The Royal at Atlantis

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    B

    Great beach , fun water park , very expensive drinks and food

    Reviewed by Bahama mama on Apr 08, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    Upon arriving at Atlantis (3rd trip ) we asked to upgrade to a suite. The receptionis said non were available. The room we were given was small , stuffy , curtains were ripped and it was an adjoining room with another family. I called down and asked again if there was a suite available ... no nothing for 4 days. After listening to the neighbours baby cry all night I went to the front desk in the morning and a very helpful reception clerk told me he had a suite that was vacatant immediately. Beautiful big spacious room expect ... the curtains were also ripped , someone?s dirty hair brush was in the bathroom, faucet in en-suite broken , sand in the shower and no hair dryer. I asked 3x for a hair dryer was promised one would be right up , never happened. Reported to staff we have no use of the bathroom tap. Np it will be fixed ... never happened. After several trips and never any complaints I felt things have gone a little down hill.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    D

    Best Resort Ever!

    Reviewed by Darlene - Halifax on Mar 07, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2016

    Trip Type: Friends

    I loved Atlantis. My all time favorite resort, and I will definitely go back!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    A

    Best vacation ever, definitely going back someday.

    Reviewed by Aquaholics on Feb 13, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    Great for family, something for everyone to do. The kids club staff are awesome, my 9 year old didn't want to leave till they closed at 11 pm. This is a great kids service, it frees adults to have a nice dinner and time at casino or just walking the board walk with a drink, listening to the live music provided by outdoor restaurants. It is difficult to see all of Atlantis and all it has to offer in 4 days. We will definitely be going back someday. Very friendly staff who speak and understand requests in English.

    M

    Great experience and upgrade to the meal plan and be prepared to have fun.

    Reviewed by Momajan on Aug 29, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: August 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    This hotel exceeded my expectations from the smooth check in, friendly bell man and all the staff were pleasing. My love of good food was so fulfilled that I was glad we had so many activities to wear off all the calories. I am not a typical activity person on my vacation because, I usually sit on the beach all day long. This trip staying at Atlantis was far from that as I was so moved by the many activities and excitement of trying as many as I could. I tried all but one of the water slides, went on the lazy river until my skin could not handle anymore and had my picture taken with the the dolphins. At night I was a bit nervous with my lack of experience with the Casino but, that was short lived that I had so much fun my friends had to sway me to leave at 1 am. The endless shops to choose from and the Dig was my favorite walking around and learning so much about the marine life and efforts to raise funds for the protection of the animals was impressive. The staff went above and beyond to make my stay great meeting all my need for my allergy sensitivities and this was one of the few times were I could use the hotel products without breaking out in a rash. The hotel has a bit of scents but the staff did not spray my room based on my request. The agent that left her card on my bed Paulette went above and beyond one night to assist me with my hair to get ready for the evening. I can't wait to return.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    V

    Atlantis, Paradise Island – Amazing adventure resort!

    Reviewed by V.L Calgary, Alberta on Aug 20, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: August 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    The Atlantis, Paradise Island resort is a once in a life time experience. This destination resort has a multitude of activities, shops, restaurants and pools, spa, nightly entertainment and more to exceed your expectations. You can spend an afternoon enjoying the many waterslides that the thrilling Aquaventure has to offer or relax by one of the eleven pools spread out across the property. I highly recommend staying in one of the Water View rooms located in the Royal Tower which is centrally located and considered the “heartbeat” of Atlantis. The rooms were spacious, comfortable, quiet and very clean. Also, at the Royal Tower, you will have convenient access to the Dig, a stunning marine habitat exhibit. Just steps away you can also find the Atlantis Casino and Aura Night Club. Aside from its never ending list of activities to do, Atlantis also boasts a diverse selection of restaurants. From café & quick eats, casual to fine dining, the Bahamian Club set in an elegant fine dining atmosphere quickly became a personal favorite. If you’re looking for generous portions of food and delicious pizza options in a relaxed laid back environment then the Lagoon Bar & Grill is also worth a visit. Overall, Atlantis was truly remarkable where staff were very professional, friendly and helpful. Although pricey, it’s worth the experience if it’s your first time visiting Nassau or looking for a unique getaway in the Bahamas. I look forward to my next visit hopefully in the near future.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    A

    we loved our stayed and we were treated very good and amazing service

    Reviewed by Amyn on Aug 19, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: August 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    Great property it already says paradise island and it is good location friendly staff and service and yes i would 100% go with my family

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    m

    Amazing, so much to do!

    Reviewed by missalicia on Aug 16, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: August 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    Wow, this hotel is incredible! I loved everything about the Atlantis. It is basically its only little city! So much to see and do. We stayed at the Royal Tower, and this is the mostly centrally located of all the towers. It was about a 15 min walk from our room to the water park/beaches. If you stay in another tower you could be even further. The room was very nice and big! We had an amazing view of the entire resort and ocean. If you can it is definitely worth the upgrade. There are so many restaurants to choose from here. The food was deliicous at all of the restaurants we ate at. I highly recommend eating at Bahamian Club, the food was amazing! The Atlantis has so many pools to choose from, and so many cool water slides. The rapid river ride is so much fun, we spent almost an entire day on it. If you want a beach that is a tad more quiet then go to the beach closer to the cove. It isn't quite as busy as the pools and slide area. If you are looking for an adult only atmosphere, you may want to consider staying in The Cove. The Cove has an adult only pool called the Cain at Cove. It has a DJ playing by the pool, and is a more relaxed adult only vibe. There is so much to walk around and see! The aquariums here are incredible, and they have so many cool fish and sea life. I also really enjoy the Marina area, with all the shops and restaurants. The casino is 24/7, and this is where you can smoke if you do so!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    J

    A "Smoker's" Paradise... too bad we don't smoke.

    Reviewed by Just Back on Feb 10, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    Be prepared for a TON of smokers and a wall of white in the corridors! Conventions and private functions dominated the resort in the evenings while we were there. Maybe it was just our timing? I was disappointed to find those two things out only after arriving. The resort staff, food, and Water-Park are top notch... the staff is definitely worth every penny of gratuity charges that were automatically billed to your account. Sadly, many restaurants in the resort were not open at the same time so we didn't get a chance to enjoy a lot of expected variety - it was almost like they staggered what was allowed to open so they didn't lose money. EVERYTHING is extra except for an odd offering here and there and I found it very challenging and gross to have to walk from one tower through the entire resort chain, and the Casino, as well as through all the smoke with my young children to get to dinner, and then back again. We all had to shower before going to bed just so that we could sleep without smelling horribly! We couldn't even open our balcony door the entire week because even though our floor was non-smoking, folks decided sitting on the balconies was fair game.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 7521 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Save your money

    Reviewed by John D() on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    For $700/night for a very average hotel room, you get ... a water outage; key cards don't work (I went through 7 in 4 days and you have to hike 15 minutes round trip to the lobby for a new key); no fridge; they say you can use the park before your room is ready, sure, but you need a manager override and it took 40 minutes and three wristband booths to find a manager; navigating the park is more frustrating than Ikea, designed to keep you in and buying; they ran out of towels; the lounge showers had no hot water; the water rides are remarkably benign and boring and uncreative relative to an actual water park, and the lines are long. Most of all thoigh, what sticks with you is that EVERYTHING is way, way, way overpriced, such as a Snickers $6, pizza slice $9, small shot of garbage well rum $13, the hotel buffet is $65 per person and as quality as Golden Corral, no photos allowed on any activity but they'll sell you their photos for $200 (literally, $200), not prints, digital. Spa prices are off the charts to the point of laughable. Rhis high end resort, with all its obvious wealth, is nil-inclusive. Abdolutely nothing is complimentary -- they will nickel and dime you on everything. Especially beware of the food and drink though. The Swim in Wonder dolphin activity is amazing. Do that and get out. Playtime with Sea Lions and Stingray Experience are good too, but not to the Swim in Wonder level. Snorkel the Ruins and Snuba are less good but ok. My 8 year old daughter did not enjoy Junior Trainer for a Day; she said they didn't get to do anything, just sit and listen to lectures. Almost everyone in the resort is exceedingly nice and hapoy to be there ... except for the bartenders, which ia ironic because they should be the most sociable. Nice people and the dolphins is all I have to say that's good about the Atlantis resort. I would not take this vacation again. Two 40-something parents and an 8 year old. Stayed in the Royal hotel, west tower.

    Hotel/casino service was extraordinary, rooms had very few issues, but restaurant service was mediocre

    Reviewed by ConOP323() on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The good: Service at the majority of locations was top-notch and everyone was attentive and punctual. Amenities were great, all hotel/casino staff that I encountered were great, and the overall experience was fantastic. The less good: Rooms had a few facilities issues (in particular, the shower would go from hot to cold every few seconds the entire duration of your shower). Service at some of the restaurants was very unimpressive (specifically Nobu and Fish by Jose Andres): had a glass break while in Nobu that ended up slicing my finger, went up to the hostess with a bloody napkin asking for bandages and assistance, was given two band-aids and ended up just stepping away to a restroom to try and help myself (band-aids weren't not going to help at all). No one asked the rest of my party if everything was okay when they saw a shattered glass on the table and a person missing. Not exactly the most helpful or attentive service... The amazing: After leaving Nobu with a bad taste, Dwight at the Sun Desk (VIP check-in) went well above and beyond to help out by actually providing first aid and making sure we were stocked with bandages and if we needed anything else. Top-notch service by Dwight as he absolutely turned that experience around. Overall still a great experience.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Pass - go somewhere else

    Reviewed by Terri K(Denver, Colorado) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    This place in my opinion is way overrated. When we were there it was super crowded and we were constantly fighting over a beach chair to sit in. My kids did like it, but for the price, I would save the money and go to a water park like Great Wolf Lodge. I know that is dramatic to say, because it isn't the Caribbean etc, but it wasn't a a great experience. The staff was quite rude and unhelpful. They kept telling us we had to stand in one line or another, which was inaccurate. The place wasn't clean, tons of trash on the inside beach in and out of the water. Tons of people come on day passes on the cruise ship, so everything is very crowded. Food is super expensive, $17 for a chicken wrap. I also didn't feel like the lifeguards were actually watching the kids. Skip it!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-2

    Service

    Service-1

    Value

    Value-1

    Another Great Stay

    Reviewed by JayDeeNYC1(Larchmont, New York) on Apr 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The last time we stayed at the Royal back in 2011, my family had a fantastic time. After reading the most recent reviews, I was a little concerned about returning given the lukewarm and negative reviews concerning everything ranging from poor service, outdated facilities and enormous crowds. Fortunately we had an amazing time again despite some of the shortcomings of staying at such a massive mega resort. We found the employees very warm and hospitable. Pretty much everyone we came across had a smile on their face and wished us kind pleasantries. As far as the accommodations, yes the resort is showing signs of its age but it is still a pretty fabulous place. I marvel at the architecture of this place along with the beautiful vistas and water features. This is a great mega resort if this is the type of vacation you are seeking. It is a massive property that offers many activities for everyone—beaches, pools, aquariums, and of course, water slides. If you are looking for a quiet and romantic secluded vacation, this isn’t the place for you. Perhaps staying at the Cove would provide that sort of experience. The lines at the Mayan temple waterslides are definitely longer than the ones in the Power Tower, where we experienced no waiting times. Crowds clear out about 3:30-4 pm. We found getting chairs near the central pool pretty easily, even at around 11 am. The food prices are quite steep. For a family of three we paid about $100 for lunch and $200-250 for dinner. For breakfast we usually got some items from Starbucks and that came to about $20-25. If you like Auntie Anne’s pretzels you have to get the Cinnamon sugar pretzel at the Starbucks in the Coral. I was so happy to see that it is still sold there after all these years since no other Starbucks seem to sell it. Olives Good place for apps, the Bianco Flatbread was extremely tasty and the calamari was pretty good too. Fish Restaurant We had a very enjoyable meal albeit a very expensive one. The bill came to almost $300 for the three of us and that didn’t include the more expensive entrees. The service was great and the dining room is beautiful with murals and nautical motifs. NOBU If you go here, you have to try the signature dish, Miso Cod. It is sublime. The maki and sushi rolls and other appetizers were nothing remarkable. Service was excellent. Frankie Bananas is a fun place. Expect to wait about an hour before you get seated. We ordered a bunch of apps and sides and found the chicken wings to be pretty good, along with the peas and rice and plantains. Our favorite snack bar was Shark Bites where we enjoyed the grilled fish sandwich. For $19 you get a huge grilled fish sandwich with fries or veggies. I felt like I got my money’s worth everytime I got this meal. The fried chicken sandwich is also a pretty good meal for $15. I discovered on this trip the Beach Bar, which overlooks the beach near the Coral. You can’t beat the views and if you are going to have drinks in Paradise, this should be the spot.

    Front staff

    Reviewed by Sharon K() on Apr 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Steve and I stayed at the Royal in April 2019. While we were there we had a family emergency and Lakeithra and Chelcee at the front desk went above and beyond to make sure we got the necessary paperwork needed to get a healthcare proxy back to Massachusetts. We only asked for a business or computer room to print off some paperwork and they offered to make it easy and worked with us to send the text we had to their email so they could print the form. It was a little tricky and they didn't give up and printed it a few times to get it exactly the way we needed it and were smiles and very willing to do what ever was needed to see that we were satisfied. Great job and customer care. Thank you. Steve Denapoli and Sharon

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX