VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    R

    We didn't like to be there at all !

    Reviewed by Romana on Aug 10, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: July 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    They are stole from my room my lolulemon leggings first time second time stole from my husband thermos bottle and socks and didn't do nothing about that when we report them,I will never come back there again!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    M

    Concierge, bell men, and Juan were wonderful. A truely enjoyable holiday. We recommend the quiet residence and pool there.

    Reviewed by Michelle on Mar 17, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    We spent 2 weeks at the VH Gran Ventana and had a relaxing holiday. I would definitely go back. We met so many repeaters visitors there.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    F

    Fantastic!

    Reviewed by Fe on Sep 30, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: September 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    We went back there for my son's birthday on Sept, 2016. It was even better than the last lime we were there in May, 2015. The place was renovated. The entertainment was improved. I loved the nightly display of bright costumes of the dancers. The pool exercises, the food, the rooms, the staff were all fantastic. We even went to the Paradise Island this time. What a wonderful experience it was! We are planning to go back this January.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    Loved our stay!! would go back in a heartbeat!

    Reviewed by Sandy on Feb 08, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2016

    Trip Type: Friends

    This was a fantastic place! I always said I didn't think I would go back to the same resort twice but I definitely would go back here. People were great, food was great and the a la carte's were fabulous. The Italian a la carte is a definite must!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    M

    Very good time for the dollar value

    Reviewed by Mark and Karen on Jan 08, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    We enjoyed our stay here.. The A la carts were great, and the buffet was average. The buffet did have a lot of repetition, but they have some healthier food choices and good salad bar which we liked. The animation team always had something on the go and were very friendly. Our rep. super Juio, was great... he was wonderful to deal with. We did the VIP Paradise Island trip and was a day to remember - the staff was top notch and we had a blast!!! The beach was nice, but not always calm. There were lots of merchants on the beach that we found very annoying, even when trying to relax. Juan is the BEST bartender - order once and he remembers - always a smile!!! Maid service for rooms was great - no complaints there. Overall, we had a good time and would recommend it and return ourselves.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    P

    Never a Dissappointment.

    Reviewed by Papa Stan and Mama Carol on Mar 19, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    This was our 5th time to the Gran Ventana. What keeps us going back is the Wonderful People. The cleanliness of the hotel and the Great food. It was a little different this year with the new services that were offered for more money but I did not see a whole lot of people really going for the extras. The Fidelity Club supper at the quiet pool was absolutely excellent. Blondy, Carlos,Shorty,Delphi, Chupi Chupi,Cocoa and Allan. Chakalaka who is no longer there. So glad we were part of your last evening there. Miss you all and the resort is very lucky to have wonderful entertainers as yourself. Hugs to all of you. Franklin and Louis who are great Bar tenders at the pool. Wally, Awesome waiter. And Our dear Friend Franchesca who is now waitressing. The Lion King show was Really Really good. We had the opportunity to be judges for the Grammies. I have not laughed that hard in ages. Chupi and Delphi as Women. Hilarious. As to whether we are going back ? Good chance.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6510 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Some interesting observations

    Reviewed by CocoCaraemel() on Aug 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    The resort overall is pretty nice and friendly, we appreciated the hard working staffs at front desk, restaurants and room services. The resort is little small, good to walk around to the beach and places within the resort. however the cons are we have much less choices on restaurant and food. Comparing to other DR resort we have visited, the staff (may be the management) made it hard to book a restaurant. Often tells you it was fully booked or can't book more than three nights at a time etc. When we actually went, it didn't have many people. Maybe because of low season, they only open one restaurant a day for dinner. Both restaurants and buffet food are at salty side. So food side, we are not satisfied at all. The other big complaint is wifi. The free wifi doesn't really work at all so we paid $35 a week upgrade. It barely works either and only one device can be online at a time. We had to open up our own data. This might be non-essential to many people, but it tells that management need more attention to paid services. Other than that, we had great time going to many excursions - ocean world, zipline, monkey land and snorkeling....

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-3

    absolutelly the best place in town !!

    Reviewed by wolfman1969(Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada) on Aug 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    this was our 2nd visit at Gran Ventana, Last year we went 1 week, we loved it.. This year we went for 2 weeks... simply the best vacation we had. At our arrival, our trip company agent was there to welcome us. took care of us. Our room was simply great. Always clean. They were even coming twice a day to change used towels. Since it was a 2nd trip, we were invited to a special cocktail party, recognition party. it was really appreciated, as an attention to us. at our arrival in our room, a welcome back band was at our door, a fruit basket was in our room, another sweet and attentionate gesture towards our return. Buffet is really amazingly good... soups are always new each lunch, each supper. Supper buffet changes everyday, few days per week, there are themes in the supper buffet.. fishes are really good, lots of different seafoods dishes... we liked so much the buffet that in our 2nd week, we just cancelled our 'a la carte' resto supper, to have it in the buffet. Servers are very attentionnate. Morning and noon team are very attentionate, it takes them only 2 days to figure our habbits, and receives us with warm welcomes. Animation is excellent, activities starts at 10h30 until noon, then at 3h30 pm until 5h30.. Luis, Lola, Giovanni are really enthousiatic, they love their job and it shows, they are really good at animating all activities.. there are activities for kids as well, they are well taking care of,. some activities made just for them, evening shows starts with a kids shows... it is really a nice family place as well.. if you like wind, that is the place to go, beach is wide, there is lots of parapas.. we noever had to search for chairs.. i will go back again next year if possible, i just simply adopted the place.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Great Vacation

    Reviewed by Nikki102884() on Aug 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We had an amazing time on our family vacation. The staff was so friendly and became like family to us. The hospitality is above and beyond!! The entertainment was great always had something going on. It got my husband and I to step out our element which is a great thing!!

    great stay

    Reviewed by jguevarra() on Aug 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Our stay was great.All staff were very kind & helpful.The housekeeping does a good job on cleaning our room everyday.The food was good.We did 2 excursions ( city tour & damajagua waterfalls ) its was awesome.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Warning

    Reviewed by Romy359953() on Aug 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    I wanna warn people that they shouldn’t bring expensive stuff with them. I recommend buying a lock and locking the suitcase because they stole from us twice in two weeks. This is the first time something like this happened to us, and we were at a lot of resorts. Don’t recommend and will never come back there.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX