Accra Beach Hotel and Spa

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    S

    Imagine how great the experience would be If they had quality service to go with the beautiful location

    Reviewed by Stephen on Feb 02, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    Prior to our arrival at the hotel, we had read several reviews regarding the lack of hot water and the varying levels of the quality of customer service provided by the hotel. Upon our return we have noticed many unfavourable comments on other travel sites that allow customers to provide feedback on the "travel experience" offered by service providers. Lets start with the positive. The cleaning staff and beach staff were outstanding. Never had to wait to have our room cleaned or to have chairs and an umbrella provided on the beautiful beach. Now to the hotel experience. We were subjected to a lack of hot water for the first several days, and then there was barely enough water to brush your teeth, never mind trying to have a shower. The hotel did offer some compensation for this inconvenience, but they failed to provide any logical reasons for the cause of the water "shortage". We could have lived with the water issue but were very frustrated that the restaurant and bar staff did not encourage us to eat or drink at the hotel based on the below average level of hospitality and service provided. It really shouldn't take 90 minutes to get an appetizer from the bar. We are seasoned travellers and have patience for most situations, but not to this degree.The most disappointing part of the service level was the need to go elsewhere when there were outstanding views from the restaurant. Also disappointing was the lack of feedback from WestJet. The WestJet reps did not alert us to any problems at the hotel and we have not heard from them since our return. I trust they are aware of the problems.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 1855 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Terrible Customer Service...Choose Another Hotel

    Reviewed by Rob L(Canada) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Firstly, we want to say that Barbados itself is a beautiful country with an awesome culture and friendly people, and we have travelled to Barbados quite a few time prior to staying at this hotel; however, this hotel does not at all reflect that friendly culture and experience. Also, we have travelled to many countries and rarely complain, as we are not high maintenance people. The problems started right upon check-in. We waited almost three hours for our room, which we finally received at 7:00 pm, after arriving shortly after 4:00 pm. After a long day of travel, this is quite unacceptable, particularly when check-out is at noon (surely, it cannot take 7 hours to clean and prepare a room). After repeatedly being told that is would be a while longer, each time we went up to inquire as to the status of the room, all the while sitting in a hot lobby waiting with all of our luggage, not once did any of the front desk staff seem even concernced about this inconvenience. We were not offered any apology, or even a drink while we waited. Then when we finally got our room key, it was simply sitting at the front desk, after our fifth inquiry (no idea how long it sat there), we were told that someone from guest services would get back to us, regarding some sort of compensation (free drink, meal, etc.). Of course, no one did. Honestly, for us, a simple acknowledgement and apology would have been enough; sadly, we never once got that. When we got to our room, it was clearly not cleaned at all. The floors were sandy and wet in some areas. The only things that appeared to be done were new sheets and towels put in the room. Then we found a cockroach in the bathroom, as soon as we turned on the lights. To make matters worse, the room was sweltring hot, as the air conditioner wasn't on at all. It turned out after the first hot sleepless night (even after we turned it on thinking it would get cooler as it ran) , it wasn't working at all, and we had to call maintenance to get it serviced. The bed was super hard and uncomfortable, the sheets felt like sandpaper, and the pilows were pathetic. So overall, the room experience was consistenly uncomfortable for the whole week. We didn't get much sleep at all. In terms of the location, that is ideal. The hotel is situated on Rockley Beach, which is a beautiful beach, and right at the beginning of the South Coast Boardwalk, which is a great walk. Of course, the beach chairs were old and sagging, so even finding a firm one was a chore. The staff, overall, were not rude (except at the front desk), but they clearly do not enjoy their jobs, and rarely were friendly or even smiling. We did not do the all-inclusive package at the hotel (thankfully), so we cannot comment on the food quality at the hotel. There are many local places within walking distance to eat and drink, which was preferable to us, as that is when you can truly experience the friendly culture of Barbados. The day before check out, we went down to the front desk (ugh) to inquire about a late check-out, as our pick up was at 3:30 pm and check out was at noon. That was evidently too much to ask, despite us having waited 3 hours to check in at the beginning of the week. Even when we brought it to their attention that no one had ever gotten back to us or acknowledge the check in mess, they still managed to bring their customer service to a new low. The woman at the front desk implied that we were lying and that it didn't take that long to check in. This was simply the icing on the cake for us. Unbelievable! No apololgy, but now just blame the hotel guests! They said the best they could do was give us an extra hour. So, as we were getting reading with our pathetic extra hour, the room key stopped working at noon an the maid was at the door at noon anyway; so clearly, they couldn't even honour their pathetic attempt at rectifying the situation. It begs the question of who the liars really are. This was by far the worst customer service we have ever received at any hotel anywhere, and the saddest part is that the hotel staff couldn't have seemed less disinterested in addressing the poor service at all. So if you want a mediocre hotel, with terrible customer service, poor room quality, and minimal amenities, then this is the hotel for you. Otherwise, avoid it altogether; there are many better places in the area to choose.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-1

    Service

    Service-1

    Hotel needs maintenance

    Reviewed by carlsC4269ZK() on Mar 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    We returned from the Accra beach 2 days ago. It was my first trip there and will unfortunately be my last. We stayed in room 234 and it needs some serious maintenance. The shutters would not stay on rails, hardly and lighting and zero bedside lamp, 10 of the 14 days zero hot water and when the water ran it smelt of rotten eggs, bed really uncomfortable... along with this towels were often forgotten to be replaced and no bin liners in bin. I emailed management informing them of this but still waiting reply. Generally found the staff didn’t know the answers to most questions snd would say ‘I’ll find out’ and never get back to you. Whilst sitting on balcony one afternoon a maid let herself in my our room and just said ‘move the things off the bed’. The Accra information folder was inaccurate saying the pool bar is open till 11.30pm but closes between 8.30-9pm most night. The breakfast advertised on room service is inaccurate and not as described. The hotel is so so noisy, woken up at 7.am most mornings by drilling or grass strumming outside, not to mention the thin walls and loud music being played in corridors at 2am... the staff do not really seem to care about this. The food is way overpriced so we dined across the road most days were it is half the price and very tasty. Seemed to be a charge for everything used I.E £10 activation fee to use phone in room. Although the pool area is amazing and the beach is lovely this is what is keeping this hotel alive. Paid a lot for this hotel and left feeling short changed!

    This could have been great but sadly wasn't

    Reviewed by philip m(Gloucester, United Kingdom) on Mar 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    The hotel has lots of things going for it. Great location, wonderful beach and pools, friendly staff but out issues centred on our room. Ok the view wasn't great from our room but all rooms can't have great views. The main problem was the sounds from the next room. We had a connecting door, and could hear every word of the conversations next door. We now know the basic life story of these folks, despite never having met them and that one of them snores! We could not get the air con working properly and it was often cold in our room. Finally the toilet didn't flush properly. We didn't spend long in our room but with the issues noted, it was difficult to sleep.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-5

    ~Hotel need update

    Reviewed by Irish2948(Kitchener, Canada) on Mar 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    we stayed at Accra in 2018 and found it great. Unfortunately 2019 needs some work. Arrived 03/01 and checked in room 343 (right next door to last year ..great). Second day went to get shower to go for dinner, no hot water called to front desk and also asked for a bath robe fro my wife. After waiting 1 hour and no response went to front desk and explained, they said they would look into it, waited another 1 and half hours and a maintenance man showed up to check water (they did not believe me). My wife tried to wash her hair in the sink but it was plugged, the man came back after checking hot water and said get a new room. He unplugged the sink so we could go out for dinner. When we came back the form desk said room could not be changed till tomorrow; we agreed as we were going out all day Sunday and they said room would be ready when we got back at 3:30, no so took another 1hr and half before we got new room and they hesitated about offering any compensation for inconvenience. Two days later went to go out, housekeeping still working on room at 4:00 pm and they said sorry o bath towels, har to wait 20 minutes. 3 days into 11 day vacation ..no beach towels again the next day so we learned to just keep our towels. These small inconsistencies and slow response to problems should down grade this hotel. On the 5 day day we thought the drinking water left an after taste, but the front desk no one had said anything, funny because we noticed a number of guests coming in with jugs of water form the convenience store across the street and lots of empty bottles in hallway. This is a great location and a good hotel, but management needs to fix these minor problems before guests stop coming !!!!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-3

    Sad situation.

    Reviewed by stephaniebK8231TY() on Mar 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    We stayed at this place many times and we will not again. Gorgeous beach and friendly helpful staff. However there is no amount of friendliness that could compensate for the zero hot water, zero shower pressure, old run down room with minimal window treatment to block light. The property needs a major renovation as the 5 star beach and staff totally deserve.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX