Grand Riviera Princess All Suites and Spa Resort

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Riviera Maya
    5. Grand Riviera Princess All Suites and Spa Resort
    6. Grand Riviera Princess All Suites and Spa Resort review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    K

    Wonderful stay. Bring ones and fives for tipping. Change is hard to come by.

    Reviewed by Kirk on Apr 19, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Great time for a week in early April. Really big resort. Bring a waterproof watch so you know the time. No clocks anywhere. Pool bats close at 6pm. Pools close at 8pm. Buffets aren't 5 star but the a la carte's such a steakhouse and Japanese Miso we're great. Seaweed in water and on beach but big deal. Warm water but small waves. No complaints. Great time for families and non families looking to unwind. So many pools.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    N

    Had a great time

    Reviewed by Nadine on Feb 05, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    Overall great resort. Beach is lovely and so are the pools. However, when we booked I asked what was all included and we were told that the kids area (kids pool, buffet, etc. we?re all included) we have 3 & 5 year old so it was important to us. When we got there we went to the kids area and a staff member came out and told us we had to pay $9/person to play in the pool. The pool was ice cold so I said not to worry about it that we will leave. My kids had fun at the other pools and beach anyway but not the point. Not sure if this was westjet a error or if the hotel is trying to scam people. We talked with other families and they had experienced the same thing and other days they could go and play in the area. Other then this our stay was great.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    M

    Great holiday.

    Reviewed by Manitoba Seniors on Nov 27, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    Go directly outside airport to your rep. About 45 minute bus ride from airport. Hotel was very clean. Room spacious and clean. Great selection and quality of food and drinks at numerous bars, buffets, and restaurants. Pools are clean and lounges plentiful. Nice beach with small rocks only along water's edge and sandy once past the edge. Not great for snorkeling due to waves stir up sand. Slacks or dress golf shorts and golf shirt with closed footwear acceptable in a la carte restaurants. A la carte reservations made behind lobby bar. Casual dress in buffets. Try the ice cream parlor and have a panini in the 24 hour Sports Bar. Lizeth Hernandez and Beatriz Caamal in snack bar/buffet closest to beach were wonderful hostess and server. Large resort with fair amount of walking. Comfortable foot wear such as runners/good sandals recommended. Entertainment in theatre was good most evenings. Staff were wonderful, friendly and accommodating and warranted tips in pesos which they genuinely appreciated.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    j

    Terrible vacation from strt to finish

    Reviewed by jb on Mar 29, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Please note that this is an official complaint concerning our trip to Mexico at The Grand Riviera princess and travels with Westjet vacations. Let me start at the beginning on our flight to Mexico, where we were booked on the most less desirable seats on the plane that we could not change. We were immediately advised by the stewardess that we were booked on points seats. The flight was not enjoyable by any means. These seats have less leg room than any other available seat on the plane. Upon arrival at the Cancun Airport we were not listed with the transportation company that brings you to your hotel. This delay was almost one hour waiting at the airport. Arrival at the hotel was less than welcoming. We were advised that our room was not ready and that our package was an "almost all inclusive package" meaning we were only allowed to dine at certain restaurants, order drinks from the left side of the bar, and no access to the wifi. We immediately requested an upgrade willing to pay for all extras to try and salvage this disastrous booking, but for whatever reason the hotel did not allow us to. Please note, we tried several times to upgrade without success. We were assigned a room at the middle area of the hotel, room 7251. Nothing special by any means, but we settled in none the less. On the third day we returned to our room to find an unbelievable smell from the paint and construction that had been done on either side of our room making it unbearable to breath. We immediately reported the issue to management and made our way to the front desk. The 1st person at the front desk did not want to accommodate us with another room, we then requested the manager. After much persuasion, the manager offered us a downgraded room on the other side of the resort. This was our only option. Room #1266. We were obliged to pack our belongings and wait most of the night for the transfer causing us to miss our supper and show. Room 1266 was in a state, the bed was b

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 10678 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Absolutely beautiful

    Reviewed by traceyd566(Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom) on Jun 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I came here in the 22nd june with my husbsnd and my son whos 21 years old and his girlfriend we come from England flying from Manchester airport. I was a little concerned about some reviews left but still wanted to see for my self, so on arrival staff was wonderful check in was fast got to our room and its lovely, im room 1032, the full place is extremely beautiful staff are really lovely, helpful and very hard working they all are really nice, food is great, they is so much to choose from, were still here and i cannot fault this place at all.. And i want to state i have left money jewellery laying around in my room nothing has been touched. People here bend over backwards to make sure you enjoy your stay, i cannot praise this place enough! Were already looking while sat on our balcony here when we can come back! Honestly dont take any notice of bad reviews it's a shame people write such things because its a little paradise here, i dont leave for a few more days yet so will probably update then but for now.. WE LOVE IT..

    Grand Riviera Princess Villas

    Reviewed by Fat M() on Jun 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Staying in the luxury villas. Beautiful resort staff are amazing. Eddy and all the bar staff are fantastic. The entertainment is high-class with a high budget the shows and costumes are as good as Disney. Lots of choices for dining out. Good quality restaurants. Chill out bar food is amazing must recommend the breakfast here. Biggest review goes to Carlos the concierge we have traveled all over the world and never met a better concierge, he helped us have a memorable holiday, for ever in his debt.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    PARADISE ON EARTH!!!

    Reviewed by Travel16903827021(Middletown, New York) on Jun 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Celebrated my 47th Birthday last week at this paradise on earth!!! Went by myself, but, never felt alone!!! Exceptional hospitality provided by the entire staff. Mia and Benjamin from the Princess Riviera Front Desk Lobby Bar and Stephany, the hostess from the Fondue Restaurant, were very attentive to me throughout my entire 5 day stay. They made me feel so welcome! ALL 3 SHOULD BE RECOGNIZED BY MANAGEMENT FOR THEIR A-PLUS SERVICE! Three days into my stay, the hotel offered me a FREE upgrade to their sister Yucutan Platinum Princess Hotel. WOW!!! Premium food selection AND Mimosas for breakfast EVERY DAY over there! Robes & Slippers, too! I can't wait to return. BEST WEEK EVER!!! ??????

    Checkout took so long, missed shuttle to airport

    Reviewed by Dina G() on Jun 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    The resort is very well-planned and the serving and cleaning staff were excellent. When it's too hot, you can walk through the open air halls throughout the resort, which is very helpful and necessary in the heat. Unfortunately, and I've never had this happen in a hotel before, but the checkout process took so long (more than 30 minutes) that our shuttle driver had to leave. We were checking out with what was plenty of time. We stood in the no additional room charges checkout line. When getting to the desk they said we had to go to the checkout with charges line because there were environmental charges of 140 pesos. We were not told that during check in. Now standing in line again, this time in the check out with charges line, we had to wait again, and wait for all the intense paperwork to be completed (copies of passport were made, etc). All this took so long that our prepaid $80 shuttle ride to the airport had to leave and charged us as a no show. Extremely unusual situation. We were stuck paying $60 out of our pocket to take a cab to the airport after having prepaid for expedient airport transport months earlier. We told the staff that this was not right, but they just said we should've come to checkout even earlier. It should be more explicit upon checkin that you will have to wait in an extremely time-consuming paper-intensive checkout line. All of this matches the same unfortunately long experience during check in. Didn't get a room until an hour after 3 pm check in time.

    Vacation you need a vacation from

    Reviewed by hdmatthews76() on Jun 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    We visited for our honeymoon- 6/15-6/20 hotel was beautiful, housekeeping crew did a good job. Food was atrocious! Unrecognizable, flavorless slop! watched them serve the same pot of melted cheese 5 days in a row- just in smaller pots as it was consumed. The los olas (seafood) restaurant was terrible- minimal selection and left a lot to be desired. This is definitely the wal-mart if inclusive resorts! Went to the chill out (the high end, not included, best food on site-apparently) and my steak was grey, compressed, uncooked meat product. When I sent it back bc it was raw, they microwaved the whole Plate! Gross- sent back! I do not recommend and would not ever go back! Front desk staff rude and treated you like a bother- unfriendly! Both my husband and I have needed up getting extremely ill- confirmed w another couple traveling there and they too have both gotten sick! Avoid this resort!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX