The Kapalua Villas Maui

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    N

    Extremely disappointed with the false advertising on this resort!

    Reviewed by Nancy on Jul 17, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: July 2017

    Trip Type: Honeymoon

    The 1 bedroom gold villa was nice and conveniently located near a beach but, the amenities are not what was advertised. In the advertisements, it says the resort included a spa but, after checking with the concierge we find out that the spa was sold two years ago and Kapalua guests do not have access to it with our daily resort fee. To have access, we would need to purchase a day pass or spa treatments. Even though their hotel guide book says the $25 daily resort fee includes access to the Kapalua spa, which they don't even have anymore. We are extremely disappointed by the false advertising and having to pay a resort fee which only provides priority tee time for golfers and we don't golf. Definitely will never come back. I despise lies, especially at a resort where we've paid a lot to come here. And we are on our honeymoon. Writing this review just got me angry again.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    P

    so beyond our expectations.

    Reviewed by Pauline on Feb 11, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    Just returned from a FABULOUS one week stay at the Kapulua Villas. the villa was fully equipped - down to the steak knives, laundry detergent, garbage bags, etc. beds were super comfy. so clean and updated. everything was top notch...can't say enough good things. Free hotel shuttle was available within 5 minutes to take us to the beach, to golf, to the general store. the golf course was amazing with beautiful views and the 5th hole was so cool...driving over the cliffs and oceans. snorkeling was great too, lots of fish, 3-4 sea turtles, coral, puffer fish. swam at the beach every day...didn't even notice the pool. we arrived super late - midnight and the hotel sent a security escort to show us to the villa.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 1063 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    the place smelled like wet towel

    Reviewed by anavidtraveler2019() on Aug 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Driving to the villas at night is very to a first timer like me. You go through this tall pine trees on both sides and you never really know where you're going. It can definitely use road lights. The place is located in a golf course which is beautiful in the morning but again scary at night because it lacks lights in all areas, especially the road and even the pool can use lights. We stayed in 11T4, as you enter, it has this smelly wet towel smell which i don't know if it was mold or the condenser of the aC was not working. When you're on vacation, you find a place that you can really relax and enjoy being on vacation, this was not one of them. I hated going home to it every night because i know the smell would be the one welcoming me. I won't go back to stay there again for sure.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-1

    Service

    Service-3

    Pradeep S review

    Reviewed by Pradeep S(Washington DC, District of Columbia) on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Stayed at the Kapalua Villas in Maui during Christmas season last year 2018. We stayed in a 1 BDR villa with Oceanfront view. Turned out to be one of our best vacations. The Oceanfront gold villas are really worth paying extra for the Ocean view. Morning and evening views of the Pacific Ocean was grand and worth every extra penny we paid for. Overall, we were very happy with the villa, the serene beauty of the ocean and Kapalua property. Only downside is, Restaurants are not next door. Will need a bit of walking about half mile to get to restaurants. Also, did not see a Gym on the property that was next door. Maybe it is there somewhere in the property.

    Beauty but a Beast

    Reviewed by Paper f() on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    I actually hate to give this "hotel" a poor rating. I'd love to give it a great review for the view alone, but sadly this beauty is also a bit of a beast. The good: It does have beautiful spacious rooms and glorious ocean views. It's location was gorgeous, and the condo was fully stocked with everything you could need in the kitchen and bathrooms. The washer and dryer were such nice perks, and some of the staff was friendly and helpful. The bad: The room was not clean when we arrived. Melted icecream was seeping from beneath the refrigerator, the floors we're sticky, there were dead roaches under furniture and dirty underwear in the bathroom. When I asked someone to come clean, they said it would cost 200 dollars, and said "We are not a hotel" even though they list themselves as such online. We knew they weren't a hotel going in, but did expect some service, including a clean room to start with. When I asked if they could at least bring me some cleaning supplies, they told me I would need to purchase them myself. They also advertise photos of pools that we didn't have access too. You only have access to 2 pools, and they are relatively small, although clean and nice. The staff is mixed as far as service. Some people were kind and helpful while others were dismissive and cold. We accidentally locked ourselves out upon departure, leaving our phones and luggage in the room. I found a good samaritan to let me use his phone to call the front desk, but no one answered, then when someone finally answered, they told me it wasn't their job. They keep strange hours, and pass the buck a lot. Then finally a grounds worker came along, but chastised us for not being out of our room by 11! We told him we tried, but our stuff is still inside! He made no eye contact, opened the door and left without a word. The ugly: A giant scorpion creeped out from under our children's bed one night while watching a movie...try putting a 5 year old to bed after that. Roaches made several guest appearances and to top it all off, a RAT, came creeping into the room from the balcony one night. The pest problem is a big problem. Definitely keep your doors shut! Overall our stay was amazing. But this place relies heavily on the natural beauty and location to save it, and lacks hospitality in every sense of the word.

    Panoramic views

    Reviewed by davidedwardscafc(Rochester, United Kingdom) on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We stayed on the ridge in villa 2014. This was a 2 bed Ocean Gold view. The 180 degree view from the living room balcony was awesome. The villa was comfortable with good beds. Some of the fittings were a little worn e.g. Kitchen, carpets are in need of refurbishment. The management of the villas is a little laid back and the villa could do with an information book that gives a listing of what is available as part of the rental. Maintenance when needed was prompt and effective. The grounds and pools are immaculate. The nearby beaches offer good swimming and snorkelling. Restaurants on the site are expensive in comparison to others on the island. Overall the main attraction of this villa was location.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-5

    2 bedroom gold golf villa - great for family

    Reviewed by name_racho(St. George, Utah) on Aug 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The room was a 2-bedroom fairway view gold villa. We had an amazing view albeit it was not an oceanfront property. Our room had a back porch with a gorgeous view however. The villa contained 2 bedrooms, 2 baths (both with a bathtub), a private entrance, a king bed, a queen sofa bed, and 2 twin beds. There was plenty of closet space, the main closet contained a vacuum, games, and books for our use. Each room had a tv with directv and free Wi-Fi. We had our own parking space and custom keypad entry so you don’t have to worry about finding a card key. The kitchen had a dishwasher, oven, full fridge, microwave, and any amenities you would need to cook. There is a full dining table with 4 chairs and 2 barstools at the counter. Also there was a table and 4 chairs plus 2 lounge chairs on the back porch. We were relatively close to one of the 5 pools on the kapalua bay property that had 2 bbqs for use though we did not use these during our stay. They offered a shuttle service to kapalua area restaurants and beaches but we did not use this service either. We were located right on kapalua golf course which is a 10 min walk to kapalua bay beach, a local beach with good snorkeling but only basic services like a public restroom and no lifeguard on duty. Nearby is also a great shopping center in Napili which includes a snorkel rental place and a grocery store with gluten free food options (for you celiacs). Lahaina is only 15 min drive away and we felt this was a decent distance to the activities we attended such as the royal Lahaina luau and visiting black rock beach. Keep in mind this location is also 45 min drive from Kahului airport, but it’s a beautiful drive along the outside of the island overlooking the ocean and you don’t notice the length. By the way, I read multiple reviews about the cockroaches so I was on the look out. I made sure to keep all food closed using ziplocks or within the fridge and took the trash out every night. I only saw 2 centipedes that were near door entrances and they were dead when we found them. Remember this is a tropical environment so there is bound to be some bugs but honestly this was never an issue for us. All in all, this was the perfect location for our family of 5.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX