Waves Hotel & Spa

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 800 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Excellent Experience!!

    Reviewed by Mikey-Nishy(Jamaica) on Jan 11, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I am writing this review from my hotel room, albeit in quarantine waiting to get my second covid test (now a requirement after presenting your first negative result on arrival) to be cleared for release into society. Kudos to the Barbados governemnt. I will also mention that I have experienced quite a bit of Barbados Tourism Industry and the Team at Waves are worth mentioning for exceptional and unwavering customer service! We are confined to our room which as you can imagine may be a drag..however, The team has gone above and beyond to ensure we enjoy our stay in comfort and style. My wife and I are celebrating our 10th anniversary and from our initial contact with Jacqueline, the welcoming and walkthrough of covid protocols by the the duty manager Ryan, the follow up and servicing by Crystal & Marsha (front desk) and room service arrangements by Tamika and company...our experience thus far has been nothing short of amazing! The reviews I have seen in regards to vacations spoiled seemed to be as a result of person being unaware of the current protocols during this pandemic...that being said, the staff has made an effort to ensure that clients are not misled and are aware of what is expected even before you arrive. And as much as we can say from our room, you can't go wrong with an all inclusive option where the food is good, the staff is A class and the room is clean, modern and comfortable. Thanks Team Waves and I highly recommend this hotel having been around the block!

    Excellent Hotel & Friendly Staff

    Reviewed by lesliehQ6863MB() on Jan 05, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I stayed at Waves to welcome in the New Year and I was not at all disappointed! Excellent service throughout my stay and staff were very helpful and welcoming. I would most definitely recommend. The food is also very good.

    Worse vacation experience ever

    Reviewed by gaianeg2017(Toronto, Ontario) on Jan 01, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Dear readers, I would like to share with you our ‘vacation’ experience in Barbados in November 2020. It might be good information about potential outcome of your trip as well. A little bit pre-history. We love Caribbean vacations and went to more than 9 counties in Caribbean multiple times. We try to stay in all inclusive 5 star hotels. However, we have never been in Barbados and I thought this is the time to see something new. Especially now when my husband was diagnosed with dementia it could be the last trip together. Knowing situation with COVID we went to have Covid test done in Canada for people without symptoms and confirmed that test results will be ready in 3-5 business days. Great. Our results came negative and we were ready to fly. We decided to go to Barbados (all inclusive 7 days) that cost us more than even Aruba. I decided, ok, basically our last vacation together, I can use my savings, and we bought tickets. Excited about trip, we came to airport and flu to Bridgetown. As soon as we arrived, airport officials started requesting COVID results from passengers. I was sure that we are ready and can be on time for our transfer to hotel. But everything turned opposite. Our papers with negative results were 7 days old, which is not acceptable by Barbados officials. They require test to be the oldest in 72 hours. 72 hours? 3 days. How it is possible if test in Toronto can be done in 3-5 business days. Nobody in Barbados synchronized days with other countries. Ok. We were sent to the special line to have test done in airport, waited 3 for our test done and were assured by government worker that we will be taken to our destination hotel ‘Waves’ hotel and will be on quarantine for 2 days. In two days we will need to have second test, and after good results will be allowed to go outside. ???? As a result of waiting test we missed our transfer to hotel and were taken by driver for 40 US dollars from our pocket. We finally arrived to our destination hotel by 11:30 pm. I happily thought that we can relax and rest.... No, it is not so easy in Barbados. Hotel administrator came to us and explain that we cannot stay in Waves hotel that we booked (please notice that it is opposite to what government official in airport told us). We need to go to another hotel (Treasure beach) where we will be on quarantine for two days until negative results received. She did not let us know that we could stay in Waves on quarantine. This is what confirmed with General Manager upon arrival back to home. I do not know why she lied to us. I also asked about transportation payment to go to another hotel and back and traveling to policlinic for the second test. She contacted general manager and confirmed that it will be complimentary. However, when we arrived to Treasure Beach hotel, they requested payment and accused me that I did not understand properly what Waves administrator said. They said that only our return to Waves will be complimentary. Do you think this is all? Just wait… We spend 5 days instead of two on quarantine in another hotel instead of Waves and returned to Waves (our destination hotel) only on Friday. Notice please that we were flying back home on Sunday. WE were looking forward to spend one full day on Saturday in Waves and ketch up on our vacation. On arrival hotel explained us that there is no water and provided many bottles of water to use for washing. It might happen, so it did not disappoint us. Saturday came, last day of our vacation and we are trying to enjoy freedom, good food and swimming as much as we could. Unfortunately water pipes were not repaired and hotel administration suggested relocating to another hotel. For us it was not acceptable since we were leaving next day and arrived only yesterday. However, Waves organized bus for some people to another hotel to take shower. This option was very good for us. Bus took us to another hotel and explained that will be waiting for us to take all passengers back. Everyone in the meantime went for shower but they could not find room for us. Local admin asked us to wait. We waited and waited until finally she placed us to the room where we can take shower. To our surprise, when we were ready to start shower, we realized that there is no shower head or hand shower…. Bathroom did not have water at all. OMG. Unfortunate evens continue…. It was also hotel that is part of ‘Elegant Hotels’. They finally found another room where we took shower and run to our bus. To our surprise there was no bus, and manager explained to us that driver could not wait for us, he left, but will come back to pick us up soon. I was so tired from it and asked to order taxi to go to our hotel by our own expense. Thanks God I did it. When we arrived and explained what happened, Waves manager apologized and said that they were informed differently: She explained that driver was asked to leave without us and they promise to him to send us by taxi complimentary…. Is it normal for Barbados? I do not know. Or this part of ‘Elegant Hotels’ service? I do not know and I was not very pleased by all experience of our last day. Our manager compensated us with expense and we left home next day. About our 2 nights in Waves hotel: it is located on a busy road, but right on a beach. To go to spa and another part of the hotel, you need to cross this busy road. Hotel is a one building with one restaurant, one small coffee shop and bar. No other restaurants when you go to usual all inclusive hotels in other countries. Beach is small and there is no greenery where you can walk. Beach is good but has isolated swimming area. Rooms look nice, and I think recently renovated. But as you know we did not have water due to broken pipelines. there is a feeling that hotel is really old……. Overall we were very disappointed with our experience in Barbados including hotel services from all three ‘Elegant hotels’ chain. Our vacation could be a little longer and hopefully beter if Waves administrator could honestly say that we could quarantine for 2 days in Waves and start our vacation 3d day of our 7 days of vacation. Think twice before going to Barbados with the Covid 19 restrictions. Make sure you read all small fonts in government papers if you want to go. Make sure you read last documents because they are changing constantly. Make sure you understand what to expect. Otherwise your vacation might turn to nightmare like ours.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-3

    Service

    Service-2

    Value

    Value-1

    2nd Excellent visit to Barbados and Waves in 2018

    Reviewed by w00dlandedge(Cumbria, United Kingdom) on Dec 30, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Long overdue 2nd review. We've definately found our home from home on both Barbados and at the Waves where we were greeted so warmly by the staff on our return - they genuinely remembered us (which may have had something to do with our daughters turquoise dyed hair, then pink on the second visit) We've found the Bajan people to be so warm and genuinely welcoming of visitors to their gorgeous island. On our second visit we were lucky enough to book a seaview room at the Waves - WOW, breathtaking view! Alas, for our 2021 holiday (Yes we are returning for our 3rd visit) we're having to return to the Standard Room as the Seaview is now out of our price range. The hotel is basically split into two by the road but it really isn't a problem and Bajan drivers are on the whole very courteous and will slow to let you cross. The free Spa treatments are a great addition and the ladies are lovely - I found it a great way to learn about island living. The Waves has a quality small boutique hotel feel which we love. If you want to eat and drink 24 hours a day with entertainment then this ISN'T the place for you. If you enjoy good company, lovely staff, quiet beautiful surroundings and good food then go ahead and book. We are vegetarian and find the vegetarian menu in the Seascape Restaurant both imaginative and delicious - I hope this is still the case under the new Marriott ownership. We've only tried the Shiso restaurant once and found this wasn't for us. The Kyma Cafe offers air conditioned relief in the afternoon. The beach is fairly small but then the beaches on the West coast are. If I were to make one criticism, it would be the use of plastic straws when serving drinks on the beach. On our second visit this was already starting to be addressed and I hope on our return in 2021 this has been completely eliminated. Also the neighbouring plot of land was vacant and there was a fair bit of plastic littering the plot's border with the beach. I know this isn't the responsibility of the Waves, but do think it would be a worthwhile exercise to keep that area clean and tidy as it does form a negative impression of the island's plastic litter problem. Special mention for the beach attendants who work really hard in the heat bringing lots of cool drinks and set up sunbeds and parasols. The watersports are definitely a huge attraction for us, the guys are very patient and helpful. As already mentioned, the staff at the Waves are so warm and welcoming and really make the holiday special. We can't wait to say hi to Kim, Ryan and all the other wonderful people who make the Waves and Barbados a lovely place to visit. See you in June/July 2021 (all being well) Take care, the Gannon's

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Staff are great

    Reviewed by lewismd30(Barbados) on Dec 29, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    It’s difficult to post a review since March 2020 and in these very tough times. We are transferring to USA but had to go to Barbados or another island to be outside UK for 14 days to meet USA entry requirements. We have really enjoyed our stay here after being at Treasure Beach for 2 days and getting negative tests. The staff cannot do enough for you and go out of their way to chat with you and make sure you have everything you need. You have to get to understand that meals and everything else are at Barbados pace. Overall we haven’t had the best food experience. There aren’t any fresh juices or fresh polkadots Chihuahua buffet so we won’t be late yogurt available at breakfast. We have asked for lightly cooked fish at most meals but it comes dry and overcooked. The same can be said for some of the cooked meat. You certainly never go hungry or thirsty. You get great service on the beach or at the pool constantly bringing drinks or fruit. We were given room 002 to transfer to and this a nice room on the ground floor by the deck overlooking the sea. It has been a very good holiday and even with the minor comments I would recommend the hotel especially with the service the staff give.