Waves Hotel & Spa

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    C

    Loved it!

    Reviewed by CathyO on Oct 26, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: August 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    We loved this hotel and will be going back! its a larger boutique hotel with great restaurants. The food was delicious and a very good selection. Small beach but the water was lovely. We found the spa side of the resort is tropical and relaxing but we like to be on the beach. Our room had a contemporary feel with all the necessities. The location is good, we were able to explore the area and try other beaches very easily and even not too far from some shopping.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 568 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    FOOD LOVING SUN WORSHIPERS MUST COME HERE!!!

    Reviewed by Kingmolo(Lancashire) on May 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The food here is to die for. They cater for all diets and tastes and every meal is well thought out and presented beautifully. The hotel is SPOTLESS! THE BEST BITS: the hotel is situated on the beach. It isn't a large beach but the water is aqua, the sand is white and the sun loungers are very comfortable indeed with their thick mattresses. Staff wait on you all day. They even come around at really hot times and offer you ice cold cloths to refresh with or spray you with peppermint spray. Lovely. They bring drinks all day, snacks and ice cream. The sea is very safe and VERY nice for swimming. If you prefer the pool to the beach, then that is also nice across the road. Very tranquil and relaxing set within nicely manicured gardens. A man even comes around during the day to brush sand off your towels if you are beach side!! The staff are amazing here. It's all .... "you're most welcome" and "please let me know if i can help you further". Food is devine and plentiful. Buffet for breakfast and lunch with dinner being chosen from a varied menu in two restaurants, one being chinese/asian. Throughout the day there is cafe style dining in the air conditioned Kyma just off reception. Everything is spotlessly clean. The safe in the room is large and it's included in the price. The air con is powerful and keeps your room really cool 24/7 if you wish. You are in control. There is a gym which is pretty well stocked and here you'll enjoy fresh towels, water, fruit, tv etc. OMG the cocktails are amazing....... simple recipes yet so refreshing and you can have those cocktails with or without the alcohol if you prefer. You are on the best side of the island, only 20 mins from both Bridgetown and Sandy Lane by bus...... visit both for very different cultural and shopping experiences...... Bridgetown offers typical Bajan goods, cheaper clothing stores and basic culture of the island whereas Limegrove near to the famous and plush Sandy Lane area offers high end designer shopping and millionaire culture. Don't forget your credit card for Limegrove......... you're gonna need it. You can use the partner hotels. Be sure to check which ones are also all inclusive because you have to pay at those which are not.........otherwise you can eat and drink for no charge using the card you are given on arrival. A free boat taxi runs regularly between several hotels. Water sports are included. This includes being towed on rubber rings behind a power boat.......hilarious!! Snorkels etc all there for you. We had a large turtle in our swimming area for several days. She just hung around there, delighting us all and swimming so near we could touch her ...... (we did not as this might have scared her but she was very very lovely). Fantastic. This hotel offers peaceful relaxation during the day and fine dining and great atmosphere. If you prefer loud party nights or lively entertainment then it may not be for you. YOU WON'T NEED: beach towels, hairdryer (room has a powerful one), kettle, soap, handcream, tea or coffee for room, iron as all are provided. Shower gel, shampoo and conditioner are also provided however I found that the hair products didn't work for me. OTHER: Whilst on one side of the main hotel building you have the beach, on the other, you have a very busy main road. One half of the hotel is across that road. Its busy and the traffic noise was a tad annoying but at night, thankfully, it is much less busy during the night and it did not disturb us through the night but forget having a lazy relaxing lie in in the morning........this road is the main road into the captial and it will keep you awake from about 6.45am. If you can afford the additional cost to have a seaside room, then that would be the better option. Try the Mahi Mahi fish........ like eating fillet steak. Delicious. We had been given complimentary Spa passes and we each had a massage.. this was absolutely brilliant. So relaxing and very informative. Walk along the beach to the right and see a gorgeous little church spilling out it's congregation on Sunday morning, all dressed in their finest clothing. Special to see such togetherness amongst the community.......such a beautiful culture and such lovely people. Christine from Kyma, you are a wonderful and beautiful lady and we send our thanks for the perfect service you provide to your guests. Our Americano coffees with skimmed milk were such a treat in the cool air conditioned bistro. If you were living near to us, we are sure you would be a great friend. Daron, you are a very thoughtful and kind man...........thank you for the card! BEWARE: trees with red bands around the trunk or red signs are poisonous!!! Don't touch them or shelter from rain under them because they will cause burns to your skin. Happy to answer questions if you need to ask and if you found this review to be helpful, please click on the icon to let me know. Quick Tips: choose Waves Hotel rather than Crystal Cove; choose a seaside room; bring high factor sunscreen; forget the diet, you are on holiday and the food is fantastic; leave the stress at home, this place is very relaxing; come for two weeks not just one; snorkel as the fish are amazing; ride the yellow buses........ live a little. X

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Hidden Gem

    Reviewed by Holidayreviewer657() on May 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Stayed at Waves for our honeymoon. A wonderful experience from start to finish. Customer Service was by far the best I have ever experienced. Staff were friendly and accommodating and couldn’t do enough for you. A special mention to Mark the barman and Christine who both were both shining stars. During our stay we encountered a problem with our shower and as a result we were given a new room. We received an upgrade and complimentary drinks in the room. The service recovery was above and beyond anything previously experienced. For an all inclusive restaurant the food was exquisite. Plenty of choice and presentation was second to none. Quality of food was also excellent. We stayed in an oceanfront room which was serviced to the highest standards. We would like to congratulate Kim and her team for running an outstanding stay that we will never forget and for making our honeymoon so special. We would have no hesitation in returning to this wonderful hotel. Thank you.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    April Wedding

    Reviewed by Tlefort1() on May 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I cannot thank Kim, Ryan and staff enough for hosting my daughter’s wedding. It was the largest wedding they have hosted to date. Everything was perfect and so beautiful. Having 40 guests attend from around the world is not an easy feat. I have now spoken to all the guests, no one had even one minor complaint. In fact everyone commented that it was one of if not the best resort they have ever been to. Anything that wasn’t exactly perfect was corrected right away. Special thank you to a number of the staff who were so kind- Christine, Tamika, Veronica, Jackie, Jennifer, Olivia, Jamar, all the spa staff, bartenders, housekeeping staff, waitresses, beach and pool ambassadors- you made our week. A number of us travel extensively and many of us travel frequently to Barbados. This is a first class resort with first class amenities and a feeling that you are part of the family. We will be back!

    This should be the flagship!!!

    Reviewed by Kim A(London, United Kingdom) on May 01, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This is by far the most luxurious, fabulously maintained and the best team I’ve ever had an experience in. Testament to the General Manager Kim and every area to include the spa team for making our holiday amazing. Nothing is too much trouble, they have such pride in how they do things and the warmth from the staff was really felt. We had a room change, an upgrade with a sea view, a menu that changed daily, wonderful cocktails, great service even on the beach and lots of space to relax. The high class food at Seascape and Shiso restaurants was delicious and the standards were impeccable. We visited Barbados for a friends wedding and were extremely fortunate and blessed to stay at Waves. Highly recommended ????????????

    Simply Outstanding

    Reviewed by Martin N() on Apr 29, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Where to start really?? - essentially if you are going to Barbados to enjoy the West coast in an amazing setting and be truly looked after then you have to stay at Waves. The hotel is lovely. Rooms spacious, a fitness room, a spa with treatments if your booking includes them, a small pool, a big pool, a lovely coffee shop on site, 2 restaurants one of which is Asian fusion serving great food, water sports including kayaking and water skiing and there is more. The staff. They are without shadow of a doubt the best I’ve come across. So helpful, friendly, good conversation and hard working. They are a credit to the hotel. Stay here and you will not be disappointed. Amazing.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX