Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Los Cabos
    5. Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort
    6. Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    L

    Outstanding service

    Reviewed by Lee on Jan 01, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    Travelled to this secrets location in the middle of December 2016. My husband and I had a fabulous time. We booked room deal of the day and we were not dissapointed, we had a garden view, but we could see the ocean from our bed. The service is outstanding, I asked about a special drink and the next day the bartender I had asked had gone home that night and looked on ytube how to make it for me. Food is very good, lots of options on restaurants. This is our second visit and we will be back again.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    R

    This place was a 10 for us!!

    Reviewed by Ron on Dec 29, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    This was one of our best holiday resorts . We have travelled mexico for 25 years and stayed at all levels of resorts. Every part of this vacation was a 10 from the food,service, rooms etc. The entertainment staff were very friendly and got you involved with the many events they planned. Our favorites were Lucas,Lia,Anthony,Kenya and David. My favorite pool waiter was Augustin. I cant imagine anyone not liking this place???

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    G

    Extremely Disappointing

    Reviewed by Gloria on Nov 20, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    We booked this resort as a special way for me to celebrate my 60th birthday with my family. We anticipated a wonderful five star experience. The only 5 star part of this resort, is the resort itself. It is very beautiful and that is the nicest thing I have to say about this resort. The food and especially the restaurant service was hugely disappointing. The only option for dinner service is one of the a la carte restaurants where we had to wait a long time for service and then the service we received was the bare minimum. The quality of the food served was hit or miss and the food portions are small. On my birhday we were grateful just to get the waiter to our table to take our order then deliver the food to the table; that was pretty much the only time we saw him. Add to that, he neglected to deliver my birthday cake to the table despite my son being reassured before hand that it would be served. Although, to be fair, the resort did not acknowledge my birthday in their daily announcements of guests' special occassions, despite being told at book in and on numerous occassions during signing into our rooms. The worst service though was on our last night when we returned to the Himitsu restaurant because we had enjoyed the food there on a previous visit but not the service. On this night the service was the worst we had received to date. I don't believe I have ever been so neglected by a waiter before, add to that we left most of the beef on the plate because it was so difficult to chew. In regards to the resort, be aware that it is very out of the way and the taxi ride into town is costly. Also, even though they call themself a golf resort and the resort is surrounded by fairways, the course itself is not part of the resort and you have to pay for a taxi to take you to the course. As for the beach, we were informed at check in that it is a non-swimming beach so water activities

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    m

    The perfect getaway to run away to!

    Reviewed by mere_aw on Jan 07, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    This is the perfect quick getaway for western Canadians. The flights from Calgary are perfect. We booked a last minute 5 day escape, which really worked out to 5 nights and 6 days. Hotel is reasonable distance from the airport. This resort is the nicest and cleanest place we have yet to stay at. Best service, great food, perfect size and a view! All rooms face the ocean, so no need to get an ocean view. Very quiet and relaxing. Easy to get chairs by the pool at any time. The beach is ok, but that doesn't really matter since you cant swim in the water anywhere because the ocean is too rough in Cabo. So hence why a nice pool area is so important. As this was the easiest trip to plan, with a convenient location and flight times, we may make this a frequent getaway. We cant wait to take our friends. I would rank this as 5 star plus resort. We wouldn’t change a thing. For those with a handicap, the resort is fully accessible and accommodating. For newly weds, perfect honeymoon spot. This felt like a second honeymoon for us. Don’t hesitate! * tip: Cabo is a desert location, it does get chilly at night!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3723 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    A Week of Relaxation

    Reviewed by MinaMcLean(Eugene, Oregon) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My husband and I just returned from a week at Secrets. Best service, comfortable rooms, excellent views, nice fellow guests, good food and drinks. My highlights were the best staff, Preferred Pool, beach days laying out and hanging out at the swing bar, comfortable room with two big bath tubs, one on the balcony, a double headed shower that also looked out to the ocean, late night room service, cocktails and the glorious time with my hubby. We had a few moments of bad service, and most of the food is just ok, but overall I am giving it a 4 star. Check in: warmly greeted upon arrival, with a warm lemon scented towel. Instantly loaded into a golf cart with a mini tour on our way to check into the Preferred Lounge. Once at the Preferred Lounge, we were offered a cocktail, and went through the typical check in procedures. I also had shared that we were not interested in sitting though a time share meeting or sales pitch. They had us wait for the “not a timeshare” salesman with the $200 vouchers. Once he arrived he was promoted that we had thought it was a timeshare. Then he spent about 10 minutes holding onto the vouchers almost challenging us “that, ‘we’ must be able to afford vacations without buying into a club”. Strange tactic. It was the last we heard of it from the resort. Preferred Club Worth the money. We rented an ocean front room in building 8, 3rd floor. We were not upgraded. I loved the front row view of the crashing waves and even golfers each morning. I used the tub on the balcony and felt very comfortable that I really didn’t have to worry about privacy. Also, our building was so close and conveniently located to everything. We loved going to the PC lounge each day for cocktails and snacks, even had lunch and breakfast there once. Victor the bartender was AMAZING! Excellent service. The Preferred Club pool was next door, as was Oceana - the option for Preferred only for breakfast, the fire pit , and the nightly shows Thursday - Saturday were also right next door. Preferred Pool was our favorite. César was the best host. He made sure we had a chair and towel and even a cabana a couple days. My cabana day was a highlight. Eloy was the best sever at the Preferred Pool. He took the best care of me. He made sure my drinks were not empty, and even brought me food. He remembered what drinks I liked and would even bring them to me in the pool. Excellent service. Restaurants: For breakfast, since we were in the Preferred Club we liked to eat at the PC lounge. Easy continental. Oceana was our favorite place to eat breakfast. Karen was the cheeriest hostess. I just loved her. Eloy was my favorite server. My husband and I loved the Mexican Omelet, fruit, waffles, French toast, and chose your own omelet. We also ate at the buffet a couple of times, liked the omelet station, fruit and the excellent chocolate croissants and regular croissants. For lunch we ate buffet, Seaside Grill, and Barefoot Grill, even Preferred Club for sushi and sandwiches one day. Barefoot Grill had the best guacamole for nachos. I loved that I could serve up my own warm tortilla chips and they would top my chips with all of the yummy goodness. Dinner we tried it all. Well almost. Himitsu Hibatchi dinner was so much fun and delicious. Great show and excellent food. We were sat with 8 others that were so much fun. We even all went out for drinks afterward. Porofinos disappointed us. Everyone rants that it was their favorite. We put our name on the list for outside dinner and were given a pager. They suggested we go for drinks next door while we wait. Two hours later my husband went and checked on our reservation and they forgot about us. We were then sat by a hostess with an attitude. At that time I didn’t care that we didn’t get to eat outside. The waiter made it known that we were the second to last to be seated because they forgot about us. The food took a long time. My noodles were cooked al dente and more on the hard side. I didn’t feel the food was very good and neither did my husband. El Patio dinner was excellent. Juan was a wonderful sever. He made excellent suggestions. I had queso mmmmm, chicken fajitas the portion was huge. Could have been a shared dish. I also had the Tres Leche cake. Outstanding with berries on it. Overall the food was good. Neither of us got sick, and the drinks flowed. Room: very comfortable amenities, can’t complain about two tubs (one on the balcony), a giant shower, comfy bathrobe, turndown service, food room service. The TV channels were limited, WiFi worked amazing, our room was cleaned every day except once. I called and they sent people to the room to see what we needed. Great response. They cleaned up the dirty room service dishes promptly and I loved the privacy food delivery box.

    Excellent visit!

    Reviewed by Betsypfromct() on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My husband and I just returned from a week at Secrets--we had a wonderful time! We vacationed with another couple; the hotel booked us next door to each other, which was perfect. The service is outstanding everywhere! The staff were attentive, always available and “my pleasure” was the response to every request. The rooms were spacious, rain shower, jacuzzi tub, comfortable beds, awesome views of the ocean and mountains. The food was excellent; Portofino, El Patio, Oceana were our favorites. Actual top shelf alcohol was available upon request. Facilities were new, clean and well planned. The pool bar is rocking during the day. The pool water is chilly, but once you get in, it's fine. Although windy and no swimming due to the waves, the views at the beach are beautiful. Loved beach yoga daily with Lynn Taylor; she is incredibly skilled, engaging and really nice. We highly recommend a visit to Secrets!

    I'm hard to please and I rate it 10+

    Reviewed by Sirdarby(Atlanta, Georgia) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Some might call my group travel snobs. Aesthetics and people watching is very important to us, along with great food and luxury dining. Secrets did not disappoint. Although I will say you won't find the majority of these travelers decked out in Gucci or D&G swim wear, this was an environment of comfortable, fit seemingly middle and upper classed travelers who were up for fun and unpretentious relaxation. The food was phenomenal, drinks flowed freely and were top shelf. Rooms were comfortable and reasonably well appointed. The staff were the hardest working I ever saw and they aimed to please. The landscaping was awesome. Take a sweater or wrap because nights got chilly from the sea breeze. I did not like the high pressure sales presentation. The theme was "buy a 20 year premium package" for up to $300,000 today or take a hike. Then like a sleazy used car salesman, our guy walked away and came back with another take it or leave it deal for $20,000. Which wasn't bad but I was turned off at this point. The TV channel selection was poor. No BRAVO,HGTV, NBC, ABC, CBS ETC. You did get HBO, Max, CNN and E! (Espanol). We were very big on feeling safe and I and my friends always felt the staff were kind, courteous, and very helpful. There was no flirtation or sleepiness. Walking on property at night felt like we were in a safe cocoon. We did not leave the gates property. I drank the water, brushed my teeth etc. The gym was small but adequate. There are no ice machines but the bar was able to accommodate. Getting straws seemed a bit cumbersome. My friends loved the poker tournament, yoga, water aerobics etc. Beautiful golf course but we didn't golf.

    Just go...

    Reviewed by murf1(Cabo San Lucas, Mexico) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We have been taking a yearly vacation with another couple, and it was their turn to pick. I knew nothing about Cabo, but our friends have good judgment about these things, so off we went. We were all very pleasantly surprised by Secrets. This looks like a newly built resort. Everything was bright and shining all the time. Our rooms were a perfect size, very clean, and everything worked. Bathrooms had a sauna tub and a double shower...understated luxury. The maid service was excellent - extremely attentive. The various restaurants were all very good, but the Oceana Restaurant grilled tuna steak was exceptional. The fish seemed to be super fresh everywhere...I ate quite a bit of raw/cervece style seafood that I would have avoided in other places. It was awesome! The wait staff in all the restaurants were outstanding. The very large pool area was the social gathering spot during the day...very lively and a lot of fun. The swim-up bar rocked all day. The beach area, was the quiet, relax, doze-off destination. Great to have both options. The winds were pretty strong at the beach, and the surf was way too high for swimming - but the sight and sound of those 10-footers crashing at the shore were absolutely hypnotic. Did not have a chance to play golf, but the course looked plush, and I heard from other guests that it was very challenging. The attention to detail at this resort was most impressive. Are you getting the impression that we liked this place? We loved it...Go there...

    Best Resort Ever!

    Reviewed by 429randyk(Decatur, Illinois) on Apr 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My wife and I just returned from the most wonderful week possible! We were at this resort from April 13th -20th. From the moment we arrived at the grounds, we were pampered. We received a lemon-scented moist towel to cool our faces after a long day of travel. The porter whisked our bags away to our room while we were taken to the Preferred Club. We cannot say enough about the personal care combined with professionalism we received with Johel. He was awesome! Our room (Preferred Club Ocean Front in Building 8 third floor was incredible. We have stayed at a lot of resorts, but I was most impressed by this room. It was large and well appointed. The deck, with the soaking tub and amazing view of the golf course and tho ocean beyond was wonderful. We loved watching and listening to the powerful waves breaking on the shore! We never tired of this. We loved our large bathroom with two separate sinks. Rita and I felt so spoiled. The two head shower was great-great pressure! The maid service was consistently excellent and room service kept our fridge stocked with water. My wife and I do not drink alcohol, but we are huge water drinkers, and room service always made sure our fridge was stocked with water. The bed was always turned down and we were greater by chocolates on the bed each night. Thank you so much, housekeeping and room service. The grounds of the resort were pristine, beautifully landscaped, and always immaculate. The army of landscapers work tirelessly to keep the grounds looking their best, and they always did! We loved our Preferred Club pool because we prefer the laid back atmosphere. I was able to swim in the pool almost every day. As the week progressed, the water temperature increased and was always refreshing. At poolside, always upbeat Cesar made us feel welcomed and made sure we had everything we desired, down to preparing our lounger with towels ( one to cover the lounge, one for a pillow, and one to dry off with). The drink man ( I am so sorry I did not write down his name) worked tirelessly to make sure every one had their drinks-he was one of the hardest working staff that I have seen at any resort. The restaurants were all wonderful and all consistently served delicious food. Special shout outs go to Salvatore at Portofino (our favorite restaurant), who took care of us the first night there. The second night there, Alberto took wonderful care of us, including bringing out Chef Daniel to talk to us. This young chef is gifted! He even brought out a special sampling of desserts(white chocolate mousse, tiramisu, panna-cotta and a delicious berry gelatin) to show his appreciation for our appreciation. Other special recognition goes out to Angel at Seaside Grill and Sergio at El Patio, the Mexican restaurant. Other waitstaff were wonderful and very attentive at all restaurants-I simply cannot remember all of their names. My wife and I were always impressed by the caliber of the nightly entertainment. We In conclusion, we have nothing but highest praise for this resort. My wife and I have always wanted to come to Los Cabos, and if we ever come back, this resort is "the only place" for us!

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX