Grand Riviera Princess All Suites and Spa Resort

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Riviera Maya
    5. Grand Riviera Princess All Suites and Spa Resort
    6. Grand Riviera Princess All Suites and Spa Resort review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    A

    Will be back in november this year 3rd time

    Reviewed by Alice on Jul 22, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2019

    Trip Type: Friends

    Great resort helpfull staff/clean rooms/variety of food/good sport bar/a la-carte dissapointing/many pools overall recommend this resort

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    F

    We would never go back!

    Reviewed by Family of 3 from Canada on Jul 02, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: June 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    This was the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. We were travelling with a child who required his medication to be refrigerated. We called ahead and were assured that the mini fridge in the room could accommodate this necessity. Upon arriving to the room we discovered that the fridge had a minimum temperature of 7 Celsius (the drinks in the fridge were warm). There was no way this would work for medicine. We called reception and were told they would try to switch the fridge out, but that the fridge does not keep things cold (we were also told this was our only option for the medication. We decided to fill the cooler we transported the medicine in with ice, however the ice machine did not work. Again we were told there were no other options. We decided to go for dinner - and were absolutely repulsed by the food that was not only flavourless, but ice cold and had an odd baking soda taste to it. We chalked this up to it being Italian night in Mexico. We decided to go back to our room and order room service (which according to the website and our reservation was included). The front desk advised that if we wanted this service we needed to pay $100 usd per day and move rooms. We went to sleep hungry and disappointed. The next morning we tried to take our son to the kids pool (accompanied by us) where we were told if we wanted access to the kids pool we had to pay (pay for the kids pool in an all inclusive???). The adults and kids had to pay ($10 per person per day). So we took our 1 1/2 year old back to the big pools. The kids club was another amenity advertised as included. The meals did not improve at all, however the taco stand from 12-5 was quite good. I should note, my husband is from Mexico and I lived there for 8 years. We went with very tempered expectations and this hotel still managed to disappoint us in all areas. We even paid a taxi to take us to the airport early as we would have rather spent hours wandering the airport then the hotel.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    K

    Wonderful stay. Bring ones and fives for tipping. Change is hard to come by.

    Reviewed by Kirk on Apr 19, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Great time for a week in early April. Really big resort. Bring a waterproof watch so you know the time. No clocks anywhere. Pool bats close at 6pm. Pools close at 8pm. Buffets aren't 5 star but the a la carte's such a steakhouse and Japanese Miso we're great. Seaweed in water and on beach but big deal. Warm water but small waves. No complaints. Great time for families and non families looking to unwind. So many pools.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    N

    Had a great time

    Reviewed by Nadine on Feb 05, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    Overall great resort. Beach is lovely and so are the pools. However, when we booked I asked what was all included and we were told that the kids area (kids pool, buffet, etc. we?re all included) we have 3 & 5 year old so it was important to us. When we got there we went to the kids area and a staff member came out and told us we had to pay $9/person to play in the pool. The pool was ice cold so I said not to worry about it that we will leave. My kids had fun at the other pools and beach anyway but not the point. Not sure if this was westjet a error or if the hotel is trying to scam people. We talked with other families and they had experienced the same thing and other days they could go and play in the area. Other then this our stay was great.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    M

    Great holiday.

    Reviewed by Manitoba Seniors on Nov 27, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    Go directly outside airport to your rep. About 45 minute bus ride from airport. Hotel was very clean. Room spacious and clean. Great selection and quality of food and drinks at numerous bars, buffets, and restaurants. Pools are clean and lounges plentiful. Nice beach with small rocks only along water's edge and sandy once past the edge. Not great for snorkeling due to waves stir up sand. Slacks or dress golf shorts and golf shirt with closed footwear acceptable in a la carte restaurants. A la carte reservations made behind lobby bar. Casual dress in buffets. Try the ice cream parlor and have a panini in the 24 hour Sports Bar. Lizeth Hernandez and Beatriz Caamal in snack bar/buffet closest to beach were wonderful hostess and server. Large resort with fair amount of walking. Comfortable foot wear such as runners/good sandals recommended. Entertainment in theatre was good most evenings. Staff were wonderful, friendly and accommodating and warranted tips in pesos which they genuinely appreciated.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    j

    Terrible vacation from strt to finish

    Reviewed by jb on Mar 29, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Please note that this is an official complaint concerning our trip to Mexico at The Grand Riviera princess and travels with Westjet vacations. Let me start at the beginning on our flight to Mexico, where we were booked on the most less desirable seats on the plane that we could not change. We were immediately advised by the stewardess that we were booked on points seats. The flight was not enjoyable by any means. These seats have less leg room than any other available seat on the plane. Upon arrival at the Cancun Airport we were not listed with the transportation company that brings you to your hotel. This delay was almost one hour waiting at the airport. Arrival at the hotel was less than welcoming. We were advised that our room was not ready and that our package was an "almost all inclusive package" meaning we were only allowed to dine at certain restaurants, order drinks from the left side of the bar, and no access to the wifi. We immediately requested an upgrade willing to pay for all extras to try and salvage this disastrous booking, but for whatever reason the hotel did not allow us to. Please note, we tried several times to upgrade without success. We were assigned a room at the middle area of the hotel, room 7251. Nothing special by any means, but we settled in none the less. On the third day we returned to our room to find an unbelievable smell from the paint and construction that had been done on either side of our room making it unbearable to breath. We immediately reported the issue to management and made our way to the front desk. The 1st person at the front desk did not want to accommodate us with another room, we then requested the manager. After much persuasion, the manager offered us a downgraded room on the other side of the resort. This was our only option. Room #1266. We were obliged to pack our belongings and wait most of the night for the transfer causing us to miss our supper and show. Room 1266 was in a state, the bed was b

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 10822 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Excellent Service!

    Reviewed by Marilyn_1988-2019() on Aug 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My and my partner visited there for the first time. I must say it was an incredible experience. Food, Entertainment, choice and the service was exceptional! The best service provided to us was by server: Mr. Pablo Poot Cocom from the restaurant Vaqueria 2. He was friendly, provided quick and amazing service and took very good care of us with our food and requests! Definitely recommend the hotel and hope you’re lucky to be taken care by Mr. Pablo. Will be definitely going again!!!! ??????????

    Fabulous family holiday

    Reviewed by Lovemehols(Durham, United Kingdom) on Aug 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Just had an amazing 10 days at this hotel. It was one of the best holidays we have had. The hotel is big, very clean, spacious rooms, beautiful grounds. We had 2 junior deluxe suites right next to a quieter pool. Towels changed daily and beds at least every other day. 4 buffet restaurants with breakfast available til 12.00 and lunch til 3.00, dinner til 11.00. Huge variety of choice to suit most people and good quality. There were BBQ's everyday around the pool for snacks as well. The people are the most pleasant, friendly and helpful I have ever met and are genuinely happy to help you. There are 3 busy swim up bars that got crowded and noisy which wasn't for us but we stayed at the quiet pool near our room and it was lovely. We have to agree with other reviews recommending the Chill Out Beach restaurant, you would be mad not to use it. We had the romantic breakfast and it was the best breakfast of the whole holiday. We could then use the cabanas and sunbeds on the Chill Out beach free of charge for the rest of our stay and the bar staff came round constantly taking your drinks order and serving you at your bed. There was plenty of shade and a cool breeze from the sea. The beach manager Miguel is amazing. He always found time to speak to you and offered ice lollies, frozen fruit, cleaned your sunglasses and provided ice cold towels (unreal). He had portable chargers if you needed to charge your phone. The Chill Out lunch menu was reasonably priced and the food was lovely but you can still use the all inclusive in the hotel to eat if you want. The staff were absolutely lovely and a special mention to Margarita, Gustavo, Alberto and Andre for treating us so well. Plenty of entertainment going on in the hotel. The shop was well stocked if a bit over priced but there was nowhere else to go. The only slight issue is the lack of shade around the hotel pools. It was extremely hot with very little breeze but shade was poor. The usual culprits were up between 6.00 and 7.00 to reserve a bed in the shade! We don't know how anyone could be disappointed with this hotel. The gym was brilliant and quiet in the middle of the day. There were iguanas, coati's roaming about the grounds and we saw baby crocodiles and monkeys! A shuttle goes around the complex every 10 minutes but we didn't use it. Bell boys drop off and pick up your luggage. We wanted a memorable holiday as it was for a special birthday and it certainly was. We did the Selvatica trip and Coba/Tulum and enjoyed both. Can't wait to go back.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Excellent experience

    Reviewed by Mary V(Athens, Greece) on Aug 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    A perfect getaway, a clean, friendly resort with magnificent grounds and a superb beach. Sargassum was there but was not really an issue since it was kept at bay. The rooms were spacious, room service was excellent as well as food. A special note was the coatis roaming at the beach, so much fun!

    Highly DO NOT RECOMMEND! Stay away!!!

    Reviewed by 999pizza() on Aug 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    FOOD:Very low quality! Furthermore, food was”recycled”, for which I don’t have a problem, when its done *PROPERLY* (e.g. yesterday’s seafood leftover will make great today’s seafood pizza). But chefs at this place lacking skills and creativity! Concrete examples: they never had neither fresh crepes nor pancakes!We’ve been with my wife in several places and having that option feels like basic standard. Not at this place! Another completely missing item-Pizza! Iberostar, Palladium, etc.-all Mexican resorts now have brick ovens and fresh pizza.Not at this place!While they did have pizza, quality of it “equates” to Gas Station Pizza!And as “cherry on the cake”-we were lied by one of the Chefs, that while walking thru main buffet was asked about pizza, and he came up with BS answer:”why would not you order pizza from our Italian Restaurant” And when we did ask about it one of the waiter - he looked at us as we were from Mars.Another area of incompetence:food layout and placings. During the dinner they placed yogurt next to watermelon and other “watery” deserts! And of course, half of the yogurt bowl was filled with watermelon juice! Service in buffer area subpar: numerous times we had to ask several times staff to get our drinks. Often, we were served not was ordered! Furthermore, once we were brought a beer, that we didn’t order, and that beer was placed right-next to my son, who is 6!! SERVICE:this resort is fairly large and yet they have only 1! shuttle.And after 5pm that shuttle becomes a bottle neck!It is not a long walk-about 10 min- from main lobby to the farthest section of resort where we stayed,but when you have small children it is “different story”.However, during the evenings, shuttle was always crowded and few times we almost had to “fight” for seats! KIDS CLUB was not free! There is a separate fee for KIDS CLUB! And another “cherry on-the-cake”: upon arriving home we found out that they OVERCHARGED our CC for cleaning fees! BTW: be aware, despite “”all inclusive”” resort they are charging cleaning fees(about $US1 per night ), however in our case for 10 nights we were charged $US25!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-3

    Service

    Service-1

    Value

    Value-1

    Stuart Steele

    Reviewed by Stuart S() on Aug 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My partner ,children and I spent a lovely few days there recently. Alberto in the ChillOut restaurant literally couldn’t of been a better host . Very very good service from him and all the staff at this hotel.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX