly staff but we did not experience that. Although we didn't do much other than veg out on the beach, we found entertainment staff hardworking, pleasant and they seemed to really enjoy what they were doing. The food was good although not as good as the first 2 visits. The beach is outstanding, you can walk for hours. Kept very clean. No umbrellas but not difficult to find shade. Not a problem for me to walk 60 seconds to the snack bar to get a drink! Maid service was fine. Although the rooms are recently renovated, they are already starting to show wear and tear especially the bathroom. There were 2 things during this visit that made me give this 4 stars instead of 5. Water pressure was extremely low and water was warm ( not hot). Although there seemed to be plenty of staff, it often took quite a while to get your morning coffee or wine with dinner. On vacation with nowhere to go, so it isn't a deal breaker for a return visit but just a comment for management to be aware of. The ground are beautiful and kept exceptionally clean!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Poor experience

    Reviewed by Daydream07078364703(Milwaukee, Wisconsin) on Apr 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    The hotel is mediocre at best. It says remodel, but the rooms aren’t because the LCD TVs are outdated and the look of a room is outdated as well. The hotel feel and look is fine, but the buffet room is dirty, why? Because the windows are dirty, the plates are dirty and the tables weren’t clean properly. Now to the food, the food is terrible for the money you’re paying. I would recommend new recipes and overall new types of dishes. Also, the breakfast was horrible. The bacon, sausages, pancakes and eggs were not cooked and not even seasoned right. These are the most important things of a good breakfast. One thing to also mention, there are some employees that give a vibe that they don’t like working there, which then turns to giving you poor service. Overall, this hotel is not worth it for the money you’re paying.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-2

    Service

    Service-2

    Value

    Value-2

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX