Bay Gardens Beach Resort and Spa

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 2615 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    A wonderful Holiday during a world wide Pandemic

    Reviewed by 637margueritec() on Feb 20, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I arrived in St Lucia 18/12/2020 and was met at the airport by a driver and taxi that the hotel had organised for me. It was great to just follow instructions ,as it had been a long year with restrictions etc. I got a full explanation of the services and facilities available to me during my stay. The first few days was spent chillaxing at this very friendly, though professional managed hotel. The food is great and the staff are very friendly and are great at accomodating various requests. The Christmas and New Year celebrations were very enjoyable despite the restrictions at the hotel which we were all aware were in place to protect us the guests and the staff from Covid- 19. The Gym is available daily and there is access to a Fitness Instructor if required through a private neogiation. I did avail of it and due to the restrictions it was a booking system ...I was pleased it was only for an hour...a fine excuse for me !!!!! The swimming pool is wonderful especially as during my stay I got private tuition and learend how to swim properly. Terry was great in his manner and the delivery of knowledge that gave me the confidence I required. ...at 63 yrs I can at last swim!!! Terry also does water aerobics which is a great social event and an ideal way to chat to other guests. The Goverment of St Lucia were very aware of keeping the country safe and consequently there were daily changes some time but to me on holiday it didnt cause me any problems. An excuse to return to discover other parts of the Island. The rooms and facilites are great and in fact I stayed on the balacony of my room from 11-4pm . I didnt use any of the cooking facilities...as I was on holiday but good to have the option. The guests were only allowed to use Covid Secure Restaurants and the hotel booked our reservations and provided a free shuttle bus. Great local restaurens available within walking distance and it would have been great to have walked to them and called into a local bar en route home for a night cap. I did miss not being able to go out and about on foot to explore the area but ....strange times for all. Likewise all the expedtions were organised by the hotel to ensure that the Covid 19 restrictions were in place and adhered to by all participants. I would highly recommend this hotel for value for money, acees to local restaurants and for the "At Home" atmosphere. I am leaving today on the 20/02/20....my length of stay says it all!! The pool gave me great confidence due to its depth. However the beach is just a few feet away for the more enegeretic swimmer!

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    COVID Friendly Escape

    Reviewed by 909tessg(Chicago, Illinois) on Feb 19, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Travelling during COVID is not recommended by any means, but was a welcome escape from snowy Chicago. Unfortunately, my partner and I were not properly prepared (our fault) with the right COVID test (Rapid test is not the PCR!!), but the resort did everything to make us comfortable. We had to "quarantine" at the resort until we got our results back from the test we had to take at the airport. During that time, they called us multiple times to make sure we were comfortable and brought us food and drinks. they really cared about our experience even when it was our mistake. Once we were free, the real fun began! While the food options were limited (result of the pandemic), the food was delicious and drinks were amazing! The outdoor water park was SO much fun (but also really difficult!!). We couldn't stop laughing. The pool was an amazing escape. The resort organized events like bingo, a cooking demonstration and water aerobics. All the staff went ABOVE AND BEYOND for us. We will definitely be coming back... after this pandemic is over!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Great resort for sun and warmth during Covid times

    Reviewed by G2810YGwilliams() on Feb 11, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We chose to come to St Lucia due to the low incidents of Covid 19 and the safety protocols required to enter the country. We chose the Bay Gardens Beach Resort (BGBR) due to it's location on the beach and a place which we could get too during these difficult times. From the airport to BGBR we observed how much effort was done to keep people safe (visitors and locals) around the hotel and grounds. During our times in St Lucia the government has changed the rules as the situation on the island has changed so the staff are constantly having to enforce new rules. Most of the guest observed the rules but some didn't and as a result had to be reminded of them - it was for everyone's safety. We had a lovely room which was well furnished and suited our needs. We found all the staff friendly and helpful and did everything possible to make our stay on St Lucia great. There could be long waits for drinks and food orders but that all depended when you ordered them. At certain meal times this could be especially true. The menu could have more options but if you asked the staff they could help you with this. It should be noted at this point in December 2020 that guests were not allowed to leave the BGBR other than in Covid Certified transportation to Covid Certified restaurants or excursions. We availed ourselves of these other restaurants to enjoy great meals and see more of the local character. The resort would also pick up for you food or other items you may need from town if you just asked. We found it was the staff which made BGBR such a warm and friendly place.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Avoid

    Reviewed by Smart12345_6(London, United Kingdom) on Feb 02, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    I decided on this hotel because of the great location however the experience was a nightmare. The staff were so rude and aggressive and it was everyday which was draining. The staff have no compassion and were very unpleasant; there is no customer service. They make the rules as they go; they are extremely inconsistent. One person will tell you one thing then another will threaten to call the police for doing it, it got to a point I needed to have a witness for every communication. These people completely ruined my time away, the staff shared a great deal of confidential information amongst members of the staff which is a breach of the law but they didn’t seem to understand this. If you challenge them the WILL argue with you, if you order a drink at the bar it takes forever and by the time you get back to your table the whole island knows what you have ordered. The ignorance from these people is truly shocking and in all honestly the locals would do a better job at running the place. Bay Gardens is not a hotel it’s more like gitmo. The staff are cruel to the locals and tell you it’s illegal to talk to them; this is not true. The locals treated us better than the hotel staff.

    Great Covid getaway

    Reviewed by joannorthey25(Warrington, United Kingdom) on Jan 27, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The hotel was great. Good rooms, great beach, excellent spa treatments and good food. I would have given it 5 stars but there could have been more food options in the restaurant (though we are in the middle of a pandemic) and service could be slow at times. Always felt safe and temperature checked twice a day which was no hassle at all. I would definitely recommend this hotel.