Grotto Bay Beach Resort

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    B

    Perfect spot!

    Reviewed by Bob & Lynne on Feb 16, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    3rd stay - better than ever! Jonee King, Front Office Manager and Staff were the best! Could not ask for a better facility and location. Will be returning soon!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3090 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    A great find for a great vacation

    Reviewed by dwinpenn(Long Compton, United Kingdom) on Feb 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Spent 10 days at Grotto Bay and would certainly visit again. To be fair the resort was quiet as it isn't the season yet, but everything was working/open with no problems. There was some maintenance being performed getting things ready for the new season; so if you go in season it should be spick and span for you!. Great staff, lovely food and a lovely quiet vibe for our vacation.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Loved it so much that we're going back in May!

    Reviewed by jvxoxo() on Feb 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My husband and I stayed at the Grotto Bay Beach Resort toward the end of May for our first wedding anniversary. It is a mid-sized resort with a very intimate atmosphere. The staff are wonderful and get to know you throughout your stay. They remembered our favorite drinks as well as our food allergies, and the chefs always customized any dishes that we wanted to accommodate us. We liked that there was an all inclusive package to opt into, and we did. Our room had a nice view of the beach and we found the grounds beautiful and clean. The grottos on site are absolutely stunning and the beach is nice. We rented snorkeling gear and a kayak from Blue Hole, which is also right on site and was included. We had a wonderful stay and are looking forward to going back this May!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Great stay

    Reviewed by TransplantedMainer(Cumberland Center, Maine) on Feb 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We escaped the disappointing winter of Maine and found a paradise during our 4 night stay at Grotto Bay. Our room (442) overlooking the bay was spotless. The bed was very comfortable and linens were silky smooth. It would be nice to have screened windows so that we could have enjoyed the night’s fresh air. The only real issue was the poor quality of the coffee maker. And given that Bermuda is a Crown Colony it would have been nice to have a proper hot pot to make an afternoon cuppa. (Even better would have been some biscuits.) Staff were very warm and friendly. We had the easy breakfast at the bar with a great fruit and yogurt. There was a fresh gingerbread one morning and an apple walnut cake the next day. The pool was great. Unfortunately, the whirlpool was out of commission. It was shoulder season, so lots of work being done on the property. Despite that, it didn’t really affect us. A plus is the proximity to the bust stop and the Swizzle Inn. We are looking forward to a return trip.

    Overall very good, the grounds are stunning

    Reviewed by eamonmcgovern1965(Kings Park) on Feb 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The grounds are stunning and the staff for the most part is excellent. Of course, we had one minor issue that prevents me from rating this excellent. Are first night dining experience was outside near the pool. Half the tables had an overhang and half did not have an overhang. As luck would have it, it rained while we were dining. The problem we encountered, the staff would not move our table of about ten persons [part of a family wedding] to an open area under the overhang as it was to be the dance floor. We got a hold of the hotel manager, table is moved, no problem, common sense. Point is, the staff could not think to handle this situation so, it missed being an excellent experience. Overall, it really is a nice place. Just don't dine outside.

    Grotto Bay Beach Resort (Lazy in the Off-Season)

    Reviewed by reachtrisha(maryland) on Feb 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    We were set to stay at Grotto Beach for 4 nights January 31st through February 1st, 2019. 1st - Upon arrival (and not before) we were informed that they'd need a major credit card to take a 100 dollar PER NIGHT hold for INCIDENTALS! I've stayed in hotels all over this world and NEVER have I been inconvenienced with such a LARGE incidental hold. 2nd - They placed us in room 620. The room itself had a BEAUTIFUL view; however, we were plagued with construction workers (who were very very bold and at sometimes combative when our responses were not to their liking). They were doing construction as early as 8am and as late as 6pm every day we were there. At one point, they started with a JACKHAMMER at 8am on Saturday morning. Before anyone suggests "well you should have asked for a room move" I will challenge you first with the question "Why put us there to begin with?". Three people checking in and unpacking bags not realizing that they'd need to gather all their things up to move to who knows where...was just not palatable. 3rd - No one seemed to be wanting to "DO" anything, and when asked about it, the answer was always: "It's the off-season so it's not available". For instance, the pool bar, which they boast about on their website, was not staffed for MOST of the time we were there, even though the first day we arrived they made sure to let us know where to find it!! I totally understand the concept of "reduced hours" due to demand...but to totally NOT OPEN when you actually have paying guests is unacceptable to me. We are in the process of planning a return trip to Bermuda in Early September. I will NOT stay at this place ever again though.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-2

    Value

    Value-3

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX