Aulani, A Disney Resort & Spa

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    w

    AMAZING best of both worlds for kids AND adults. Cannot wait to go back!

    Reviewed by woodlands on Mar 31, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    This was the BEST of both worlds for kids and adults to both have a great vacation, I cannot recommend this hotel enough and cannot wait to go back! During our week stay capacity went from 3/4 full down to under half, but at no time did we ever feel crowded or not get to do what we wanted to do. Aunty's beach house AMAZING. It is included in the stay, kids can drop in anytime to play no line up/registration. There are programs that you do need to sign up for which is where the line up is for the free ones. The programs that come at a cost you can sign up for before arrival but we got into all of them no problem once there and they were all outstanding. They are safe and secure- more the enough staff, GPS bands on kids, secure sign in / sign out, and we were fully confident in leaving our severe peanut/tree nut allergy child with them. Beach- always chairs and loungers available, white soft sand and a sheltered lagoon made it perfect for kids. There are toys to borrow and rent. Life jackets are free to borrow each day. Pools- Lifeguards everywhere. Enough loungers for everyone, and they do enforce the 1 hour empty chair rule. The pools are big and you only feel crowded once a day when the characters come out for a dance party. Lazy river and hot tubs were great, water slides and kids water park were nice touches. Beach/pool towels are provided. Rooms- basic and comfortable. fridge and coffee maker only. Food- get what you pay for, very good everywhere but not cheap Included activities- luau, movie nights, characters, something always going on. Rainbow reef- great for kids snorkeling as it is not in the ocean very good value Wifi very strong thru out the entire resort. Staff- WONDERFUL always 'on' Disney style Parking- you do pay per day did not like this, restaurants will validate Location- very nice and secure community, resorts to one side, real ocean beach to the other. About 30 mins from airport and 15 to Walmart and all amenities.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6249 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Typical Disney experience - crowded and poor service - good characters activities

    Reviewed by Jamie M(Boston) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    I should preface this by with the fact that we are not Disney people. We go because the kids like it. We spent 8 nights in Hawaii. 5 at another lovely resort and 3 at Aulani. The first resort was right on the beach and had typical Hawaiian relaxed vibe with impeccable service. We then moved to Aulani for 3 nights. Our party had a 3 bedroom grand villa. The room was very spacious and had a great view. Check in was easy. The pros to this are the kids activities/character shows and meet n greets. Cons: Like most Disney experiences it is very crowded. People go down at 7am to save chairs by the pool beach and you also have to wait in line to get a bracelet and towels for the pool. It seems to me bracelets could be delivered to your room overnight for the next morning thereby eliminating this wait. If you can get it rent the lower veranda. It is private space away from the action. We were lucky enough to get it one day but they book out very far in advance. The kids club is great but again super hard to get into. Expect to wait in long lines starting at 7am to sign up for activities. My best advice is to sign up for anything you can far in advance. The service at AmaAma restaurant was terrible. We went 3 times. The first time we were very rushed and like fast food. The second time was a bit better. The third time was the worst. Our waiter took our order and then literally never came back. We had to get help from someone else. The character breakfast was great in terms of the character meet and greets but the food was AWFUL. The Luau was fun and food was decent. Would have been better if it was beach side. Overall if you are a Disney fanatic or just want to go for the kids I recommend 2-3 nights here max and then doing another resort for the remaining time on the island.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-1

    Value

    Value-1

    Amazing! No comparison

    Reviewed by TheGreatZaZa(Neosho, Missouri) on Apr 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Top notch customer service and the most child friendly resort we have ever stayed out. Our children loved the pools and water activities. The restaurants were great. Aunty’s Beach House was fantastic for the kids and they never wanted to leave! We would go back in a heartbeat!!

    A Disney themed vacation

    Reviewed by bm93travel(Vancouver, CA) on Apr 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    During spring break, we spent a few days with the family at this Disney property. The rooms were comfortable and the property was well maintained. Whether spending time in their lazy river and pools, or heading down to the attached Lagoon, it was entertaining and enjoyable for the entire family. Expect paying a higher price when eating and doing things around the property.Dining at Ulu Cafe or heading off the property for dining choices is less damaging on the wallet, and maybe an inviting choice as the themed dinner and breakfasts book out rather quickly. "Cast" members did appear for events and photo-opps but much more limited to the original Disney cast (Mickey, Minnie etc) and of course Moana. For the price, plus during spring break, you definitely need to know what you are getting into. Overall, 2 days maybe 3 days max, and you will want to venture off the resort for more fun.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-3

    We left after 48 hours - not a relaxing place

    Reviewed by Brian S() on Apr 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    We booked this hotel for a week in April 2019 with our two young kids, ages 5 and 1. after 48 hours, we checked out and went to a different hotel. this is not a relaxing place for vacation. there are lines for everything, from the front desk to the restaurants. the pool is fun for kids but is super overcrowded, so tough to get chairs and little poolside drink/food service. you need reservations for restaurants and any of the disney or character related stuff. everything takes forever - long waits for a luggage cart or room service. we couldn't handle the stress of this place and bailed as fast as we could.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-2

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-1

    Aulani Resort and Spa

    Reviewed by pmahalepage(Clinton, New Jersey) on Apr 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We are a well travelled family of 4 with a 11 and 14 year old. We are on our last day at Aulani and was excited to come here based on some recommendations from friends who had been here. The resort is nice but definitely not 5 stars. It’s VERY over crowded (maybe spring break issue only?). It’s SUPER FAR from anything, so even tours done through the resort take at least 1 hour of driving one way to get to (and this is not made clear anywhere that there is no hotel pickup for tours...pickup is 1 hr away in Waikiki!). Only 2 restaurants that get booked and NO space to eat otherwise. If you get a villa, you likely will have space in your villa to eat; however, if you’re in a deluxe ocean view room, you have limited space and cannot eat comfortably in the room. Across the street is a nice shopping area, though. For the Disney brand, the planning on this resort was poor in terms of poolside seating as well. You have to wait in lines every day at 8 am as a family to get new wristbands to use the resort and facilities. People are nice but it’s super inconvenient and for a Disney property, one expects logistical excellence and convenience that you see in DisneyWorld. Check in takes FOREVER and is overcrowded. When they text you your room (which would be very convenient if it worked well) you get a number but no building name...so you don’t know where to go! When you text ‘Help’, you get a template email about frequency of texts..,so NOT Disney Caliber?! That being said, the food at AMA AMA is delicious...and the staff is very nice. Rooms are well kept, beds are very hard (I was fine but hubby had back pain mist of the trip)...Reef at resort and bay is very nice. But all in all, if your kids are older (ie won’t mind not seeing Disney characters), would definitely opt for a nice resort closer to Waikiki. Sorry Aulani!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX