Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    R

    Good value

    Reviewed by Rick on Aug 10, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Will be going back loved it

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4003 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Lovely holiday

    Reviewed by C3890ICsophiec(London, United Kingdom) on Aug 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Just coming to the end of two lovely weeks at this resort. The rooms are basic and dated, also in need of a refurb . That said the rooms are cleaned daily. As standard bath towels are changed daily unless otherwise indicated, more towels available on request. Down side: the room smelt strongly of sewers /drains at times which really was disgusting! We did complain and things temporarily improved. That said we were hardly ever in the room so it wasn’t a major problem, smell less evident at night. Plus side : our room (1215 )backed into the ocean. The views were breath taking. Pool: clean, although if you want a seat around the pool, get up at the crack of dawn to bagsy a space ! Food : Just ok ! Nothing to write home about .. but nothing special either! Entertainment : mediocre Gym : amazing, faces on to the beach. Which is just fantastic. Lots of running machines ect. Loads of free weights too. I can’t speak highly enough about the gym. Beach’s - Eagle beach is really close by (even closer if you get the shuttle to the Divi and walk the rest ) If you can go to barefoot restaurant, amazing experience go before sun set and you won’t be disappointed ! Fusion is incredible too. Food was excellent . All in all a lovely holiday and I’d come back again.

    8 carefree nights. Worth every Penny. (Review covers Divi and Tamarijn All Inclusive.)

    Reviewed by Bob Q(Brooklyn, New York) on Aug 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The Divi & Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive Pros and Cons We just returned from an 8 night stay. There were eleven of us, 6 adults and five kids 10 and under. We had two rooms at Divi and one at Tamarijn. If you are not familiar with this resort, both properties are separated by a quarter mile stretch of the most beautiful beach anywhere. Your stay at one entitles you to all use the beach and facilities of the other. So, if you don’t like the beach in front of your room, take a short walk or take a shuttle and find an area of the beach you like. The same goes for pools and restaurants. (some people have complained on this site that the beach is rocky. That is true of about 10% of the beach, especially in front of Tamarijn. So, look to your right or left and you will find a beautiful stretch of beach suitable to your taste.) The Rooms: If you are looking for a view of the beach, all of the rooms at Tamarijn will please you. Divi is a little more challenging. The Casita rooms at Divi , with the exception of a few rooms there, do not face the beach but are ground level, garden apartment rooms that are On The Beach, literally. I recommend the Casita rooms. Vista l and Vista ll buildings at Divi remind me of apartment buildings and should be avoided if you want a beach view. I do not recommend the Vista Rooms. The Veranda Rooms are not on the beach but overlook a nice pool area and are a short short walk to the beach. One of our rooms was a ground level Veranda room and was very nice indeed. You generally cannot pick a room when making a reservation. However, one of our group was assigned to a Vista room. After speaking to two levels of management and being told for over an hour that the hotel was sold out, they finally moved them to a really nice Veranda Room. So the message is, if you don’t like your assigned room, do not unpack. Do not settle for the possibility of a better room tomorrow. Stick to your guns, be polite but persistent. (Message to management: don’t mess with people who have traveled all day and want what they paid for.) The rooms we had were clean and comfortable. But this resort is not about the rooms. So, don’t expect luxury. The Wifi: Coverage is pretty good but could be spotty depending upon where you are and the time of day. The Beach: Drop dead gorgeous. The Pools: We spent most of the afternoon in the pool at the Veranda Rooms. The pools were great but could become crowded from time to time. The Weather: A constant breeze cools you off most of the day. Breeze could gust to wind but is still a blessing. Mid-day is extremely hot as would be expected. Cloudless sky most of the time. The Food: The adults in my party are all foodies. We know good food when we have it. Same goes for good service. The buffet food was excellent. The usual breakfast foods are available. Lunch and Dinner at the buffet are excellent as well. The specialty restaurants were very good as well. Service at the Red Parrot was as good as it gets anywhere (and I have been anywhere). Edger, our server on two nights at the Red Parrot, was an expert at pleasing us. (Tip- there are separate shrimp and steak entrees on the menu. Ask for them to be combined into a surf and turf. Both the seafood and beef here are excellent.) The Pure Lime is a good Mexican Food restaurant with excellent service. We ate at the Sandpiper on the beach one night. It offered Steaks, chicken and fish grilled on the beach. Food was excellent and the beach experience was fun. Ginger is an Asian affair and was OK but nothing to write home about. Paparazzi, the Italian attempt, should be avoided. Very Important***** you need to get your reservation at the Concierge. First come etc. People line up before 8 AM to get their dinner reservations for two nights in advance. Problem is, the same person making the dinner reservations, which takes seconds, is also booking excursions which takes forever. MANAGEMENT NEEDS TO STAFF THIS POSITION. A DEDICATED RESTAURANT RESERVATIONIST SHOULD BE ON DUTY A COUPLE OF HOURS IN THE MORNING. MANAGEMENT WOULD MAKE A LOT OF PEOPLE HAPPY BY MAKING THIS CHANGE. THEN WE COULD BE “One happy Island”. The Snacks: You can’t be hungry here. Pizza, sandwiches, pasta carbonara, hot dogs. The Sandpiper is a great place to snack and drink on the beach. If you are lucky, Curtis will be on duty at the bar. There are other locations that serve snacks constantly. The Drinks: All day, all night and just about everywhere. Go out of your way to visit the Bunker Bar at Tamarijn. Curtis at the Sandpiper is a national treasure. All of the bars are staffed by pleasant people. The local beer is Balashi and very refreshing. Drinks are not served very strong (and thank goodness for that) however, if you want something extra, just ask for it. Lots of main-stream brands are available such as Dewars and others. The Staff: Pleasent, accommodating, responsive. But also busy and hard working. So when it is crowded at the bar, be patient. These are nice people and a pleasure to be around. The front desk was very responsive to our needs during the week. The Bellman and housekeeping staff were pleasant as well. Tipping: No one is required to tip. My policy it to tip when good service is given. That being said, I tipped the restaurant, including the buffet, and bar staff whenever I was served. The bar is tricky because my bathing suit didn’t accommodate cash and because I wore the bartenders out (frequent flier) I also tipped our housekeeper. I only withheld a mealtime tip once for poor service. The Shuttles: If you go back and forth between the two properties or the Casino, you might come to rely on the Shuttle Service. We walked back and forth most of the time because the shuttles were usually bunched up on one end or the other. The drivers were always courteous. MANAGEMENT NEEDS TO DISPATCH THESE SHUTTLES SO THAT RELIABLE SERVICE IS AVAILABLE. Or you can just walk. The Entertainment: Local dance and Folk groups entertain in the evening and are just delightful. Bands come in as well and for the most part have been professional and entertaining. Lots of dance under the stars opportunity. Oranjestad: Nearby Oranjestad is nice. Just nice. Ride the Trolly for free. Shop around for a t-shirt. Have a beer or lunch at The Paddock. Get back to the beach as fast as you can. (The town is safe but not very interesting to me. You decide.) A WORD OF ADVICE TO MANAGEMENT: One of our kids experienced a minor injury, a cut on the foot. Your restaurant and security staff were very responsive but that was as far as it got. Once on the scene, it was evident that the security staff were not trained in basic first aid. On top of that, they carried a first aid bag that looked professional but they had no bandages or gauze to stop the bleeding. The bag was almost empty. One of them had to go back to the office to get a bandaid. That took about 45 minutes. Everything worked out well. Management, if you are reading this, take the time to train your staff in first aid and have STOCKED first aid kits available for your staff to use at all of your restaurants and bars. There are no cons about this place. If you are considering a vacation in Aruba, Divi & Tamarijn All Inclusives are a good place to spend your money. The high-rise area of the island is on the same beach a mile or so away but because of the congestion there (expensive high-rise hotels on a limited beach area) the beach experience there is just not that great.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Amazing vacation

    Reviewed by Todd6612(Port Byron, New York) on Aug 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Nice hotel. Amazing beach access. The beach was directly off our patio. Food was decent for AI and lots of choices. Evening entertainment every night was great. Check in and check was very easy and quick. Would stay again.

    Paradise

    Reviewed by derekcrewe(Crewe, United Kingdom) on Aug 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Yet again after 7 visits it's still a wonderful place to go. We could live there and be happy. The hotel room was in block 19 right on the beach. The sand came upto the patio. Food as usual varied and good . Staff friendly we used the other restaurants on site to including the Divi. The casino was fun to go to. All in all another 4.5 star visit rooms upgraded. Water ok to drink and drinks flowing. Champagne for breakfast if you wanted... lots of choice with sports to do. Rock wall kayaking etc.

    Paradise

    Reviewed by bowjoLlanelli(llanelli) on Aug 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Stayed for 2 weeks, yes the rooms are dated, but very clean, comfy bed and plenty of hot water and the balcony railings need painting, but the view is spectacular. Checking in on the bus was great so we could go straight to the room, where our bags were delivered almost immediately. Plenty of choice to eat, booking for the speciality restaurants was first come first served so get in early, we had no problems, the Italian was particularly good. Read here that the staff are rude, but I found them brilliant, especially Edwin, Bernadette and Anthony, I suppose it’s how you speak to them, noticed some people were rude to them. Pool table, table tennis, quoits and giant shuffle kept the grandchildren happy when they had enough sun and pool there was also giant chess. Tried the kayaking which was fun. Didn’t watch much entertainment as we met some new friends, and spent time with them. Drinks were top shelf, don’t get that everywhere, try the local beer, it was lovely. Submarine trip well worth the money, and the shuttle bus around the resort was priceless. Taxis are about 10 dollars to go into Oranjestad. Really didn’t want to come home, will definitely return one day.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX