Grand Riviera Princess All Suites and Spa Resort

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Riviera Maya
    5. Grand Riviera Princess All Suites and Spa Resort
    6. Grand Riviera Princess All Suites and Spa Resort review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    F

    We would never go back!

    Reviewed by Family of 3 from Canada on Jul 02, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: June 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    This was the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. We were travelling with a child who required his medication to be refrigerated. We called ahead and were assured that the mini fridge in the room could accommodate this necessity. Upon arriving to the room we discovered that the fridge had a minimum temperature of 7 Celsius (the drinks in the fridge were warm). There was no way this would work for medicine. We called reception and were told they would try to switch the fridge out, but that the fridge does not keep things cold (we were also told this was our only option for the medication. We decided to fill the cooler we transported the medicine in with ice, however the ice machine did not work. Again we were told there were no other options. We decided to go for dinner - and were absolutely repulsed by the food that was not only flavourless, but ice cold and had an odd baking soda taste to it. We chalked this up to it being Italian night in Mexico. We decided to go back to our room and order room service (which according to the website and our reservation was included). The front desk advised that if we wanted this service we needed to pay $100 usd per day and move rooms. We went to sleep hungry and disappointed. The next morning we tried to take our son to the kids pool (accompanied by us) where we were told if we wanted access to the kids pool we had to pay (pay for the kids pool in an all inclusive???). The adults and kids had to pay ($10 per person per day). So we took our 1 1/2 year old back to the big pools. The kids club was another amenity advertised as included. The meals did not improve at all, however the taco stand from 12-5 was quite good. I should note, my husband is from Mexico and I lived there for 8 years. We went with very tempered expectations and this hotel still managed to disappoint us in all areas. We even paid a taxi to take us to the airport early as we would have rather spent hours wandering the airport then the hotel.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    K

    Wonderful stay. Bring ones and fives for tipping. Change is hard to come by.

    Reviewed by Kirk on Apr 19, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Great time for a week in early April. Really big resort. Bring a waterproof watch so you know the time. No clocks anywhere. Pool bats close at 6pm. Pools close at 8pm. Buffets aren't 5 star but the a la carte's such a steakhouse and Japanese Miso we're great. Seaweed in water and on beach but big deal. Warm water but small waves. No complaints. Great time for families and non families looking to unwind. So many pools.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    N

    Had a great time

    Reviewed by Nadine on Feb 05, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    Overall great resort. Beach is lovely and so are the pools. However, when we booked I asked what was all included and we were told that the kids area (kids pool, buffet, etc. we?re all included) we have 3 & 5 year old so it was important to us. When we got there we went to the kids area and a staff member came out and told us we had to pay $9/person to play in the pool. The pool was ice cold so I said not to worry about it that we will leave. My kids had fun at the other pools and beach anyway but not the point. Not sure if this was westjet a error or if the hotel is trying to scam people. We talked with other families and they had experienced the same thing and other days they could go and play in the area. Other then this our stay was great.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    M

    Great holiday.

    Reviewed by Manitoba Seniors on Nov 27, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    Go directly outside airport to your rep. About 45 minute bus ride from airport. Hotel was very clean. Room spacious and clean. Great selection and quality of food and drinks at numerous bars, buffets, and restaurants. Pools are clean and lounges plentiful. Nice beach with small rocks only along water's edge and sandy once past the edge. Not great for snorkeling due to waves stir up sand. Slacks or dress golf shorts and golf shirt with closed footwear acceptable in a la carte restaurants. A la carte reservations made behind lobby bar. Casual dress in buffets. Try the ice cream parlor and have a panini in the 24 hour Sports Bar. Lizeth Hernandez and Beatriz Caamal in snack bar/buffet closest to beach were wonderful hostess and server. Large resort with fair amount of walking. Comfortable foot wear such as runners/good sandals recommended. Entertainment in theatre was good most evenings. Staff were wonderful, friendly and accommodating and warranted tips in pesos which they genuinely appreciated.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    j

    Terrible vacation from strt to finish

    Reviewed by jb on Mar 29, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Please note that this is an official complaint concerning our trip to Mexico at The Grand Riviera princess and travels with Westjet vacations. Let me start at the beginning on our flight to Mexico, where we were booked on the most less desirable seats on the plane that we could not change. We were immediately advised by the stewardess that we were booked on points seats. The flight was not enjoyable by any means. These seats have less leg room than any other available seat on the plane. Upon arrival at the Cancun Airport we were not listed with the transportation company that brings you to your hotel. This delay was almost one hour waiting at the airport. Arrival at the hotel was less than welcoming. We were advised that our room was not ready and that our package was an "almost all inclusive package" meaning we were only allowed to dine at certain restaurants, order drinks from the left side of the bar, and no access to the wifi. We immediately requested an upgrade willing to pay for all extras to try and salvage this disastrous booking, but for whatever reason the hotel did not allow us to. Please note, we tried several times to upgrade without success. We were assigned a room at the middle area of the hotel, room 7251. Nothing special by any means, but we settled in none the less. On the third day we returned to our room to find an unbelievable smell from the paint and construction that had been done on either side of our room making it unbearable to breath. We immediately reported the issue to management and made our way to the front desk. The 1st person at the front desk did not want to accommodate us with another room, we then requested the manager. After much persuasion, the manager offered us a downgraded room on the other side of the resort. This was our only option. Room #1266. We were obliged to pack our belongings and wait most of the night for the transfer causing us to miss our supper and show. Room 1266 was in a state, the bed was b

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 10720 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Mediocre Mexico experience

    Reviewed by yummymummynorfolkUK(norfolk UK) on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We are a family of 5 , just back from a 2 week stay. We flew with Tui in premium from Gatwick - definitely worth the upgrade on the flight. We chose this hotel because we have 3 boys age 15/12/10, and it appeared this place would tick a lot of our boxes. Despite requesting interconnecting rooms - the hotel could not provide them, we were next door to each other. The rooms are clean and spacious, Though rather tired decor now and in need of a refresh. The in-room fridge was great and restocked daily. The themed restaurants were nice but you have to prebook your reservations to get a table. They usually had only 1 staff on the desk to take the restaurant reservations. Prepare to queue. The buffets are ok - you can find something to suit. The staff were generally friendly and tipping is encouraged. The kids club and teen club were virtually non existent - unless your kids are real youngsters. Our boys were disappointed by the lack of events and organised activities for their age groups. The seaweed and the stench at the beach was really unpleasant , the biggest disappointment for me. I know it’s Mother Nature and the hotel can’t stop it but they didn’t do much to attempt to remove it either. Too many sales people around the grounds selling excursions, photos, some kind of timeshare - didn’t expect that within the Resort. We had a good time but we won’t return.

    Swim out pool is a must!

    Reviewed by EmBurr1(Calgary, Canada) on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We booked with the Grand Riviera Princess and were given a swim up suite in the Sunset side. We were there from July 8-July 15. Overall our experience (married couple late 30s) was fantastic. The room was big and beautiful. We used the swim out pool everyday for hours in the afternoon as that was when it was in the shade. Having the swim out pool eliminated the stress of rushing to get chairs by the pool. It was so relaxing and made our days complete! We fell into a routine each day where we would go for breakfast, go to the gym, come back to the room and get ready for the pool. By the time we were ready for the pool the shade was on the patio so we could sit outside while waiting for the shade to cover our area of the pool. We were in room 2018 which is close to the main pool but not right on it. We loved this location because we had a quieter pool but still felt part of the action. We went to the main pool to watch the crazy game and dancing lessons which are always hilarious. The food was good. The buffets were fine and we always found food to eat. Whatever your nutritional needs you should be able to find something. We ate in the fondue and Mexican restaurant. We loved them both! Great food and service. We also went to the spa. We got a couples massage and unlimited same day access to the hydrotherapy pools. We were there for hours! It was a wonderful day. We were impressed with the hydrotherapy pools and spa, very clean and beautiful facilities. I was worried about the reviews that said there had been robberies in the room, but we felt totally safe and didn't have any problems that way at all. We used the safe in the room and ensured it was always locked. The staff work really hard and we did tip. We did have one bad experience on our first night there. After we arrived and got our room we went to the Chill Out for dinner as we wanted access to the area for the week. Before we left I had contacted the resort and was told we needed to spend 750 pesos each so I got 1600 pesos for this dinner. While we were there the waiter kept pressuring us to buy a bottle of wine and get more food. I told him we had 1600 pesos to spend and he kept pushing then acting annoyed when we wouldn't go over 1600 pesos. We were embarrassed and felt unwelcome. We did use the beach access area twice during our stay. The first time it was really good. A nice bed under a beach umbrella right on the beach, we got served drinks and popsicles. The second time we went it was too crowded. There were no chairs left on the beach area. If I wanted to fight for chairs I would have gone to the regular beach area and not spend the extra money. So we didn't go back and I would say it wasn't worth it. Although the food was delicious. The resort is really big and we liked the walk, but if you don't like to walk perhaps book a smaller resort. We attended 2 evening shows the Horror show and the 70s & 80s shows. Both were really fun and the dancers are excellent. Make sure you get there early to get good seats though. The bar service was good and we loved drinking the Blue Hawaii's and Mango Tangos. We were very happy with our trip and now consider a swim out pool a must on future vacations. We usually like to try different resorts but we would consider returning here.

    Waste of my yearly holiday

    Reviewed by Dazzer883() on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    We have just got back today from this holiday having stayed there for 2 weeks because this was for are 5th wedding anniversary because we got married on the beach there. Well the beach has so much rooting seaweed on it in the water waiting to come in and it smells like rotten eggs . We were not told . This has been a real problem for the last 4 years and they even had the cheek to charge us a beach tax at the end of our stay . But don't take my word for it look on the net for yourself . The hotel itself is looking tired people are putting towels out on any shaded area and this happens in the early hours of the morning. People are leaving there food everywhere the local wild life are eating it . I could go on and on . Take my advice don't go to this hotel or Mexico if you want a beach holiday

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-2

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-3

    Ruined vacation by incompetent staff

    Reviewed by Daboko() on Jul 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    After booking one week, we decided to add three more days, thus ending up with two reservations. Upon checkin we stressed the fact and received reassurance that we will be staying in the same room for a total of ten days. On the third day we received a notification that we needed to leave the room by noon and place the luggage in a storage room until another check-in for our second reservation after 3 pm. We contacted the front desk Manager Mr. Porfirio in order to avoid the check-out and check-in, which was going to to waste an entire day. He was rude and did not even want to listen to us. He arrogantly told us that “this was it”. Besides this, we noted that the culture in the resort was quite different than any other resort that we have visited over the past 10 years in Mexico. Most of the staff at Grand Princess were rude and showed little interest in their job. Even after receiving a good tip. A vivid example is a barkeeper who we asked to give us 4 drinks, two for us and two for another couple that was waiting at the table. He said: “First drink these two, and then I will give you another two”! This happened at the bar outside of the Fondue restaurant. The resort is huge and very little attention is paid to the details such as attitude, respect, and customer satisfaction. On the second day of our stay we purchased a membership with the company that owns this and many other all-inclusive resorts. The above described disappointments made us to cancel the contract 24 hours later. We were issued an official cancelation letter, stating that the Dollar amount we had paid was going to be refunded after two weeks. To our surprise, they kept collecting the premiums. This prompted us to cancel the credit card. We advise against using this resort.

    Platinum visit

    Reviewed by samanthapL2882TJ() on Jul 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My husband, brother, and my brother’s girlfriend visited for 6 days and had a great time. We all stayed in platinum so we had a private platinum pool, bar with a small snack area on the bar, and lobby where we could go get fresh towels daily. The platinum building was right by the buffet for breakfast and you could look out to the main pool in the morning while eating. Our room also had two jacuzzi tubs and we weren’t aware of that until we checked in. There is one in the bathroom, and one on the balcony and we were provided bath salts for the tub. Our room overlooked the platinum pool, and my brother’s room was a bit more private and overlooked nothing but trees. I recommend the platinum rooms because we had a platinum area on the beach that had nicer lounge chairs with canopy’s as well as drink service in that area. There was also a drink service by the platinum pool that we enjoyed when we wanted to get away from the main pool. The platinum area also had room service included that we used one night because we accidentally enjoyed the swim up bar too much and missed dinner and did not want to head to the buffet. The platinum area is also right by the main pool, and also the beach. If you head out the back area of platinum and cross the bridge you are right on the beach and right by the platinum zone on the beach which is roped off. The bridge was also filled with monkeys one morning who happily took any fruit you had with you out of your hand. The resort also has tons of Coatis who can be seen by the pool, in the grass, and diving into garbage to look for food. The food could have been better over all, but for what we paid I’m not upset about it. The breakfast buffet was nice with lots of fruit among eggs, potatoes and other items. The sit down restaurants lacked slightly. One night we went to the buffet after dinner because the men were just not impressed and still hungry. The Chill out Zone was not included but was worth it. The food there was the best at the resort, plus it was outside eating by the water. It is a la carte, but for my husband and myself we only spent around $115 for dinner, drinks, dessert and tip so the prices are very fair. The grill by the pool for lunch was also good and easy to just walk up to while coming out of the pool. It was just poolside tacos daily which was simple but they changed the tacos daily. I was surprised to see so many iffy reviews before we went it made me slightly nervous. We didn’t experience any negatives while there. I saw a lot of negative remarks about seaweed, but it’s a beach. Seaweed will be there and while it was a bit much, there was an effort being made to clean it. We enjoyed our trip and would book again. The hotel grounds are very well kept and are beautiful. We will be visiting Punta Cana Princess Resort next.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX