Maui Kaanapali Villas

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    A

    Maui's Best Kept Secret

    Reviewed by Ann on Feb 17, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: August 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    We have travelled to Maui 6 times in the past 10 years. It was on our second trip to the island that we stayed at the Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas, and our experience was so fantastic that we continue to come back year after year. The staff is outstanding. The beach is incredible. The grounds are meticulously maintained, and we loved the fact that beach front is lined with palm trees so you can escape the mid-day heat. The views are breathtaking. There are amazing walking/running paths which lead you to the Whaler Village, if you want to shop, find a restaurant, or pick up a few snacks at the ABC Store. We loved the fact that it is on the quieter side of the Black Rock. Snorkelling is just a 3 minute walk from the complex. As far as we are concerned, it is the best kept secret on Maui.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 1358 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    A really lovely surprise

    Reviewed by Juliep20(Sydney, Australia) on Jul 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We stayed here after a longer trip at the 2x more expensive Hyatt Regency only to find it so much better - check in staff really great and genuinely helpful, beautiful grounds and awesome beach. Room was just great super roomy and clean - wish we had of booked this place longer

    Honeymoon Dud

    Reviewed by AndinJim(Dallas, Texas) on Jul 04, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We were so excited to come here, but when we arrived, we were placed in a room by the street, where it is VERY noisy, told we would be getting champagne and chocolate, which never arrived and the walk to the beach was about a quarter mile one way. The pics online are very different then the reality. The rooms are dated, with dirty old carpet, and while online it seemed like all of the property was close to the beach, we realized the pics were only “the best of”, which is not a good representation of this resort. As a matter of fact more than 1/2 the property is by the street. (Please see pic included below or the actual map of the property.) Because it is our honeymoon, we called ahead of time and requested a nice room with a good view. We were told, yes no problem. We now park in the employee parking lot and are facing the street...??????? If I were to rank it against a standard hotel= Motel 6. This was our 3rd time in HI- we will not staying here again.???????

    Family vacation

    Reviewed by TracyDunson(Colorado Springs, Colorado) on Jun 29, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    The property is older and has not done a good job of representing the amount of beach front property that is usable for swimming. The staff was not aloha for an Hawaiian resort. They were less than friendly or helpful. The on-site restaurant-The Beach Club was vey hot and it was a very limited menu. We were told a 15 minute wait time that ended up being over an hour. The pools were very small and full of young kids, so if your looking for quiet in a pool that was only before 10 am. Another guest came on the elevator one evening with a steak he had been out grilling, they wouldn’t allow him an additional 5 minutes to cook it and as a result it was very rare. The sunsets were gorgeous, for this reason I gave it the two stars. And we did have an awesome bar tender named Mark.

    Relaxing stay on Maui with amazing pool!

    Reviewed by thebhik(London, United Kingdom) on Jun 27, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Reading other reviews, I know there's some properties that are owned under timeshare so this review is specifically for the apartment we booked directly with the apartment complex. That being said, from our check in the stay was fantastic. Our host was super accommodating and as it was our honeymoon they were able to provide a complimentary room upgrade as well as bottle of champagne which was a really nice treat! The room was very spacious and very comfortable, the bathroom was incredible where there was a large mirrored room with the sink and then smaller room inside with WC and shower. We were on the ground floor so had a nice little outside area that we could use (note: this was not private per-se where the neighbours had similar access). The bed was super comfortable and I loved the blinds that were fully blackout for a good nights sleep. We stayed on a room only basis but the accommodation has a restaurant on site which we tried and was delicious! It is worth noting though without a mode of transport we weren't able to eat anywhere else. There is a free shuttle bus that comes on a set timetable that does take you down to various points in town where there are many restaurants though - so just if you're looking to eat elsewhere within walking distance it was quite difficult to find. The shuttle itself was a fantastic service! The apartments had 2 pool areas, we only really used the larger one which was absolutely fantastic! It can get a bit busy but that I suppose is to expected, it never got too loud or annoying as such, so we definitely loved using the pool area. The pictures were exactly as shown on the website. The best part is the private beach that is just off the larger pool area, which had beautiful sand! The waves were quite rough so didn't swim much here but we found that quite common across Hawaii. The hotel offers rentals for beach chairs etc but can be booked out so would recommend booking in advance if you want! The hotel is definitely more for a relaxing resort type hotel, so we found it was a bit further out of town than expected (as mentioned above where were couldn't really walk anywhere). We did explore local towns and ended up getting ubers which were quite cheap so wasn't end of the world. Just a thought to consider if being able to walk to local towns is important. For more info and tips of what to do in Kaanapali including Lahaina, please feel free to check out Bhik Adventures as I would definately recommend going to Old Lahaina Luau! Overall, the hotel was fantastic and I would have given it 5 stars, but being a person that loves to have an evening stroll around to local stores I've marked as 4 stars. The free shuttle to Whalers Village though did provide a great alternative!

    Very nice and simple accomodations

    Reviewed by jenniferwallwill(Stockholm, Sweden) on Jun 25, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We rented 2 rooms since we had a group of 4. They did the best they could to accommodate us since I am heavily pregnant. We wouldn't know if we would be sharing a queen bed or have a room with 2 twins, but they were able to get us with one room with 2 twins so that my friends didn't have to deal with my constant getting up at night. The places were very clean, the staff was very friendly. They were very on top of room services for clean towels and they even did the dishes for us while we were out which was a pleasant surprise. The pools aren't too crazy fancy, but good for some simple floating. Easy beach access with a very nice beach as well. They held our luggage for us since we had a late flight and they have showers for us to still access if we needed them before our flight even though we had already checked out. It is also in a very good location to other fun activities and restaurants. Price was REALLY good for us planning this very last min (3 weeks before we came).

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX