St. James's Club & Villas Antigua

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    S

    Would stay elsewhere next time

    Reviewed by Sarah on Feb 15, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    We enjoyed the island but would stay elsewhere next time. Our flights to and from Antigua had very friendly crews. We left late from Antigua but they were able to make up the time in the air. Pick-ups to and from the airport were on time. I would highly recommend bringing Gravol with you to Antigua as the roads are quite windy and the drivers are very aggressive. Our problems first arose at check-in. We were expecting the King bed we booked. We walked into our room to find two double beds. Upon questioning this, the staff feigned ignorance and stated WestJet never communicated the information. We were told we would be placed on a wait list to get a King bed as they had run out. The following day we were asked to email them a copy of our itinerary from WestJet that stated our room arrangements. We did that but we still never got transferred to a room with a King bed. Rather disappointing. The room itself was also not up to the standard you would expect in Canada. It required some maintenance. The food at the resort was good which was a nice find as some reviews stated the opposite. It does take some effort to discover which restaurants are best for which meal. The staff at Coco's are by far the most pleasant and friendly. The water sports available at the resort were great. The staff were fantastic and always willing to teach you how to use the equipment. The two beaches were also well kept and gave you two nice options: one always having a cool breeze and the other having a great swimming area. We took two catamaran day trips: one to Barbuda and one around Antigua. They were great. Our other disappointment was that on the last full day at the resort my suitcase was went through. A pair of pants were taken but all our valuables were in the safe. The disappointing part was that security did not seem to care and brushed me off. After that incident, we would never stay at an Elite resort again. Antigua was nice but we would stay elsewhere.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    R

    Very friendly staff

    Reviewed by Romanie on Jun 20, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    The staff here are wonderful, they make the place warm and inviting and run smoothly. The main pool is close to everything and has a bar. The room was a nice size with a large bathroom. There is a number of activities to do at the beach. I would go back to this hotel again.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    B

    I enjoyed this property and would definitely recommend.

    Reviewed by Barb on Jun 19, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    Enjoyed my stay. Property located on a well maintained 110 acre site. Rooms are bright and clean. Staff members are great and very helpfull. No bracelets to identify guests, use room numbers. Lots of activities to choose from. Many options for dining. Really enjoyed the Italian restaurant even though there is a surcharge that applies. Pool areas are great. Unfortunately the beach is a little disappointing I would recommend this property for families with young children and or teens as they do have a children and teens club. Couples would enjoy this property as well.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    D

    Amazing Staff!

    Reviewed by DH on Jun 19, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    I enjoyed my stay at the St James club. The staff is always willing to assist when needed, The rooms are quite spacious. The views from the rooms is great. They had live music playing in the evening on some of the nights. Right from check in to check out they make sure your stay is welcoming and enjoyable. Would stay there again.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    K

    Loved our stay!

    Reviewed by KR on Jun 18, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    The St Jame's Club is a wonderful gem surrounded by the Atlanitic Ocean on one side and the Caribbean Sea on the other.The staff are very genuine and engaging. Good dining options particularly the Piccolo speciality restaurant. There is a $35UD supplement but well worth the experience. The food and service were excellent! The property is farily large, requiring lots of walking. unless your room was close to the main lobby. The Caribbean beach was much nicer with calmer water than the windy Atlantic beach. This is a solid 4* resort. It would be an excellent option for couples, familiies and friends. Very relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff and good food.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    K

    Lovely Resort on Antigua!

    Reviewed by Kim on Jun 16, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    This is a lovely resort on the island of Antigua. The rooms are spacious with large balconies. Loved that they had 2 sinks in the bathroom! The pool was very large with lots of seating. It was close to the restaurant so you didn't have to walk very far. The beaches were very nice and the Italian restaurant was amazing! I would highly recommend it. The downfall to this area is there are lots of stairs or hills to walk up. It does not have an elevator but if you wanted to stay around the pool and restaurant area, it is easily accessible. It was a clean hotel and the staff were friendly. I would definitely stay there again!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    Fantastic Hotel

    Reviewed by Lisa on Jun 13, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    Everything was fantastic at this hotel!! We traveled as a large group and had a blast. The entire staff were awesome, friendly and always helpful. The food was great, location was great, the rooms were large and cleaned every day with a number of staff around to help. The people here are second to none when it comes to being friendly!! There is a true kindness in their personality. This goes from our driver John Henry who we absolutely loved to all the hotel staff we met. The pools were good and the beach was great too, they did have a lot of seaweed on one of the beaches but the workers who removed the seaweed worked relentlessly from early in the morning until mid afternoon. We were impressed with their hard work We were fortunate enough to go to Shirley Heights where we listened to live incredible Caribbean music and danced!! I would recommend this hotel to everyone and would definitely return!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    Great value for the money

    Reviewed by Sue W on Jun 12, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    Overall a great experience at this property. Staff was amazing, food was good.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    Quiet and relaxing

    Reviewed by Small group trip on Jun 11, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Friends

    No wrist bands! Nice property, comfortable beds, large rooms. A rather quiet property. Great for a restful and relaxing holiday. I don't consider it to be luxurious but it is simple and clean. Staff were very friendly for the most part. The sand on their 2 beaches is nice but the water wasn't very clear. Lots of seaweed on Coco Beach which was cleaned when necessary. They told us this is seasonal and does not occur all the time. They had a great selection of non motorized water sports and I enjoyed kayaking in the Mamora bay side where the water is nice and calm. The main pool is nice but not huge and just a simple rectangle. No swim up bar. We went to the Managers cocktail party which is a great place to meet people. Seems like a lot of people spend time away from the resort exploring the island and doing excursions during the day. The food and drinks are good and the service in the restaurants and bars was always great.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    c

    love the stay there no complains

    Reviewed by chickoo on Jun 10, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    beautiful property good servce great staff good internet coonection just the beach have seaweed but overall complete satisfaction its quaint and definaltely worth to go again

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3925 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Wish we could have stayed longer!

    Reviewed by clynns8913(Seaford, New York) on Aug 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This was our first visit to the resort. My family and my sister family (including 4 kids ages 10-15), had a beautiful 5 night all inclusive getaway. We were roomed in the Pineapple section of rooms facing Coco Beach. Our first floor room you can walk right on to the beach from the patio steps. The room was spacious and clean. Coco Beach was a bit windy but on the other side there was Mamora Beach that had all the water sports, a grill and a bar. Coco Beach/Eleven Eleven Restaurant service was slow as was dinner for steak night at the Rainbow Garden but the food was good. Rainbow Garden had buffet style breakfast every morning. The Docksider restaurant had buffet nights (BBQ night, Asian night) with a mass variety of different dishes that were delicious. They also had singers and entertainment at the Docksider. The last night we were there they had a Full Moon Beach Party on Mamora Beach with food, performers, singing and dancing that was especially fun. During our stay the hotel also had in the Jacaranda Lounge -Name That Tune, Music Trivia and Karaoke night that the kids loved. Staff was friendly and pleasant. WiFi was free but very slow and spotty. Definitely would revisit as I hated to leave.

    Quite poor

    Reviewed by Dan P(Bracknell, United Kingdom) on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    We went for a family holiday in June 2019, and had high expectations as the hotel and resort are billed as 4* or 5*. Sadly it barely makes a 3*. We were upgraded to a suite that was obviously around 30 years since it was last updated. The bathroom was awful, straight out of the 80’s. no walk in shower. It had a bath, with a shower curtain. Not even cheap hotels have this set up these days. The food was average, the service by some of the staff was below standard, some didn’t even care. There were some staff that were exceptional, but the service was generally poor. The resort grounds are well kept, and the beaches lovely, although the seaweed on the Atlantic side and sea grass on the bay side is a problem. Reception check in took a VERY long time, surely this could be streamlined. Lastly, the buffet food offering was only available every other evening. The other evenings we had to book a table for the Rainbow restaurant dining. However if we wanted to book a table at a reasonable time, we found we had to phone reception at 6.00 am the previous day in order to get a table. This is not what I expect from a 4 or 5 star resort. It’s a lovely resort area, a lovely island, but this hotel could be so much better. It needs investment, a complete revamp.

    Beautiful location.

    Reviewed by sallylane66(Salisbury, United Kingdom) on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This was our 3rd visit to this resort, staying with friends in their villa, and some things have definitely changed for the better since we went 2 years ago. The villa had been painted inside, new bedding put on, and there were new lamps with USB charging points. Staff also seemed friendlier and more helpful. However, service at most restaurants can still be very slow and disorganised, which is frustrating and hasn't improved. Most of the food was very good, apart from the French evening at Rainbow Garden. The Italian-style restaurant, Piccolo Mondo, is still the best, where service was excellent but there is a hefty surcharge. There was lots of good entertainment, including singers, keyboard player and saxophonist. We also went to the full moon beach party for the 1st time, which was fun. However, there is only free wifi in reception, which is annoying, as everywhere else we've stayed in Antigua has it for free.

    Disappointed Visit to St. James Club in Antigua

    Reviewed by Joseph S(South Plainfield, New Jersey, United States) on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My visit to Antigua St James Club was in August 2019. The resort is about 30 to 40 minutes from the airport. The taxi service is regulated so you don’t have to worry about getting ripped off. The resort was very nice and grounds well keep, you have a choice of staying on the bay side or the ocean side. The people running the resort are very friendly and are there to help you enjoy your stay. There is three restaurants part of the all inclusive package ( you have to take) and one which you have to pay an additional $45.00/person if you want to dine there. I found the food very boring with a lot of leftovers served at the breakfast and lunch buffet. There mixed drinks couldn’t be made because they lacked ingredients to make them. There bar service at the poolside was none you had to get your own drinks at the bar. We never had any trouble getting beach chairs or towels. Entertainment was minimal except for a beach party one night and a karaoke night at one or the bars. They did have pool aerobic each day at the pool which was nice. There coffee shop was great where you can get coffee and deserts. Water sports are also available at a minimum cost. All in all it was a nice and restful vacation

    Poor

    Reviewed by 197philipw(Sandhurst, United Kingdom) on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    This resort is portrayed as a 5* resort bit it certainly isn’t, we stayed in a 2 bed Villa at considerable cost and on Day 2 we returned to our Villa to a water pipe leak pouring through the ceiling and into the bedrooms, I immediately reported the issue and it took the duty manager over an hour to come and see us even after the engineer had been. ,moved us over 90mins later to another room where the 2nd room was 2 small for our boys to share and 1 ended up sleeping on sofa. The pools all close at 1800, we we not made aware of this before booking, in fact the staff started closing the pools from 1700 onwards depending on how they felt on the day, not all facilities were available onsite, the tea room staff refused our 2 teenage boys coke rinks and told them to go to the bar despite being told it was available at check in and online. Resort and rooms look tatty and tired, flaky paint, hairdryer and several lights in rooms not working. Mamora bay beach bar and staff were lovely, couldn’t do enough and always smiling and happy. , guys that drive the Golf buggies around super friendly and helpful as well. We ended up moving resorts after 4 days it was that much of a let down.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX