Grotto Bay Beach Resort

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    B

    Perfect spot!

    Reviewed by Bob & Lynne on Feb 16, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    3rd stay - better than ever! Jonee King, Front Office Manager and Staff were the best! Could not ask for a better facility and location. Will be returning soon!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3188 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Visit BERMUDA but NOT Grotto Bay Resort

    Reviewed by Michelle N() on Jun 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Disappointing to say the least. Maybe if you elect the all-inclusive you'll be treated better, but that has not been our experience. Staff was dismissive and seemed uninformed in many cases. Room was average at best. Beautiful property with spectacular views, but service was terrible. Would not stay here again.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-2

    Value

    Value-2

    beautiful nice location

    Reviewed by ellen804207(Johnstown, Pennsylvania) on Jun 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    this place is very beautiful and quiet. there's a cave on the property that you can swim in. Great service. Everyone was extremely nice. I found it to be very unique and I would highly recommend to families or couples

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Super friendly resort

    Reviewed by Steve D(Clifton, New Jersey) on Jun 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Cannot believe some of the negative reviews I read. This place is the best. Room was modern and immaculate (we stayed in an ocean front room). Hibiscus and Palm Court were excellent for dinner. Breakfast buffet at Hibiscus and lunches at the poolside grill were very good too. Entire staff was very friendly. Just to mention few (the ones my senior mind can remember ) - Alfred,Vindy, Liviu, Matheiu, Jeff, Danny. Jordan and Dawn. I should note that this is a hillside resort that can be a little tough on seniors but it is still worth staying at. If we can make it to Bermuda again, Grotto Bay will be our place to stay.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    All inclusive package

    Reviewed by 302mollys(Market Harborough, United Kingdom) on Jun 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed here as a family during May. We stayed here for 5 days from the UK. The hotel is only a 5 min drive (if that!) from the hotel. Taxi was around $15. However, you could get the bus to the hotel as there is a stop outside the airport and hotel. Believe it is the numbers 1,3, 10 and 11 that you would need (heading towards Hamilton). Check-in was nice and quick and the room only a short walk away. All members of staff were helpful. The rooms were large and clean, with a good sized balcony. Toiletries are provided. We stayed on the all inclusive package which covered 3 meals a day. Breakfast involved a wide choice including hot items, fruit and pastries. There are also fresh waffles/pancakes. The restaurant was not crowded at all and there was plenty of seating. Lunch was at the pool bar which covered (very large sized portions) of burgers, nachos, sandwiches and wraps. There were 3 choices for dinner with a posh restaurant which was nice, a place that serves pizzas, pastas etc and a BBQ on the beach (which we enjoyed twice). Pool was clean and well kept. Beach was lovely. Plenty of activities including a gym, water sports, snorkelling, aqua-trampoline park, tennis courts, games room. Hotel is about a 30 min bus ride from Hamilton and passes are included in the all inclusive package. The only con was that we missed a meal due to our incoming flights and we were not allowed to use the missed one for our lunch and had to spend more money. We ask at reception but was told no, despite others on here saying there were credited lunch. An email was sent to the manager who responded (conveniently after lunch had finished). The hotel should look after such guests better.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    Best vacation ever!

    Reviewed by Quest50States(Wynnewood, Pennsylvania) on Jun 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Our family had only four days to be together to travel this year, so we chose Bermuda. We chose to stay at Grotto Bay because of their all inclusive plan, which is WELL worth it. It is only a five minute taxi ride from the airport. So expect to pay about $15 for the ride. US money is accepted in Bermuda. Upon checking in, we were fortunate to meet Jonee, the front desk manager. She is professional while being very personable and funny. She made a special point to know our names and even renamed our younger son as he looked more like a "James." We didn't get to encounter her again until check out, where she promptly remembered us and "James." She was wonderful as was Ashley who helped us out with our questions whenever we stopped by the lobby. The all inclusive package allowed us to try food and activities that we probably would not have done had we not had the package. Kayaking and paddle boarding was an absolute blast! Plus, the package includes water bottles whenever you need them as well as drinks near the pool. The cave was fun to see and walk about, but we chose to not swim in it. A special reception is held on Wednesdays for repeat visitors and those celebrating an anniversary. We enjoyed the champagne toast as we were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary. We stayed in room 532 which is in the first building near the main house at the top of the hill. It offered spectacular views from a beautiful balcony and was only a short walking distance from the restaurants. We enjoyed watching the airplanes take off and land, yet never heard them. The room was updated and very clean. Housekeeping was fast and efficient, never disturbing us. All our meals were delicious with such varied menus that we never ate the same dish twice. On Thursday nights they offer a Surf and Turf buffet which I highly recommend making reservations to attend. Reservations for dinner should always be made the night before if you prefer an early seating. Special shout out to Liviu and Jeff for taking especially good care of us! Wednesday night, Liviu even had our dinners come out quickly so that we could catch the next bus into Hamilton for the Harbor Night Festival. This is a perfect place for families as they offer complimentary board games, puzzles and shuffleboard to entertain all ages when not at the pool or on the beach. There is a scooter rental shop next door and bus stop directly across the street. We enjoyed the quiet location on the island. I highly recommend Grotto Bay! You will be giving yourself a wonderful vacation.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX