Grand Riviera Princess All Suites and Spa Resort

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Riviera Maya
    5. Grand Riviera Princess All Suites and Spa Resort
    6. Grand Riviera Princess All Suites and Spa Resort review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    K

    Wonderful stay. Bring ones and fives for tipping. Change is hard to come by.

    Reviewed by Kirk on Apr 19, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Great time for a week in early April. Really big resort. Bring a waterproof watch so you know the time. No clocks anywhere. Pool bats close at 6pm. Pools close at 8pm. Buffets aren't 5 star but the a la carte's such a steakhouse and Japanese Miso we're great. Seaweed in water and on beach but big deal. Warm water but small waves. No complaints. Great time for families and non families looking to unwind. So many pools.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    N

    Had a great time

    Reviewed by Nadine on Feb 05, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    Overall great resort. Beach is lovely and so are the pools. However, when we booked I asked what was all included and we were told that the kids area (kids pool, buffet, etc. we?re all included) we have 3 & 5 year old so it was important to us. When we got there we went to the kids area and a staff member came out and told us we had to pay $9/person to play in the pool. The pool was ice cold so I said not to worry about it that we will leave. My kids had fun at the other pools and beach anyway but not the point. Not sure if this was westjet a error or if the hotel is trying to scam people. We talked with other families and they had experienced the same thing and other days they could go and play in the area. Other then this our stay was great.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    M

    Great holiday.

    Reviewed by Manitoba Seniors on Nov 27, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    Go directly outside airport to your rep. About 45 minute bus ride from airport. Hotel was very clean. Room spacious and clean. Great selection and quality of food and drinks at numerous bars, buffets, and restaurants. Pools are clean and lounges plentiful. Nice beach with small rocks only along water's edge and sandy once past the edge. Not great for snorkeling due to waves stir up sand. Slacks or dress golf shorts and golf shirt with closed footwear acceptable in a la carte restaurants. A la carte reservations made behind lobby bar. Casual dress in buffets. Try the ice cream parlor and have a panini in the 24 hour Sports Bar. Lizeth Hernandez and Beatriz Caamal in snack bar/buffet closest to beach were wonderful hostess and server. Large resort with fair amount of walking. Comfortable foot wear such as runners/good sandals recommended. Entertainment in theatre was good most evenings. Staff were wonderful, friendly and accommodating and warranted tips in pesos which they genuinely appreciated.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    j

    Terrible vacation from strt to finish

    Reviewed by jb on Mar 29, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Please note that this is an official complaint concerning our trip to Mexico at The Grand Riviera princess and travels with Westjet vacations. Let me start at the beginning on our flight to Mexico, where we were booked on the most less desirable seats on the plane that we could not change. We were immediately advised by the stewardess that we were booked on points seats. The flight was not enjoyable by any means. These seats have less leg room than any other available seat on the plane. Upon arrival at the Cancun Airport we were not listed with the transportation company that brings you to your hotel. This delay was almost one hour waiting at the airport. Arrival at the hotel was less than welcoming. We were advised that our room was not ready and that our package was an "almost all inclusive package" meaning we were only allowed to dine at certain restaurants, order drinks from the left side of the bar, and no access to the wifi. We immediately requested an upgrade willing to pay for all extras to try and salvage this disastrous booking, but for whatever reason the hotel did not allow us to. Please note, we tried several times to upgrade without success. We were assigned a room at the middle area of the hotel, room 7251. Nothing special by any means, but we settled in none the less. On the third day we returned to our room to find an unbelievable smell from the paint and construction that had been done on either side of our room making it unbearable to breath. We immediately reported the issue to management and made our way to the front desk. The 1st person at the front desk did not want to accommodate us with another room, we then requested the manager. After much persuasion, the manager offered us a downgraded room on the other side of the resort. This was our only option. Room #1266. We were obliged to pack our belongings and wait most of the night for the transfer causing us to miss our supper and show. Room 1266 was in a state, the bed was b

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 10469 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Very nice resort

    Reviewed by Flyer627926() on Mar 25, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Wonderful stay. Excellent resort. Great amenities including beautiful beach, catamaran sailing, kayaks, swimming pools, exercise room. Excellent access to excursions for which we had to pay separately: we enjoyed Coba Mayan pyramid and civilization, Rio Secreto Cave and snorkeling. Good food; wine could have been a bit better.

    Enjoyed my stay

    Reviewed by David_MTL_514(Montreal, Canada) on Mar 25, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Stayed here for a week and pretty much liked everything (I had moderate expectations). The buffet was a hit or miss but the service was excellent. The staff is friendly, there are animals on the resort (cats, coatis, deer, iguanas etc). For me personally if I didn't turn the ceiling fan on after a day out (and the service staff tends to pull out the key to save energy when they are done so 90% of electricity is cut in the room) I'd smell a bit of dampness but as soon as the door was open and fan on it went away, no biggie. The resort is pretty big (riviera side + sunset side) the beach is very nice with activities for everybody. The smell of BBQ by the pool was just killing me every time I passed by (in a good way). The rooms were surprisingly well sound proofed so no crazy party noises or yelling heard.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-5

    A solid 3.25 stars

    Reviewed by Melanie S(Toronto, Canada) on Mar 25, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    The grounds were beautiful, super well-maintained and lush with natural fauna all over and the hotel was spotless, however I didn't realize that this is a 2,000 room compound, with SO many moving parts. The staff was good, but many don't speak English and weren't able to guide me properly. You need to take a trolley to get to the beach, it's a long walk. I also found the following: rooms dark and dated (if generally comfortable, I slept really well on the memory foam beds), the walkways hard to navigate (I walked 10km on day 1 trying to get around), and sorry to report...the food awful (VERY small selection at buffet as compared to other resorts). Lots of canned and fried options. I could write a review on the food alone, it really didn't impress. As for the beach, it was decent and the water warm and very shallow very far out, which is a nice thing, but the water is brown-yellow from the seaweed. It is also lined edge to edge with chairs, smokers, drinkers, kids, toys, Zumba music, and the general chaos that most seasoned travellers would cringe at. The gym is lovely and the yoga and pilates classes were great (huge bonus there). I really enjoyed the yoga deck and the instructor Maya...super nice. Truth be told, I went for the exercise, and that part didn't disappoint. If you want an intimate vacation that is modern, with a healthy buffet food selection (i.e. sugar-free options, good meats, REAL fish—not bottom feeders such as Basa), beach chairs with umbrellas that you don't have to wake up at the crack of dawn to reserve, and upgraded amenities, this is not your place. It was an overall decent vacation and the staff work very hard to do their best. And the price is unbeatable, too. Btw...BYOB&C (body lotion and hair conditioner!)

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-3

    Should have been a perfect holiday

    Reviewed by Kirsty28m(Coventry, United Kingdom) on Mar 25, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    First impressions the hotel was beautiful, well maintained and the staff were fantastic, friendly and helpful. As we checked into the room there was a horrendous smell of damp. I asked the concierge if this was normal, he didn’t know what I was on about. We later asked around the pool and apparently a few people had the same concerns and just an issue with the aircon. I raised this with reception, they weren’t interested. We avoided using the aircon and the furniture, bedding, our clothes was just damp. In the end I came home with a chest infection and a stint in hospital where I later found out I had MRSA. Consultants can only put it down to my time in Mexico. I had felt ill there and went to see the local pharmacy and was prescribed “amoxicillin” I took this for 10 days with no improvement. Hence my stint in hospital on my return. We’ve been back 6 months now and the murky awful smell of damp in our clothes and suitcases still lingers. Unfortunately for that reason I would never ever stay at this “4 star resort” again.

    A Wonderful Week of Sun and Relaxation

    Reviewed by KEliseB(Saint Paul, Minnesota) on Mar 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Our family of 4 enjoyed a large room (king/bunk bed) in the family club section of the resort. The resort was very clean and well maintained. There was a large variety of restaurant types. The pools were beautiful and beach gorgeous (yes there is seaweed in the shore but this is nature people). The evening shows were a bit cheesy but still something to do. The massage at the spa was incredible and our 10 yr enjoyed parasailing with his dad. As resort owners, we were given a day pass to the Chill Out Beach Club. so nice!!! Recommend it. Our only complaint would be the many days and coaties running around and stealing food and drinks. Yuk.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX