Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    d

    There's no place like Jamaica & Sandals Royal Caribbean was the place to be.

    Reviewed by dobrosky on Aug 22, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: August 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    The staff were very refined, professional & delightful. The room was fantastic. The private island was an oasis. Close to downtown Montego Bay!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6634 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Awesome Time

    Reviewed by txschic72(Texas) on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    First timers at Sandals resorts. When we arrived at the airport it was raining. Our BMW transport backed onto the sidewalk to keep us from getting wet. Nice first impression!! We stayed in a Windsor walk-out room. After a quick check in, we were escorted to our room. It was beautiful! And the view...AMAZING! Our room was always clean and well stocked. The only comment goes to those with short legs (like me) - the beds are tall so be prepared for a climb into bed. Also know in the evenings and all thru the night, the tree frogs and crickets sing. They are a bit loud but you eventually get used to hearing them and will drift right off to sleep. The beaches were great. Sandy and clean. I read some complaints about the grounds not being lush but they are BEAUTIFUL! Very tropical plants everywhere. The resort has a lot of activities to keep you occupied. We enjoyed snorkeling and loved riding the Hobie. The food was consistently on point! We never had a bad meal. We had a slight hiccup our first night with reservations because of our large group, but Otis (the food & beverage manager) took care of us and got a table. Then magically, Otis was at our restaurant every night just to make sure we had a great experience. And we did!! Thanks Otis!! All of the staff was friendly and helpful. No one said “no” to a request. We have already booked our next Sandals vacation!! I can’t wait!! I would recommend getting the MoBay VIP fast pass for a quick trip thru the airport. We passed up a lot of folks waiting in the customs lines.

    OWB

    Reviewed by Ames0928() on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Stayed in the over the water bungalows. Bungalow was gorgeous. Water was a bit deep, we needed vests to swim in it. Food was mediocre. We mostly ate on the main land for lunch. The burger spot was the best. Garfield our waiter was excellent. As far as the butler service it was ok. (Comes with the room) We arrived early. Rooms were not ready. They were finally available by 4. Had to wait 2 hours for our room keys. Ordered breakfast, arrived late and cold. Butler made it a point to mention his tip when giving us our tour of the bungalow.Butler finished his shift, had no night shift butler. (Which you need to arrange the boat to and from the mainland) used Juda transportation to go around the island. Was quoted 1 price, upon arrival a different price. Alcohol is cheaper in the duty free shop, do not by from the locals. They over charged us by 60%. Use club Mobay to expedite to and from Jamaica (faster security, customs). The ladies at the water sports always looked angry. Booked an anniversary dinner on the beach *extra charge* the seafood wasn't cooked all the way through. Lots of mosquitoes. Beaches are a bit small but I didn't mind it. Beautiful weather with beautiful views.

    Another Amazing Trip

    Reviewed by Kacie K(McKinney, Texas) on Jul 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This was our second time at Sandals Royal Caribbean, and our third with Sandals. This was our first time with a butler level room, and we were incredibly lucky to have the dynamic duo of Sheldon and Andre. It was amazing to have chairs reserved for us, a cooler of water, fun towel animals, special treats left for us in our room, a beautiful bath to come home to, as well as all of the other little touches. They are exceptional human beings. Yes, there is construction. No, it is not insanely bothersome. Would you rather they shut down the whole resort? The construction goes on from 9-5, and it is not loud or distracting from the beach or the pool. During the weekends, you can't even hear it....because it's not going on! Staff is friendly, and kind, and willing to talk to you. This is, and always has been, our favorite part about this resort. I had a delicious deep tissue massage at the spa this trip, and while expensive, it was definitely worth it. The only complaint was the lag time with the shuttle between 6:45 and 8:45. While understandable, it was very much appreciated when the driver had an empty shuttle for The Carlyle and went out of his way to take the Royal Caribbean people back to the resort. I think it would help a lot of people to put a bit of perspective into remembering that a day on vacation is better than ANY day at home.

    The Royal Thai

    Reviewed by Smiffla99() on Jul 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Staying at the Royal Caribbean for 2 weeks, tonight we went for a meal at the Royal Thai, the food was amazing and the service was really quick. We were waited on by a young man called Roy who was very friendly and attentive. Had a lovely night and would highly recommend

    The absolute best vacation ever!

    Reviewed by Jasmine_Holder() on Jul 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I’ve never felt so catered to and relaxed for my entire stay! They literally treat you like kings and queens! Amazing experience, we already booked for next year. Bravo Sandals!!! Make sure to enjoy the extras such as excursions. The zip lining combo and scuba diving was so much fun and the luminous lagoon was insane and so surreal!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX